RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
26 May 2008 12:56 am
Absolutely brilliant story! I'm very much looking forward to reading the one from Shadow's point of view!

Author's Response: D'aww. Thanks! After my character in my original fic, Shadow is my second favorite creation. =^.^=
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
25 May 2008 11:52 pm
*whistles* Nope, slings are a vastly underestimated weapon, especially in the hands of someone who is accurate with one.

I like your twist of the First Ones. It is just like the freaking Ancients to pull a stunt like that.

Author's Response: Yup. I'll never forget some of the slides we saw in that PaleoPathology class.... Youchers. And you should have seen the skulls of the people who chewed coca leaves. Blech.
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
24 May 2008 5:25 am
I really enjoyed this story and I'm glad that I ran across your drawing which led me to it. Thanks for sharing!
The Claws That Catch
Reviewer: Aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
03 May 2008 5:13 pm
My favorite line: "But I see Teyla talking to him right now away from everybody else, and since his arms aren't pin-wheeling all over the place and birds are taking flight, I'm taking that as a very good sign." Oh, Rodney! I do hope there will be another story; he has to meet his daughters!

Quite a job you did with this one!

Author's Response: Thanks! This one was a bugger, trying to get Shadow's voice right, and showing him growing up in a very short time. One of my beta's mentioned how she loved how at some times he seemed like a child, yet other times older than time itself. Yup, a bugger.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
03 May 2008 5:11 pm
I love that you picked up the problem of rape from the first story, and didn't just drop it--which at this point, I think I could have excused.

I also love Carson pointing out that John would have gone alone!

Author's Response: This story takes place about, oh, 6 months after TCTC. John is always portrayed as a very private person, but to me, so is Rodney. Maybe even more so. Yes, he's loud, and obnoxious, and incredibly opinionated, but he's also rather ... innocent. To have something like that done to him would probably wound him more than any insult or injury. It would be a betrayal of the worst kind, then compound that with the knowledge that he'll be a father after his own crappy childhood.... Yeah, he's gonna be upset. I plan on writing something from his POV later. And yes, John would so go storming off on his own.... ;)
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
03 May 2008 4:38 pm
Wow! I'm at Chap. 7 now, so I've just met the new tribe. I didn't expect that! I like how Shadow has to feel his way through the trade language and into the other language, work to recall the dialect, and then adapt because he knows the five-hundred-year-old version.

Author's Response: That was something I had planned before I even finished WTF. Whereas the Nixtahuec are more Mayan in my mind, the D'Qui became my Yanomamo. Oops, the anthropologist came out there for a moment. ;)
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
03 May 2008 3:30 pm
I love the details, especially about smell. I never thought of the Gate having a smell, but of course it would.

Author's Response: It was one of those ... odd little things that came to mind, and being that Shadow has such an enhanced sense of smell, it seemed logical.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
26 Apr 2008 2:08 pm
Just read Chap. 2. I like Tlaxul!

I'm quite intrigued. Poor Shadow! Poor John! I hope they'll be okay!
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Apr 2008 5:04 am
Lovely ending. It's great to have a chance to unwind after some pretty tense chapters, and what better way to do that than some surfing and Sheppard-style bonding? *vbg*

Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, gotta end on a happy note, since in real life one seldom gets to. =^.^=
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Apr 2008 4:59 am
I loved the gifts everyone got, even if Radek did get a momentary panic from his *g*. Loved Caldwell's initial reaction to Shadow, though the following amusement was less fun.

It's good that Rodney knows. I'm sure he'll come round in the end, especially if Teyla talks to him.

As for Atlantis; has she listened to Shadow's declaration?

Laura.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
07 Apr 2008 8:21 pm
So very nice...... You've done them all justice and a great story... bravo...

And... will look forward to another when it's ready!

Author's Response: Thanks! Had this evil idea once for the team going back to the planet and finding a big crater where the Temple was, but I decided that was a little too evil.... =^.^=
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: gilesbabe (Anonymous)
06 Apr 2008 10:33 pm
Please, please continue this series! Loved this story, maybe the next one a short one from Rodney's POV?
Poor Rodney.
I can just imagine the future: Rodney dragging the mother's back to Atlantis for the births, or else making Carson go there. Checking on them every few months to make sure they are okay. And just wait unti they are of age to be married! He'll go nuts!

Author's Response: Just had an ooky thought - since the girls are only 5 months in the womb right now, Shadow showing up with the Ancient equivalent of ultrasound pictures. I can see them being in 3D. And color.... And Rodney getting ill....
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 7:26 pm
It was interesting seeing the two cultures getting to know each other, and I had to chuckle at Shadow's affect on the daughters, not to mention their father's and Kintu's reactions *g*. I guess there's a long journey home in store for them and their new guests now.

Laura.

Author's Response: Well, wouldn't you be giggling? I sure would be.... Sigh.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 7:08 pm
Great fight scene- very intense. I'm glad Shadow won, though it seems that was not without cost. If this ever gets back to Carson and John...!

Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks! Gives new meaning to the term 'cat fight'. And, yeah, they'll want to kick his furry ass.... ;)
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 6:52 pm
It's disturbing to see the death and destruction left behind the First Ones, so I'm pleased to see Shadow and co. making some new friends. Hopefully they will be enough to deal with the First Ones once and for all.

Laura.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 6:36 pm
It's good to see Shadow settling back into his life and duties and generally feeling better. A nice moment between John and Shadow as they once again play stubborn and stubborner ;).

Laura.

Author's Response: One of these times, though, they're just going to snap and start choking each other.... And Rodney will be there with his camera laughing his butt off. :)
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 6:14 pm
I loved the send off Shadow got, and the welcome home wasn't too shabby either :).

Laura.
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Apr 2008 5:59 pm
It was certainly fun to watch John and Shadow face off (though it was obviously a bit more unsettling for Carson *g*). You could look at it as John finally getting a taste of his own medicine, or stubbornness.

Laura.

Author's Response: Heh. And he thought having his doppleganger kick the crap out of him was bad.... :)
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
02 Apr 2008 6:37 pm
Poor Shadow: you are so mean to him - in interesting ways.

Well written with some great details.

Author's Response: Well, I am a whumper.... Thanks! Don't get to put the anthropology education to work very often. =^.^=
Shadow's Tale
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
28 Mar 2008 3:40 pm
Ya gotta stop beating up on Shadow, cuz it ain't his fault he's being written that way. And the kid needs his rest, so somebody should come drag Xelu away, since you know its only because you're still mad at Carrie.

Lots of fun stuff to read - the John/Shadow are the best - but lots of others are good too.

Author's Response: Um, huh?
Shadow's Tale
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.