RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: daydreaming readhead (Signed)
14 Oct 2011 9:00 pm
I love this series. I do not have the words to say how much I love this series. Immediately upon finishing the last story, I called one of my friends and said "Rodney as a sea monster: ADORABLE" (of course, I meant Ronon's version of a monster, not Earth's). I couldn't stop giggling and bouncing on my bed long enough to explain *why* he's so adorable. Maybe I'm crazy enough to fit in in Atlantis. Maybe you made me crazy enough to fit in in Atlantis. If that's what it takes to get there, then I thank you. Thank you for writing this story, for sharing it with us, for being awesome enough that your awesomeness bleeds into your writing.

I had never read anything by Lovecraft before, so I kept Wikipedia open to explain things to me as I stumbled across the Lovecraftian terms. I have to say, I have never before felt so drawn to his work. Of course, I probably still won't read any of his stuff, purely on the basis that it doesn't have Rodney in it.

As compelling as this story is (Rodney's fear of getting shot nearly broke my heart), I think my favourite bits are the bathtime scenes. They are simultaneously hilarious (creepy naked man) and adorable (I can't stop thinking about Rodney, submerged to his eyeballs, humming over chess). And I love that nobody thinks twice about guys wandering around naked, taking baths together. I have to wonder, though, if Ronon, Teyla, Jennifer, or Carson ever joined in on the fun. Jennifer's comment about a naked party suggested that she had participated before, or that if she hadn't, she might not be adverse to the idea. If you were to write a series of shorts about, say, Rodney's bathing experiences with the various members of his Nest, I would love you forever and send you enough chocolate and coffee for Atlantis to secede. (I would also love to read your account of this event and if and how Rodney plays into it. That is, would they secede because of an IOA decision about Rodney, for another reason, or just because they finally broke the SGC's monopoly on coffee and chocolate?) Oh! And I love Radek's reading material, too. That was a terrific detail.

So to sum up my praises: you are a very talented writer who has quite successfully blended two universes into one marvelous series of stories. Your tale is heartrending, amusing, and thought provoking. I look forward to any and all further installments, as I am confident you will be able to meet and surpass the quality of plot, characterization, and dialogue you have already displayed. May the muses be with you.
The Shadow Over Atlantis
Reviewer: go suck on a lemon (Signed)
29 May 2010 2:21 am
Excellent installment!

Author's Response: Thank you!
Truth is Stranger...
Reviewer: go suck on a lemon (Signed)
19 Aug 2009 12:13 am
A truly marvelous ending, well done indeed.

Author's Response: ::bows::
Open Secrets
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
10 Aug 2009 8:54 pm
Interesting finish.

What are you planning for Carson and Madison?

Author's Response: The finish was the most difficult part of this entire series. I'm glad to have gotten it out of the way before doing the beginning and more of the middle.

My plans for Carson are fairly open. My plans for Madison involve her following in her uncle's footsteps to Atlantis before they are eventually forced to secede from the SGC. I was thinking on giving life to that dream midway through 'Sitting in a Tin Can'.
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
20 Jul 2009 11:02 am
I am insanely pleased to see a new installment.
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Tamda (Anonymous)
04 Jul 2009 12:26 pm
Arg! I love this so much, but it's at a terrible cliffhanger!

I know Wolsey isn't thinking clearly, but I really want to shoot him right now for detaining and basicly torturing Rodney.

*feeds your muse fresh Salmon and bagles*

Author's Response: Mmm salmon...
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Margaret (Anonymous)
23 Jun 2009 12:24 am
yay for another look at this universe!

I like the look at the human inhabitants of these places that doesn't make them the slasher-fic-screaming-girl. It seems reasonable as a human not to want to, well, not survive.
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Signed)
22 Jun 2009 2:01 pm
This is great. I love the dichotomy of Rodney wanting to earn a Nobel while nearly deriding the human race - from which the Nobel Prize is designed.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked. Heh, Rodney sees no reason not to be recognized for his genius in all of his forms...
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Nicole (Anonymous)
22 Jun 2009 1:10 pm
Ohmygawd! You posted another story! Yay! =)

I love the bit with the steepled fingers.
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Dylaila (Anonymous)
21 Jun 2009 6:16 am
Like the beginning. I'm looking forward for more.
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Dema (Signed)
20 Jun 2009 10:08 pm
ohhh and just waite till he has Psyc 110!

Can't waite till you do more!

Author's Response: Hmm, a psych class is a good idea...
Scenes from Miskatonic
Reviewer: Blaze (Anonymous)
24 May 2009 11:41 am
Please hurry. Begging, whimpering.
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Sabelle (Anonymous)
07 May 2009 8:58 pm
This is wonderful. I really hope you finish it. I want to know what happens.
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Margaret (Anonymous)
03 Mar 2009 5:12 pm
This is very awesome. You've combined two great things and made them even better. Seriously, I've had to read all of this series.

Please finish? I want to see what happens to Rodney!
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Nicky (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2009 2:23 am
Agggh! I've become addicted to a WIP! Bad Author! Bad!

lol. Seriously, awesome story. I've re-read the series about five times now.
Keep up the writing! =)

Author's Response: ...sorry? lol

There's more than just the end of this story. I'm (not entirely) sorry to say this series may itself be a WIP for a while... Mwahahaha
Open Secrets
Reviewer: ldarkphoenix (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2009 6:32 pm
plz plz plz finish this story! it's so good! i want to know what's going to happen

Author's Response: I'm almost done...
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Mad Maudlin (Signed)
11 Feb 2009 6:42 am
I think I'm a little bit in love with this.
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
09 Jan 2009 12:10 pm
I promised you fanart. Mckay mid change. (I turned his scales more greenish for aesthetic reasons ;)

http://korilian.deviantart.com/art/Shadow-over-Atlantis-108924196

Author's Response: Much awesome. You make my evil very happy. Thank you! rnrnI have fanart of my fanfiction, that's awesome.
Open Secrets
Reviewer: korilian (Anonymous)
05 Jan 2009 7:14 am
Please give us MOOOOORE! (I'll make you fanart *puppy eyes*)
Open Secrets
Reviewer: Moonbeam (Anonymous)
26 Dec 2008 8:55 pm
Holy Hannah.

No really. You, are holy. And dun care if your name isn't Hannah.

I
Open Secrets
You must login (register) to review.