RSS
Reviews For The Letter Series

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sadie (Anonymous)
13 Apr 2009 10:18 am
John in a letter. It really works. John articulating feelings - no matter how well written - usually seems at least a little off. In writing, especially knowing he kinda sorta expects to be tearing it up before Rodney reads it, it just clicks.

Prime real estate and sparkly curtains. ;)

You make both of them come to life.

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely FB. I really strive to get the character voices right--it's the most important part of the story for me, so you couldn't have said anything nicer. :-)
The Last Letter
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
01 Apr 2009 1:58 am
I really like this verison of how things might have gone with The Last Man, very much. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't do episode tags all that often, but this one really seemed to fit the challenge I had set for myself. :-)
The Last Letter
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
29 Mar 2009 6:52 pm
Excellent fic. The letter was just so *John*. Even when he was letting Rodney in on his secrets- be it book reading or feelings- he had the self-deprecation going full steam. I liked the fact that he got some peace from writing each version of the letter and that he managed to say things he couldn't say aloud. He was spot on with his assessments of everyone, too. Things like Carson not being Carson, Ronon not sticking around if Teyla's not there, everything he said about Rodney.

I'm glad hologram Rodney made John promise to not destroy the letter, but I'm gladder still that Rodney found it and read it...and acted on it :).

Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate your very nice FB here. I worried a bit about the balance of this story, since the second half really didn't seem to match the first. I'm relieved to know that John's voice rang true for you and so very pleased you enjoyed it. :-)
The Last Letter
Reviewer: Fenchurch (Signed)
25 Mar 2009 7:55 am
That's Rodney all over! Defiant and scared, seductive and self-castigating! Angsty! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wasn't sure how this one would turn out--it had some unexpected turns. I'm so glad you liked it!
The Last Letter
Reviewer: Leighna (Anonymous)
24 Mar 2009 11:49 pm
Oh! How tragic! It was wonderful, funny, sexy, sad and oh so tender! Who'd have guessed Rodney could be tender?! I loved it! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: Jayne (Anonymous)
24 Mar 2009 11:44 pm
Oh! That's tragic! It's wonderful, funny, sad, oh so tender! Who'd a known Rodney could be tender! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! You don't know how pleased I am to hear that you feel that way. *beams*
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
23 Mar 2009 8:22 pm
Awwww, that was lovely and obviously heart-felt. I wish Rodney hadn't deleted it, even if he didn't show it to John.

Laura.

Author's Response: Someone suggested to me 'autodraft' and it seemed like that could be an option! Thank you for commenting and letting me know you enjoyed it. :-)
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
14 Mar 2009 5:48 pm
It's such a wonderful snapshot of their relationship and their feelings for each other. It's so wonderfully in character for both of them. Rodney's description of his reasons for loving John are so touching, as are John's ways of showing that he loves Rodney.

Neither man is very likely to express positive or deep feelings easily to the other but, as your story rightly points out, that certainly does not mean they aren't feeling these things for each other - intensely!

Thanks so much for another great McShep story!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much. I can sympathize with Rodney's ability to express himself better on paper than in person, as well as his reluctance to move forward with the information once he's put it into words. Thank you, again, for such lovely FB.
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
14 Mar 2009 5:32 pm
That was great and Rodney should have sent it to John. :)

Author's Response: I like to think that maybe he will some day, but it takes a certain amount of bravery to be the first to say something. :-)
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
14 Mar 2009 1:15 pm
Awww.... Rodney should've saved it at least, and put it in some file where no one would find it.

Author's Response: Well, you know that nothing is ever *permanently* deleted...:-) Thanks for commenting!
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: marlislash (Signed)
14 Mar 2009 12:23 pm
it's so damn cute and romantic, totally break hearting.

Author's Response: Thank you! I know what you mean, which is why it had to end the way it did. :-)
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: Sulien (Anonymous)
14 Mar 2009 6:26 am
Damn, Rodney really should have saved that and sent it to John. *sigh* Such a wonderful love letter, in Rodney's own prickly style!

Author's Response: I'd thought initially of having the unfinished draft accidentally published and everyone wondering who the author was, but it's sort of obvious, isn't it? I'm so glad you enjoyed it--thank you!
Death of a Love Letter
Reviewer: sgakaz (Signed)
14 Mar 2009 12:27 am
Oh I wish that he'd have clicked yes and sent it, I'm sure John would have loved to see it, even if deep down he knows it :)

Author's Response: Somehow I don't see either one of them rushing in to declare their feelings for each other--but like you, I think J knows. Thanks for your nice FB!
Death of a Love Letter
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.