RSS
Reviews For Memoirs

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Madwitch (Signed)
17 Dec 2009 9:46 am
I remember those days. My son did not start sleeping threw the night till her was 5.
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: JustMe (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2008 10:12 am
I have just discovered the Memoir series and am loving it! Looking forward to reading the rest. I LOVE Lindsey Novak and Evan Lorne together (I assume you started writing before they named him?)

Author's Response: *G* Glad you've been enjoying it. I actually have the last of this universe wrapped off, but haven't gotten it transferred to Wraithbait yet. Should go up soon. Yes, when Memoirs was started, Lorne had no canon first name. As a result, I pulled the top 2 names in use on one of the Lorne communities at the time - Nick and Marcus. He's Evan in my third universe, but Nick M. Lorne in my two earlier universes, and at this point I'm not going to bother ret-conning it.
Blurred
Reviewer: Sg16 (Signed)
11 Jun 2007 7:10 pm
poor john, dealing with everyone's pregnancy and sex life issues =]

Author's Response: Dude, that's what he gets paid for. And hey, it's not like he went into parenthood completely uninformed - he wasn't the one who discovered the Ancient fertility clinic/lab. Now, Lorne, on the other hand, really didn't know what he was getting into the first time. Or the second time, since his first kid came out of a bottle. Teyla? Just really, really, really scary. The city's biggest fear is that she'll decide to have a second kid.
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: HannahJuliet (Signed)
22 May 2007 1:14 am
More! I loved it. I want to hear more about Lorne. Sorry, he's my fave!

Author's Response: There's actually another Lorne piece in the Memoirs universe that's just about done (it's actually slated to be the last piece in the universe); look for it by July 1 - it's called "Meet the Novaks".
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: Cartersg1 (Signed)
09 May 2007 2:36 am
I really enjoy the story and found it wonderful and funny. Keep up the good work and may we have more

Author's Response: Well, there's at least one more story in this universe, possibly a few (I'm a sucker for peer pressure, and apparently 'easy' when it comes to writing things on request). Glad you've enjoyed it thusfar!
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
03 May 2007 8:04 pm
I love Lindsey Novak *and* her hiccups. TPTB haven't done her justice. This is so sweet. I like how Tom has two dads.... hmmm.. be interesting to hear more about that... hint.. hint... ;-)

Author's Response: Actually, if you go to the story called "Memoirs Shorts" you'll find pieces about both Tom's conception, birth, and the death of Parrish. *G* For once, I'm actually ahead of the request!
Blurred
Reviewer: IDMike (Signed)
30 Apr 2007 11:20 am
Yup. Sounds like life with a baby. Glad to see that life on Atlantis continues to be interesting...

Author's Response: Even John Sheppard is not immune to 2-AM wake up calls from an infant. Oh, does he wish he was...rnrnAnd I don't think life in Atlantis could be boring if it tried to be.
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: Mithreon (Signed)
30 Apr 2007 2:37 am
Incredibly cute!

Author's Response: Hee! Thanks ^_^
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
30 Apr 2007 2:19 am
*L* Oh, poor John. He is so abused by everyone. :) That is very sweet.

Author's Response: John's life is so incredibly hard. After all, he did /choose/ to have the kid. It wasn't like he and Rodney /accidentally/ fell on the Ancient Baby-Making device. That was Lorne & Parrish. Sheppard knew /exactly/ what he was doing. Well, almost.
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: Darklady (Anonymous)
29 Apr 2007 10:27 pm
LOL

*giggle*

Love this!

Author's Response: Thanks!
A Day in the Life of (a Very Troubled) John Sheppard
Reviewer: Purpleyin (Anonymous)
22 Mar 2007 2:19 pm
OMG I'm so loving this series how could I have missed it. Your universe is so complex, different and I've read so little but it's still easy to enjoy. I'm also reading Burred and enjoying that immensely too. :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you've been enjoying them ^_^ There's actually one final piece to the Lorne/Novak arc in "Memoirs" that's still under construction (titles "Meet the Novaks" and, oddly enough, about the eventual trip back to Earth after re-connection where Lindsey introduces her new family to her old family, and quite a bit of culture clash and chaos ensue). Always glad to meet an interested reader, and always open to suggestions and/or requests.
Impossible Things
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
11 Feb 2007 12:07 am
Interesting series. Sorry to hear about Parrish. Had not read Lorne/Novak before but liked this relationship as it slowly developed. Liked the concept of the ATA gene being something that permanently locked the people into being at Atlantis. Liked the 2nd generation kids.

Author's Response: I'd never thought of Lorne/Novak either, until it popped up as the write-in favorite on a poll I ran regarding this series. I just couldn't imagine that there /wouldn't/ be some kind of biological backlash from the interaction with the city - the gene therapy is just too good to be true, you know?
The Memoirs Collection
Reviewer: mandy (Anonymous)
03 Dec 2006 3:18 am
Really interesting story. I love to read the POVs of outsiders. Your Gen. Sheppard had just enough of John's characteristics to seem related without being a clone of John. Also liked the second part where the rumors were flying in the mess hall.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I find myself consistantly drawn to outsider POVs because they not only let us see things the 'main' characters don't, but allow a very different dose of perspective. You have to believe, at least to a degree, that time in Atlantis & Pegasus in general skews your outlook and sense of normality. You spend a few years there, and you're looking at the world through blue-tinted glasses (as opposed to rose); it's unavoidable. OCs give me a chance to poke at what has changed, and why. Of course, it cuts my readership down drastically, but I don't mind. I like to at least attempt telling interesting stories, and sometimes the OCs are the best way to do that. Thanks for reading ^_^
Re-Connect
Reviewer: FallenPride (Signed)
23 Aug 2006 2:58 am
I cannot accurately describe how much I LOVE this series! These stories are a wonderful sorce of amusement and enjoyment. Please, please keep them coming!

Author's Response: *G* Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying them ^_^ Don't worry, there will be more coming for quite a while. That's the nice things about glimpses, there's a lifetime of them in every character.
The Memoirs Collection
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 4:44 pm
A great ending. I liked how things were resolved, how they decided to leave the past where it was and concentrate on forming a new bond and I liked the weekly emails that went with that. The sudden lack of emails was alarming, more so as seen from Ben's pov as he struggled to get information out of Landry. With things so up in the air, it was nice to find John waiting at his dad's house two years on. Laura.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it. If you have any interest, I'm working on a not-quite-sequel that looks at the timeline from Misbegotten through Re-Connect from the POV of the Atlantis Administrative & Procurement Committee. Once I've got a few more installments done I'll start posting it over here on Wraithbait. Thanks for reading!
Re-Connect
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 2:58 pm
It was a relief to see things settled between them, even if it will still take time to rebuild the relationship. I loved how awkward they both were too. Made me smile (and possibly roll my eyes and say "Men!" *g*). Laura.

Author's Response: *G* I'm glad it was believable in that 'roll your eyes because they just don't learn' kind of way. Thanks for reading!
Re-Connect
Reviewer: Claudia (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2006 1:29 pm
This is a good story with great characters. I like how you portrayed John's father, human and understanding in his own way, a lot like John himself.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. My goal in writing this was to portray John's father as human; I'm glad it worked!
Re-Connect
Reviewer: starfox (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 3:28 pm
I have been head-over-heels in love with this story from the first chapter. It's nice to see a version of Sheppard the elder who isn't evil or unjustly harsh or an absolute prick, just a man who's not always the best at saying the things that need to be said. You created a believable and likeable character, and I liked your portrayal of John as well. All in all, an excellent fic.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much for your kind words; I'm glad you've enjoyed this. The entire thing started when I went about trying to find a legit reason for a long term familial separation that wasn't the result of Sheppard Senior being a 2-D jerk but actually explored John's history a little (And also, because I was shooting for something like believable, a situation where neither of them was solely at fauly. Because it's never just one person's fault when that kind of thing happens. Especially not with people who are generally decent)
Re-Connect
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 12:53 pm
I enjoyed this story and love how it touch me emotionly. How the two cultures on reacts to General Sheppard differently. It was funny to find who was the big gossiper was on Atlantis too. But I do like to know what happen when the supply ship reach Atlantis and two year since.

Author's Response: *G* I'm glad you've enjoyed it. Given my tendancy to expand my "What If" universes, I'm sure there will be more to come eventually.
Re-Connect
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 10:17 am
any questions??? yeah when you writing more????

Author's Response: *G* I'm not 100% sure, but hopefully soon. Glad you liked it ^_^
Re-Connect
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.