RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Gold Berry (Anonymous)
19 Nov 2008 5:11 pm
For no apparent reason I decided to look through your stories to see if you ever wrote that sequel to Clava etc. pt. 1. And lo and behold! you did! Wonderful story, I love it. Now I eagerly await pt. 3 .... Please, don't take too long?
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Sep 2008 2:00 pm
Great addition to the series; here's hoping the muse bites soon with ideas for part three!

I hope Carson finds a way to deal with the ATA-pain, or it's not going to be fun, especially for John. And it looks like John's going to need all the breaks he can get with Sumner so hostile and, as Carson thought, likely the rest of the marines following his lead.

I hope Carson can think of something, because I'm interested to see more of John interacting with Atlantis and seeing just where the connection can take them.

Laura.

Author's Response: *toes and fingers crossed* I'm hoping the muse bites soon too! :D I have lots of ideas on what I want to happen and where to go with certain aspects of the storyline - whether that can be accomplished remains to be seen. I've laid a bit of the groundwork for where the ATA/Atlantis connection is heading - so hopefully that will addressed as well. Thanks for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Sep 2008 9:08 pm
Poor John. It looks like maybe his ease with Ancient technology isn't as easy after all! Will Carson get to the bottom of why it's taking him so long to bounce back? Is it really just a case of him overdoing it and neglecting himself? There was some nice fleshing out to the characters, though it was a bit depressing to see just how much Sumner disliked John!

My one bit of con crit concerns Carson. I sometimes got distracted from the story flow by trying to parse his accent. Maybe it's just because I have Scottish family members, but some of your spelling choices threw me, eg: 'nowt' actually means 'nothing' and not 'not' like you use it for. It probably doesn't bother most people, but it might be something to bear in mind.

I'm looking forward to seeing waht happens next, but, unfortunately, it's 2.10am and my bed is calling.

Laura.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this and Carson's dialogue is more phonetic than a straight 'translation' *shrug*rnrnhopefully you will find part two 'Clava Atlantus' interesting :)
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
Reviewer: Karen /s (Anonymous)
12 Sep 2008 3:03 pm
This is a fascinating sets of stories. I think the best thing is that while we all know the canon of the series, you've taken it and made it your own. The characters are familiar, but the action is novel enough to keep it exciting and keeps me drawn me to the story.

Author's Response: thank you for your kinds words - I've mentioned before - I've been fascinated by Sheppard from the get-go and his uber ATA gene and his connection to Atlantis - to me it's felt as if TPTB dropped the ball on a fascinating aspect of the whole Ancient gene/Atlantis connection and this just made so much more sense - hopefully the muse and I can keep your interest :D
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: ranlynn (Signed)
11 Sep 2008 10:56 pm
Most excellent.

(tbc... What if Sheppard had to deal with the consequences of the military commander's animosity and learning to deal with all the Ancient tech as well?)

hmm...can't help wondering if the 'geek' contingent will rally around Sheppard.

Author's Response: thank yournrnand I'm certain the muse has more than a few ideas of the consequences of the probable animosity that Sheppard will experience ;)
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: Kateri (Signed)
11 Sep 2008 10:16 pm
OH my, this series is turning out to be very interesting. Eager for the next installment

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying it - the muse and I have some ideas for part three and we're currently kicking them around to see how they work out - so we'll see :D
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
11 Sep 2008 9:22 pm
You play what if wonderfully well.

Author's Response: thank you - it was something the muse was fascinated by and I've always felt that TPTB in the production/writing depts let the ball drop with the whole ATA gene and the connection to Atlantis and the Ancients
Clava Atlantus (the key to Alantis)
Reviewer: Space1Traveler (Anonymous)
06 Aug 2008 9:40 pm
Great tag! This is much more plausible than the TV episode.

Thanks for sharing!
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
Reviewer: Shazkatt (Anonymous)
26 Nov 2007 5:31 pm
I loved this as it actually deals with the ATA conection better than the actual show ever did. It does make sense that ATA tech is a strain to deal with. It might be actualy easier for the lower level ATA simply because they can't conect to the higher fuctions this actually takes into concisderation that the brains of Ancients are much more active and able to cope witht he extreme mental concentationa and stress of the ATA conection but also the fact that as a human who has never used their mind this way before it would take a lot of mental training to build up their tolerence it might very well be like any exercise overdoing it is bad but building slow lets you last longer.

Really looking forward to the next part as it will be very interesting to see an Atlantis where John remains Elizabeth adjunt intesad of Military Commander I can also see a lot of Shep whumpage ahead as he slowly adapts.
HAz
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
Reviewer: Chanel 5 (Anonymous)
23 Oct 2007 12:12 pm
Great story. I can't wait to see the next part. I've always thought it would be interesting to read a story about what Sheppard would have done, gone through, if there were no wraith... sumner would still be around, and I imagine Sheppard would have been more like this Sheppard, more of a lab monkey. It's an interesting thought...
Thanks
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
Reviewer: gwen (Anonymous)
18 Jul 2007 5:13 pm
ooh, very nice. so, there's going to be a sequel? ::hopeful::

Author's Response: thanks for your review and YES there is definitely a 'sequel' - am about 2/3rds of the way through the first draft at this point (probably would be farther along but the muse decided to take a detour and do a h/c (whumpage) fic followup for Joe's 'Tru Calling' episode 'Brother's Keeper' - it seemed Andrew Webb was just too yummy to leave unattended ;) ) -- anyway thanks again
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
18 Jul 2007 2:11 pm
That was awesome. There are too many great points to share them all. I loved the characterizations and the insight into those pre-departure weeks.

I thought Colonel Sumner was a bit off, I don't believe he would discount the opinions of 2 highly qualified and experienced doctors. Especially since they obviously would have had medical tests to back up the reason for having Sheppard in the infirmiry.

But like I said earlier, I still loved the fic.

Rodney and John spending so much time together experimenting with the tech before departure helps explain and justify the exuberance with which the two tackled the personal shield.

In that episode, they seemed to have such a bond, and boyish enthusiasm for what they were doing. It almost seemed overdone at the time because so much time had already passed that the audience wasn't privvy too.

Thank you so much for sharing with us. I look forward to your next installment.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.rnrnAs to Sumner - my portrayal in this seems harsh, but military men who stick to the book are often less than willing to admit an alternate view. If anything - as a fellow military man, Sumner should understand in part John's disobedience in trying to live up to the 'never leave a man behind' creed but I don't get any sense of that in the onscreen interaction we saw of Sumner and Sheppard. Everett and Sumner are cut from a similar cloth and I couldn't stand Everett and his attitude either. Sumner's comes across as though he is positive that this whole mission would have been better off under military leadership (even if it wasn't his) but he's stuck with a civilian Expedition leader and a very large mission where the scientists out number the military force. And he apparently thinks that because Sheppard disobeyed an order once he will do so again at the first opportunity. Sorry, at least in this little AU version of the SGA - Sumner is the sort that once his mind is made up it's virtually impossible to get him to change it. Frankly, I see his opinion of Sheppard is that major is too damned smart for his own good which makes it all the easier in Sumner's view for Sheppard to manipulate Drs. Beckett, Lam and Weir.rnrnBut things go very AU not too long on the other side of the wormhole... so what happens with Sumner isn't set in stone... just yet. ;)rnrnthanks again for your review
Gauisus Casualis (serendipity)
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.