RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: HughsPlace14 (Signed)
02 Dec 2013 6:34 am
Your story could have been good. Unfortunately it came across as intolerant (which is a nice way of saying "bigoted") due to - what I assume - is your admitted lack of military knowledge. And I am not talking about military hardware here. You made a conscious choice to attack the military as bigoted while admitting all you know of it is what you have seen of it on TV. That's intolerant.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: Pegasus Galaxy (Signed)
29 Nov 2008 12:33 am
Wounderful

Author's Response: *grins happily* Thank you!
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: carsinya (Signed)
22 Nov 2007 10:23 pm
This was totally made of win! Loved it to pieces.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: snarkysci (Signed)
09 Jun 2007 4:13 am
I love this story! It is very touching and sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you! This one was one of the lighter stories I've written and I'm glad to hear you thought I pulled it off well.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: ksenia025 (Signed)
31 May 2007 2:51 pm
At the end, it almost made me cry, it's so amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked my take of John's background and what makes him the lovable dork we know and love.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: aloe (Anonymous)
31 Dec 2006 11:10 pm
this was sweet, thanks for sharing

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! Glad you liked it.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: Darklady (Anonymous)
26 Dec 2006 9:41 am
Interesting way of transfering your zitgist onto the character - and less ineffective than most such efforts.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! *blushes* This is one of the first SGA fics I've tried and I'm thrilled you thought it was worth the read.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
20 Dec 2006 3:52 pm
I've just added this to my favourites and I have to tell you, there's not much gen fic on that list. that should go some way to telling you how much I loved this. You've done such a great job painting John's early life. This was very bittersweet with John having to survive his neglectful parents and his lack of friends, but all that made his friendship with Rodney all the sweeter. I'm so used to seeing fics where it's John crashing through Rodney's barriers, so I loved the twist on that theme and I loved how John was, well, *John* throughout, right from the word go. I liked all the things he taught himself and how he's finally found someone who can appreciate all that effort and can challenge John to keep learning with that all consuming enthusiasm. It neatly explains the, on the surface, unlikely friendship between the geek and the soldier. Laura.

Author's Response: *blushes* I'm thrilled you thought my story was good enough to put on your fav's list. I know I made John's background quite sad, but he's such a complex and wonderful character that I knew he had to have quite an interesting childhood. He always seems to be somewhat of a loner, an outcast and very self-sufficient and I tried to fit a background that would explain those parts of his personality. I'm thrilled you thought it explained his friendship with Rodney, which is really quite a unique one. If John behaved the same way as 'typical' military folks behaved, I don't think there could have ever been something resembling a friendship between those two. I'm absolutely thrilled you thought my take on this wonderful, complex, sometimes irritating, confusing and somewhat sad character was realistic. Also, thank you for the long and absolutely lovely review!
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
18 Dec 2006 1:40 pm
Gorgeous story. Loved your idea of his background, and the progression. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review! I'm thrilled you thought my take on John's background was realistic.
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: Jayne (Anonymous)
18 Dec 2006 12:13 pm
Other than the fact that the USAF does not fly F-14s (Only the US Navy did, but sadly, they don't any more either...sigh), it was a very enjoyable story! I smiled through it all. Nicely done! :)

Author's Response: My apologies. I don't know anything about the military except for what I learn on TV and look up on wikipedia. Thanks for the correction. I'm glad you liked the story and that it made you smile!
Skateboards and Salutes
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
18 Dec 2006 10:09 am
Very touching character piece. I can imagine this idea of who John is, so well.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review! I'm glad you thought my take on John and his background was accurate. I'm thrilled you liked the story.
Skateboards and Salutes
You must login (register) to review.