RSS
Reviews For The Known World

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Dorothy Marley (Signed)
13 Sep 2007 6:03 am
This is truly an amazing story, told with care and deliberation. I was completely sucked into the world of the story, and I so enjoyed the unhurried way in which the story unfolded (even reading it all at once, as I did). I appreciated the way you took your time with details, and yet the story never bogged down.

And what an amazing job of characterization, both with the regulars and the original characters. The relationship between Ronon and Nevillus was one of my favorite pieces of storytelling, poignant without being saccharine or overly maudlin, and completely believable. Dr. Pistoule was a wonderful character as well, complex and tragic. I loved how his story was woven so subtly into the plot, very much present and yet seemingly unimportant until I suddenly realized how very important he was. Nicely done.

The changes in the regular characters were also well-done. You took all of them into very dark and different places, and yet managed to preserve their essential characters throughout. I really appreciated that Sheppard, McKay, Teyla, and Ronon's experiences did affect them, that their recoveries were neither instant nor even complete by the end of the story, and yet they were still themselves. This is a difficult thing to do at all, and you did it very, very well.

Thank you so much for a wonderful story, and thanks for sharing it.
Part 1, Chapter 1
Reviewer: ae. (Anonymous)
10 Jun 2007 12:35 am
Oh, what a lovely thing this is. So many times I was on the edge of my seat, terrified to keep reading lest something happen, but then everything comes out--well, not perfect, but changed, and maybe better. Simply wonderful work.
Part 3, Chapter 7
Reviewer: DragonLady (Signed)
26 Jan 2007 9:08 pm
Wow. Just...wow. This was an incredible work! You captured the team dynamic so well--not just the characters but how they interact with and depend on each other, as well as the lengths they'll go to in order to get the team back. This was just so very wonderful and well written. A very captivating work, and very true to Atlantis. Thank you so much for sharing!

Author's Response: Thanks, DL. I appreciate your feedback. Even though John and Rodney have very few scenes together and almost no conversation, it doesn't seem like it is any less of a team story, because they are really all united in their feelings for one another.
Part 1, Chapter 1
Reviewer: shiloh (Anonymous)
26 Jan 2007 5:35 pm
Just wanted to say how very much I really enjoyed this piece. This is one of the best fics I've read in the last 6 months! Very moving, frightening, intense, and satifsfying. Congrats.

Author's Response: Thanks, Shiloh, I'm so very happy that you enjoyed it.
Part 1, Chapter 1
Reviewer: dolarabee (Signed)
26 Jan 2007 3:27 am
I really enjoyed this. As sad as it is, at least father and son find each other. I particularly liked the team's dynamic, together and apart. The silent communication, the unconditional caring for one another. It's also an interesting plot. Many thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback, dolarabee. I tried hard to put out there the idea that members of the team are able to communicate without saying a whole lot. So I'm glad that that came through.
Part 3, Chapter 7
Reviewer: Tracy-TheNaggingone (Anonymous)
25 Jan 2007 1:59 pm
So glad you put the ending up. ANd what a wonderful ending it was. The story just like Teyla's cake... some sweet, some sour, a bit heavy but filling and you want more. Great story telling. Thanks for sharing this!

Author's Response: Tracy, I'm so glad that you liked "The Known World." The last chapter was sent in early in the day, but the admins didn't post until late in the day. Thanks for checking back and finishing the story. And thanks also for your feedback. I was hoping you'd say that!
Part 3, Chapter 7
Reviewer: dolarabee (Signed)
25 Jan 2007 12:17 am
OOoh, this is very interesting. I'm not finished yet, just started part 3, but I find it difficult to leave it. Definitely a page-turner. I do hope you're planning on finishing it. I don't read WIPs normally. Will review again when I'm done. Good work!
Part 1, Chapter 1
Reviewer: Amy (Anonymous)
24 Jan 2007 3:38 pm
This is a great story, with an interesting plot and original characters! But you may want to change the note to say it's not yet completed, because I just got to the chapter you posted 1/23/07 and it's TBC! You probably meant that in reference to the first part of the arc. Anyway, it's a terrific read, but I generally avoid WIPs until they're finished because I can't keep track of them. I'll bookmark this and hopefully remember to come back and finish it. =)

Author's Response: Sorry about that. I posted the last chapter, but the admins held it for a day for their approval. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!
Part 3, Chapter 6
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
24 Jan 2007 3:11 pm
very dark, very interesting, very cool story but where's the ending??? you finish chapter 20 with tbc... yet indicate the story is complete. your comment says this is the penultimate chapter... hurry give us the final one. Teyla... wow her pain makes my heart ache.
Part 1, Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.