RSS
Reviews For Holding the Line

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
07 Dec 2007 6:06 pm
Good one :)
Completed
Reviewer: velocitygrass (Signed)
05 Mar 2007 12:45 pm
I really enjoyed this, especially John's desperation over having to helplessly watch as Thalen threatened and killed his friends and Rodney feeling so bad when Thalen tries to seduce him with what Rodney wanted for so long.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! It was interesting to write from John's POV when he oculdn't actually interact with anyone but Thalen.
Completed
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
19 Feb 2007 5:05 pm
This was a wonderful story, and if the writers had been thinking of killing off Elizabeth at the time your story would have filled the part. I know that John had a lot of remorse and the story was quite sad but I have to let you know...... “Oh, please,” Rodney grumbled, “you don’t believe that do you?” He waved a hand at John, “I mean, just look at him. Even his hair is flat and if that’s not a sign of a coming apocalypse, then I don’t know what is.” I nearly wet myself laughing with that line it was just so bloody perfectly McKay!!! huggles h

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! I love John's hair ;-) Glad the line made you laugh. I'd hoped it was funny, but you never know until someone actually laughs.
Completed
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
19 Feb 2007 11:22 am
Lovely story. It was interesting and emotional to see how John and Thalen interacted in John's head, to see how John was aware of everything his body did, or said, but completely unable to exert any control. I liked how you merged canon with your own elements, expanding what we saw on screen and giving us some great Lorne and Rodney scenes. It was terrible shocking to see Elizabeth killed, just like that, with no consideration for her, just the hatred for Phebus. John was understandably down after that and it didn't really surprise me that he blamed himself. I loved how Carson and Rodney were there when he first woke and how, later, Teyla trapped him into admitting that he couldn't have done anything. It was even more astounding to see Caldwell offering his support. Yes, he certainly had the same kind of experience to John, but even so...this was Caldwell, who wanted John's job, being nice! Still if there's anything that'd bring them together, it'd be Elizabeth's death. I liked how it gave John the courage to let Rodney know how he felt, made him realise that life could change in a moment and there was no point hiding stuff away. I also liked the nervousness, particularly on Rodney's part, and how that had all gone by the last scene, with them both comfortable together. Great story. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks! It was an interesting exercise to write from John's POV when he couldn't interact with anyone but Thalen. This story went places I didn't quite anticipate, I certainly never thought Caldwell would be supportive of John until it actually happened! Glad you liked the story.
Completed
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
19 Feb 2007 7:16 am
Nicely done! I loved how Rodney was portrayed. He's not as "people stupid" as many seem to think and I think you captured that well. It would be interesting to see a follow-up coda or epilogue. Knowing John, Rodney will have to work a bit to make sure John doesn't feel too guilty about Elizabeth.
Completed
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
19 Feb 2007 4:20 am
Wow, this was great. You had ME believing that Rodney was buying it...great job. I like how Rodney and Lorne set that creep up and I'm glad Caldwell was there for John. I'm also glad he stayed too, plus Rodney would have his hands full being in charge of the city (he's next in line as civilian leader)until the IOA replaced Weir. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Thanks! That Rodney, he may not be able to lie, but he has told us he can act ;-)
Completed
Reviewer: Brogue (Anonymous)
19 Feb 2007 3:19 am
Poor old Lizzie but what an absolutely toptastic alternative ending. In fact it was so engrossing that you made me late for work. I will however forgive you as this is seriously good stuff.

Author's Response: Sorry you were late for work, but I'm so glad you liked the story ;-)
Completed
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
19 Feb 2007 12:57 am
This was a very well-written and engrossing story. I love the way you used John's POV. Great angst and good job of keeping the guys in character. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. It was a new experience writing from the POV of a character who couldn't interact with anyone but Thalen, and he didn't want to interact with him. I'm glad it worked!
Completed
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
18 Feb 2007 7:28 pm
Great story.:) Poor John carrying all of that but at least he has Rodney to help him.
Completed
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
18 Feb 2007 6:41 pm
Wonderful story. Thanks.
Completed
You must login (register) to review.