RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: wlp520 (Signed)
23 Nov 2016 6:23 am

It oakley black friday was instyler such eagles nfl jersey a warriors jersey strange converse scene abercrombie kids to nets jerseys me, hollisterco and michael kors so patriots nfl jersey confined ferragamo and burberry uk dark, burberry outlet online that,at michaelkors.com first, converse I oakley sunglasses outlet could michael kors outlet make air max 90 out burberry hardly reebok anything; nike roshe but, cheap jerseys by degrees, cheap jordans itcleared, juicy couture as true religion jeans outlet my ralph lauren outlet online eyes barbour jackets became philadelphia 76ers jersey more eyeglasses online accustomed adidas to abercrombie fitch the michael kors outlet online sale gloom, new balance and longchamp Iseemed oakley sungalsses outlet to nike free run stand uggs boots in toms shoes a polo ralph lauren picture longchamp outlet by michael kors outlet OSTADE. nike air max Among prada outlet the pandora jewellery great nike free beams,bulks, ray ban and ray ban sunglasses outlet ringbolts marc jacobs of nike store the ray ban ship, coach black friday and ralph lauren black friday the bcbg dresses emigrant-berths, ralph lauren factory store andchests, pandora uk and occhiali ray ban bundles, watches and jaguars nfl jersey barrels, ray ban sunglasses outlet and christian louboutin heaps longchamp black friday of timberland shoes miscellaneousbaggage cheap oakley -'lighted grizzlies jersey up, ray ban here valentino and burberry uk there, roshe runs by houston rockets jersey dangling azcardinals nfl jersey lanterns; giants nfl jersey andelsewhere burberry outlet by oakley sunglasses outlet the the north face outlet yellow dolphins nfl jersey daylight beats by dre straying down jets nfl jersey a windsail oakley sungalsses outlet or denver nuggets jersey ahatchway bottega - timberland boots were new york knicks jerseys crowded oakley vault groups north face of ralph lauren uk people, ugg making jazz jersey new panthers nfl jersey friendships,taking air max leave dallas mavericks jersey of one coach outlet usa another, michael kors black friday talking, burberry handbags laughing, celine black friday crying, adidas eating prada shoes anddrinking; swarovski crystal some, basketball shoes already lunette oakley settled cheap ray ban down michael kors handbags into ralph lauren the relojes possession long champ of swarovski theirfew jordan retro feet mcm handbags of uggs on sale space, hair straightener with baseball bats their michael kors outlet little north face backpacks households raptors jersey arranged, tory burch outlet and burberry outlet tinychildren huarache established nike huarache on uggs stools, 49ers nfl jersey or nike factory in oakley outlet dwarf toms shoes outlet elbow-chairs; womens clothing others,despairing oakley sunglasses cheap of buccaneers nfl jersey a michael kors outlet resting-place, christian louboutin outlet and trail blazers jersey wandering michael kors usa disconsolately. nike Frombabies ray ban black friday who mcm bags had suns jersey but moncler jackets a nike air max week browns nfl jersey or asics two rolex watches for sale of abercrombie life cheap shoes behind mont blanc pens them, salvatore ferragamo to rolex watches crookedold michael kors men cleveland cavaliers jersey and ralph lauren outlet women celine handbags who cheap nfl jerseys seemed orlando magic jersey to swarovski jewelry have north face outlet but michael kors outlet online a tommy hilfiger week bottega veneta or christian louboutin shoes two steelers nfl jersey of burberry outlet lifebefore prada them; nike canada and ralph lauren from uggs outlet ploughmen adidas bodily omega watches carrying air max out longchamp handbags soil nike free 5.0 of texans nfl jersey Englandon cheap nhl jerseys their cheap true religion boots, polo outlet online to ugg boots clearance smiths salomon taking pacers jersey away nba jersey samples nike store of oklahoma city thunder jerseys its hermes birkin soot barbour jacket outlet and vans smokeupon armani exchange their katespade skins; replica watches every air max 2015 age the north face and replica handbags occupation mbt shoes appeared ray ban to babyliss be puma shoes crammedinto moncler outlet the levi's jeans narrow michael kors black friday compass swarovski of timberland outlet the longchamp 'tween giuseppe shoes decks.



As nike free my mlb jerseys eye broncos nfl jersey glanced rolex montre round barbour jackets this michael kors outlet place, kate spade outlet I bills nfl jersey thought pandora charms I nike shoes outlet saw pandora jewelry sitting, pelicans jersey by five finger shoes anopen asics outlet port, titans nfl jersey with ray ban sunglasses one detroit pistons jerseys of michael kors the ugg boots Micawber kate spade outlet children hilfiger outlet near polo ralph lauren her, uggs a toms outlet figurelike air huarache Emily's; christian louboutin shoes it bucks jersey first horloges attracted ugg australia my michael kors outlet online attention, burberry outlet by prada handbags another marc jacobs figureparting adidas from michael kors uk it eyeglass frames with mcm backpack outlet a michael kors kiss; bears nfl jersey and tory burch sale as swarovski canada it cheap mlb jerseys glided boston celtics jerseys calmly falcons nfl jersey away soccer shoes outlet throughthe louboutin disorder, oakley sungalsses outlet reminding hollister me omega watches of ralph lauren - ugg Agnes! michael kors outlet But versace outlet in lions nfl jersey the coach outlet online rapid adidas motion burberry andconfusion, coach outlet and jimmy choo in iphone cases the hollister unsettlement fendi outlet of ralph lauren online shop my retro jordans own hilfiger online shop thoughts, ferragamo shoes I rolex watches lost nhl jerseys itagain; colts nfl jersey and air force only nike knew coach purses outlet that ralph lauren polos the nike free run time longchamp handbags outlet was timberland come hermes when oakley sunglasses outlet all burberry canada visitors ed hardy werebeing cheap nike shoes warned lacoste outlet to vans leave coach outlet the coach black friday ship; oakley sungalsses outlet that beats by dre headphones my nfl jerseys nurse north face jackets was coach factory outlet online crying nike on toms.com a seahawks nfl jersey chestbeside converse shoes me; michael kors outlet online and ray ban that pandora Mrs. air jordans Gummidge, tommy hilfiger outlet assisted adidas shoes by uggs black friday some ralph lauren outlet youngerstooping los angeles lakers jerseys woman abercrombie and fitch in nba shoes black, hollister clothing was softball bats busily atlanta hawks jersey arranging supra shoes Mr. cheap ugg boots Peggotty's tory burch sandals goods.

miami heat jerseys toms shoes giuseppe zanotti abercrombie and fitch thomas sabo jordan release dates bcbg max givenchy antigona toms outlet pandora roshe run juicy couture outlet p90x workout jordan timberwolves jersey michael kors bags scarpe hogan tn pas cher true religion outlet store los angeles clippers jerseys cheap jerseys burberry outlet online insanity workout hogan longchamp outlet adidas yeezy shoes nike roshe oakley sunglasses ugg australia spurs jersey swarovski cheap ray ban ray ban wayfarer charlotte hornets jersey ray ban nike chiefs nfl jersey hollister designer handbags michael kors wedding dresses sale true religion outlet ray ban sunglasses jimmy choo shoes toms shoes cowboys nfl jersey iphone case adidas shoes ray ban outlet air max 2015 the north face air max abercrombie and fitch beats headphones adidas schuhe michael kors outlet ray ban coach outlet oakley outlet online oakley vault kings jersey coach outlet online polo ralph lauren outlet mcm backpack packers nfl jersey hermes outlet true religion jeans christian louboutin oakley sungalsses outlet kate spade the north face jackets saints nfl jersey nike ravens nfl jersey coach outlet calvin klein tory burch outlet nike ray ban north face new balance outlet soccer shoes flat iron rolex watches hollister clothing store coach outlet beats by dr dre oakley mcm handbags michael kors outlet online polo ralph ralph lauren chi flat iron cheap oakley sunglasses new balance ugg boots ralph lauren new balance nike air max tommy hilfiger nike air max roshe run coach black friday burberry handbags outlet polo outlet chargers nfl jersey hugo boss online toms outlet hilfiger ugg wizards jersey nike shoes outlet air max raiders nfl jersey nike roshe run michael kors handbags handbags outlet rams nfl jersey red bottoms ray bans vans shoes jordan shoes nike air thomas sabo nfl jerseys barbour air max bengals nfl jersey guess factory oakley sunglasses outlet canada gooses jackets uhren burberry handbags outlet nike air dsquared2 outlet chicago bulls jerseys coach factory outlet nike mercurial puma polo ralph lauren outlet online coach factory outlet cheap jerseys ray-ban sunglasses michael kors mk outlet online barbour jackets outlet tommy hilfiger philipp plein converse sneakers cheap michael kors redskins nfl jersey vikings nfl jersey mizuno running northface canada gooses outlet prada sunglasses michael kors australia true religion new balance shoes
Waiting
Reviewer: grandma (Signed)
03 Apr 2016 3:34 am
This was an awesome series!!!
Bravo to youb29;b29;
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: grandma (Signed)
02 Apr 2016 3:56 am
Breaking my heart, here!!!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: grandma (Signed)
01 Apr 2016 9:23 pm
This hurts soooooo much!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: grandma (Signed)
06 Feb 2012 7:11 pm
Such an awesome story. Can't wait to read more of your stories. Such insight and real empathy comes across.
You have my admiration.
Grandma
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: mmon (Signed)
27 Oct 2011 4:53 am
Oh my god, this was wonderful. Every chapter had me bawling in some way, and it was just. Just fucking fantastic. Oh my god. Just. Just wonderful and I'll come up with a better review with reasons why i loved this eventually.
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Fenchurch (Signed)
14 Apr 2010 11:20 am
I had forgotten about this story, but now I have read it again I remember - fabulous! Thank you! Now... where are those tissues...?
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: kerry (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2010 4:41 pm
I just read 'Tales of a Broken Mind' and was going through the other stories that you have written and discovered that you are the author if this story. I read this sometime last year and never did leave a review *smiles guiltily*.

This is a beautifully written story that deals really well with the fact that a disability is not just one of those things, but something that jas to be dealt with with life altering changes.

Thank you for this lovely story.
Waiting
Reviewer: deez (Anonymous)
23 Oct 2009 4:09 am
This is a very engaging and emotionally resonant story that takes on several important topics in a thoughtful way.
However, certain historical inaccuracies pulled me out of the story at times -- the brief header info and most of the story made me think I was reading an AU that was our Earth: no stargate, but the same history. What I might suggest, if you're so inclined, is that you consider changing your header info to say that this is an AU in which tolerance for and legalization of gay marriages/unions and related matters happened quite a bit earlier than on our Earth?
The historical things that were off enough to jar me out of the story:
- After Rodney proposes marriage, and what he says about it not yet being legal in the US but already being so in Canada. Same-sex marriage did not become legal throughout Canada until 2005, and its (contested but upheld) first same-sex marriage was performed in 2001, whereas your story implies the proposal takes place earlier.
- (small nit) John ordering a dildo on the Internet. If this was during 1993 or 1994, which is what I'm guessing based on the story's timeline after Somalia, it is *very* unlikely that John would have been able to order anything on the Internet. The first inklings of the World Wide Web as we know it weren't seen until late 1994, and the Web is what helped e-commerce become widespread several years later. (However, catalog shopping by mail-order, phone, and fax would be accurate. Especially if their university is in mid-to-Northern California, it'd be likely that some of John's female friends (from his English classes, who were maybe also doing Women's Studies?) would have had something like a Good Vibrations catalog to lend him -- and GV's fax, phone, and mail-order business was doing quite well in the early and mid-nineties. ;-> )
- Most importantly, throughout, Rodney's ability to make medical decisions for and have access to John while he is in hospital(s). Even now in some states long-term cohabiting, registered as domestic-partners-in-civil-unions same-sex partners may be denied access to or the power to make medical decisions for their partners in favor of blood kin. (Or ex-spouses.) Certainly back then, for Rodney to get the level of access he had, John would almost certainly have to have been an only-child orphan and he and Rodney would have had to go to a lawyer before his deployment(s) to set up a formal, witnessed health care proxy giving Rodney decision-making power. Which was not as common back then as it is now, so it would have taken effort to arrange, and might also not have been easily accepted by the treating doctors or hospital administration without pushback and Rodney having an official copy in hand.
But again, overall, despite the nits (meant as concrit), compliments on writing an absorbing story that gives a satisfying, thoughtful look at both the cost of having to hide one's relationship and at a relationship in which one partner has a serious disability.
-deez
Waiting
Reviewer: Wanted_a_Pony (Anonymous)
19 Oct 2009 1:22 pm
Gods, I can't believe I've been reading SGA fanfic since, well, since this was posted on Wraithbair, & only now found out about it via a rec on the LJ comm SGAgenrefinders! But maybe I had to read as many fics by as many different authors as I have to really appreciate _Fading Skies._ I'm wrung out & blown away by the emotional wrenches it put me through before the joyous conclusion, but none of the tears felt cheap or coerced. The sheer size & relentlessness of the fic is impressive--are you _sure_ the word count is 65,432??--& you use it all to portray the complexity of the issues John & Rodney face together & individually.

A previously reviewer suggested that you could "file off the serial numbers" & pub this as original fic, & I think you really should consider doing that. Especially now when the U.S. media is forbidden to show or write in detail about U.S. military casualities in action or any of the thousands of U.S. soldiers killed in current conflicts, the average civilian just has NO IDEA what it's like being in a war/police action/peacekeeping mission or what the consequences are. Most people also have no clue what issues a paraplegic (or more broadly, any differently abled) person faces. With a little broadening this story could speak to those issues in a way any reader can understand & empathize with.

Around 1970 my brother-in-law was sent to Vietnam & came back horribly messed up, both psychologically & ethically; he ended up committing suicide after he & my sister were divorced. In the 1980s my ex-husband was crippled by injuries & diseases he sustained while on duty as a medical corpsman, then discharged by the Navy. It took him untold hours of paperwork & almost 10 years of appeals to get more than 10% disability pay, despite the fact he's never been able to work more than part-time since. In 2003-04 my nephew was sent to Iraq & returned to the U.S. with severe hearing loss & PTSD, which was diagnosed & documented by the Army. He went AWOL when he was about to be returned for another tour in Iraq regardless of his condition--along with tens of thousands of other U.S. soldiers, not that you hear about THAT in U.S. news media either. (Later his entire unit was broken up & reassigned to other units when it was discovered that some officers & senior non-coms were taking bribes to get some soldiers out of the 2nd tour. Didn't help at my nephew's court martial.) Where I'm going with this is that, despite the lip service to patriotism & fervent vows to *Support* *Our* *Service* *Members*, things aren't markedly better for many U.S. soldiers in the 2000s than they were in the 1960s. They may get a parade or a sappy newspaper editorial when they get home, but their medical care still varies with how much they can pay themselves (many V.A. hospitals are either holding facilities or hellholes) & the long-term support for veterans & their families is often no better than that given civilians--that is, whatever they can scrounge themselves. Changing that depends on educating the public about what needs to be changed, & _Fading Skies_ does that as fanfic & could do it as general fiction as well.

Anyway, that's my rant & I'm sticking to it! ;-) Thanks very much for writing & sharing this. I know I'll be re-reading it in the future (after I've restocked the Kleenex) & looking up your other fics!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: korilian (Anonymous)
18 Oct 2009 2:46 pm
I love that you didn't treat his disability as a tragic yet romantic plot device. You made me cry several times.
Waiting
Reviewer: Wilson (Anonymous)
26 Jul 2009 1:13 am
Just letting you know that this is the 4th or 5th time I've reread this story. By far and above the best story I've read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Hearing that somebody liked a story I wrote enough to read it more than once is the best compliment an author can get. I'm very happy you enjoyed the story!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Dee (Anonymous)
20 Jun 2009 4:10 pm
Thanks for that. It was amazingly long and I really enjoyed reading it.
Cheers.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy the length of the story didn't turn you off. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed reading it!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: T.K (Anonymous)
18 Jun 2009 5:45 am
I don't normally read fics where the main character has a disability due to the fact that most authors downplay the true seriousness of it. They breeze through the mental aspects, and even the physical aspects, making the disability seem not important, or treat it so flipantly.

Since saying that, I must say that I was floored by your awesome, compelling story. I loved how you made them struggle, and see that changes needed to be made, because yes, John was now different.

You handled it perfectly. Great job. I enjoyed your story immensely.

Author's Response: Thank you! When I first started thinking about writing a story featuring a major disability, I decided that I would make it as realistic as possible. I always try to make my stories as realistic as possible, even if they take place within a sci-fi/fantasy universe. Doing that requires a lot of research and the writing takes longer, but I always want to do the characters and people who have lived these situations in real life justice. I'm always very disappointed when I come across a story which deals with a disability but neglects to deal with it seriously. That's why I tried very hard to keep this story from falling into that category, even though some people felt the story included too many graphic details about John's disability. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Sara (Anonymous)
20 May 2009 8:28 am
I haven't read any of your other reviews, but I'm sure I'll be repeating what other people have said. WOW!! This story was just incredible, and one of the best fan fiction stories I have read. You are a very talented writer, and I hope you are also using that talent on projects other than fan fiction. I don't normally read AU fics, but having read and loved all your other stories, I started to read. This story is insightful, heart-breaking, funny, accurate, and... I am lost for words... it was simply brilliant. Please keep writing for us! Sara x

Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful words! I'm very happy you gave the story a shot even though you're not a fan of AUs and that you enjoyed it. I am working on some original fic now and your kind words make me feel very excited about dabbling in a world other than fanfic. Thanks again!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: darkmoore (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2008 2:28 pm
You know, It's taking me a lot of time right now, reading this. It's familiar, maybe more familiar than I am comfortable with. You got it down really well, though. The way you start watching the news in a whole new way, or how the simple dropping of the lid of a pan can send a grown man to his knees. I wonder if words are enough to describe something you really can't explain to people who've not been through it. You're doing a great job here, even though this fic is hitting way too close to home for me. Very real. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! There were two main reasons why I wanted to write this story, and one of those reasons was that many people don't understand how a small or large part of a soldier never really comes back home from the frontlines. Just because a person is back to their normal surroundings and back with the people they are closest to doesn't mean that they will ever be the same person who left for war - which is something you seem to understand. I'm so happy to hear that you think my portrayal of the events in the story and the characters was realistic. That was my biggest concern with this story - making it as realistic as possible and not sugar coating anything or hitting a magical rewind button, since real life rarely has one. Thanks again for the kind words!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: Wilson (Anonymous)
24 Aug 2008 4:15 pm
What a great way to start the morning!! Fabulous, realistic and well plotted. Needless to say I'm in tears, bawling at the utterly fantastic ending. Keep up the great writing. Now- I'm off to find more of you work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it.
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
23 Aug 2008 12:45 am
Hello, beautiful story. I had started reading it when you first wrote it, but somehow lost track, because I'm an idiot. Found it again because I've been reading more of your recent stories & wanted to look over your past stories. It's a powerful story, I appreciate all of the details & difficulties that you wrote about John's adjustments to his new life. I love, love the last chapter with Rodney being some completely clueless about Mike Landon (why Sam Brumby?) and the later proposal. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and found it realistic. I'm embarrassed to say that I never realized that the name 'Mike Landon' actually belongs to somebody. I must have read his name somewhere and the name stuck. When I was searching for a name to use, I just grabbed this one out of my head and put it down. Yes, my mind is funny that way.
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Sandy (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2008 12:50 am
just finished this story, it was amazing. Your attention to detail concerning treatment and therapy was amazing. I loved both Rodney and John in this story. However, John wouldn't have to give up flying. There's a group of paraylized/disabled pilots -- The Wheelchair Pilots Assocation. The organization is out of Big Bear City, California. I believe it's mostly private planes, and I'm not sure about helicopters. Here's a link to an information site about the organization
http://www.palaestra.com/flying.html. and here's the contact for Big Bear City, Caliornia
For more information, contact the Wheelchair Pilots Association, Big Bear City Airport, Attn: Mike Smith, PO Box 2799, Big Bear City, CA 92314.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, that's really cool! Unfortunately, I never even considered the fact that a paraplegic could possibly fly (due to safety considerations), so I never looked into it. That's really awesome that pilots still get to keep their wings (in a manner of speaking), even if they've suffered permanent disabilities. The story wouldn't be the same story if I did let John get back into the cockpit (since so much of the story is about John discovering that he doesn't need to be able to fly to live a happy, full life) but that's good to know! Thanks for the heads up.
Waiting
Reviewer: Gillian (Anonymous)
16 Apr 2008 3:21 am
This story is as brilliant as I remembered! I know I reviewed when I first read it, but since you just provided me with hours of pleasure in the reread, I figured the least I could do was thank you once again for sharing this wonderful, heart-warming story.
Did you ever think about changing a few names and getting it published? You really should.

Author's Response: It's always wonderful to hear that somebody enjoyed something I wrote, but the ultimate compliment is hearing that somebody enjoyed it enough to read it again! Thanks for taking the time to let me know you still enjoy the story! Additionally, thank you for thinking that the story is good enough to publish! Wow, that is just about the top compliment a writer can get, isn't it? I did actually consider changing the names and tweaking some other things and making it an original fic (since the only SGA elements are Rodney, John and Jeannie's characters) but for now, I'm content to let it remain an SGA fic. The message within the story and the whole point of the story is something that isn't purely aimed towards the SGA fandom, which is why I like the thought of the story maybe reaching a wider audience. Maybe sometime down the road, I'll tweak it and see if somebody outside of the SGA fandom likes it.
Proving the Hypothesis