RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Satanshaven (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 8:06 pm
Poor John! Thank god Rodneys there to help. Can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Yup, Rodney will end up being John's life line from here on in. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
01 Mar 2007 7:57 pm
Very nicely done. You have John and Rodney well written and the story is truly heart breaking... more.... and thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is the first ultra-serious and first AU SGA fic I've tried, so I'm glad to hear that my take on John and Rodney seems to be on track so far. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Ida (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 6:32 pm
Oh, now I need Kleenex! I can't handle a lot of things, but full grown men falling apart isn't one of them. You're taking this at a nice pace. Thank you for not rushing it. I feel for John, I really do, but at present I feel more for Rodney. Poor Rodney! I can see that this is going to be awful, but I can't wait for more. Nice work.

Author's Response: Sorry about the tear jerker moments. There's more to come later, I'm afraid. You know, while I've been writing, I have to agree with you that a part of me always feels so damn bad for John, but I really feel for Rodney too. Up until this point, the story has focused on Rodney a lot, but from now on, the focus will gradually shift more to John since we'll know soon how Rodney is handling things and it'll be John who needs more time to adjust.
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: scifichild (Signed)
01 Mar 2007 6:02 pm
seriously woah. iv loved the other bits, but this last chapter was just really hard to read, you know? (and not in a bad way, just tht it was so emotional charged and heartbreaking). it takes alot to get me to cry, and i swear to god this has just broke me. im weeping and just so sad for John and Rodney in this. what u've done is amazing. its just hit me right here *taps chest*.

Author's Response: I apologize about making this chapter emotionally difficult to deal with, but the situation itself is a very difficult one to cope with. I've been wanting to write this story for a long time and I'm thrilled that it's coming across the way I wanted it to! Thanks for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 5:35 pm
Beautifully written with John's denial. You've almost got me in tears. Now, that John has accepted they will be alright. Hard road but alright.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, John's gradual acceptance of his disability was a huge step, but he has a long, long way to go. But you're right, they'll be okay. Just not any time soon.
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 4:41 pm
Wow, tough chapter, this one. Rodney's strength in doing what he thinks John would want is so admirable. In those circumstances, it would be so easy to do the "safe" thing. I'm sure there will be some fallout from that. Also, facing that level of disability would be something most of us can only imagine, even if we were not as active as John. Life altering, indeed. I knew a child who was in a wheelchair from a very young age. It seemed to form an invisible barrier, and I felt that she never got enough hugs compared to the other kids. Make sure Rodney doesn't let John become incased in that invisible shield. Looking forward to where this journey is going. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Yes, this chapter was a toughie, but it had to be, didn't it? And yes, Rodney will soon admit to John that he took a gamble agreeing to the surgery, and you'll just have to wait and see what John's reaction will be. Personally, I've never met anybody in a wheelchair but while I was writing the next few chapters, I started really thinking about how darn difficult life would be for someone in a chair. The simplest tasks like getting out of bed, washing your hands at the sink or getting a glass out of a cupboard become tiring chores. John will be faced with coming to this conclusion too. And don't worry, Rodney will be going out of his way to make sure John knows he's there for him and loves him and couldn't care less if he's walking or not. Thanks for taking the time to review and more will be up in about a week!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Ariana (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 3:59 pm
God, you're killing me. Please update soon, my heart just broke and you need to fix it.

Author's Response: *hands over glue to fix the broken heart* Sorry about that, but it had to be done, right? You knew this chapter was coming. Thanks for taking the time to read and review and I promise, I'll update (and fix your heart) in about a week.
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Rdcalow (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 3:29 pm
Any chance miracles happen in your story? Small teeny ones? Like some movement or sensation for John in his lower half? Great story and may the writer's muse continue to shine on you.

Author's Response: LOL Sorry. No miracles happening. I considered it for about 0.00002 seconds and then dismissed it. Real life doesn't have a lot of miraculous fixes, and I wanted this story to explore what John's life would be like if he was faced with a permanent disability with no chances of recovery. So no, there's not going to be anything going on with John's lower half. But the road to learning how to deal with that fact will be a long one. Thanks for the awesome feedback!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 3:03 pm
No fair getting me all teary-eyed and leaving me hanging...need more soon. I really hope they work things out. This is a good chapter, more soon please.

Author's Response: I've been apologizing to people all day about the tear jerker moments, but we both knew this chapter was coming, right? :) Now the long road to recovery begins. Thanks for taking the time to read and review! I'll be updating in about a week!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Maria (Anonymous)
24 Feb 2007 9:14 pm
Gah. I am in awe. I should be reading articles for my LGBT Familes 497O Human Sexuality class, but of course, even when the subject is near and dear to my heart, I procrastinate. :D I stumbled across your story, debating whether I should read it or not. I said, "Okay, just ten minutes of story, and then read for class..." Yeah. That so didn't happen. The story completely sucked me in. Great AU, wonderful characterization. I love the originality of it, but also the fact that it's so real. It keeps tugging at my heart-strings, and makes me really feel for all soldiers and families of soldiers. I dunno, your representation doesn't pull any punches, it's so honest, and it clearly shows the pain felt by the loved ones of soldiers, and then adds another layer of complexity by making it a gay relationship. I'm leaving to lobby for gay rights with the Human Rights Campaign in Washington, D.C. on the 28th. One of the majoy lobbying agendas is getting rid of the Don't Ask, Don't Tell policy and allowing gays to openly serve in the military. This story just drives home to me how crappy the policy is, and why it needs to be changed. WHEW! Long review, but great story. Thanks for tackling real issues. This does what great fics ought to! Hope to see more soon, and thanks for a great read. :D

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm sorry about taking precious studying time away from you, but I totally understand. Like right now, am I studying for midterms? Nope, I'm replying to reviews. I'm thrilled you decided to give this story a chance. I've been wanting to write a story that focuses on John being a soldier and Rodney having to adjust to that fact without the clutter of science fiction getting in the way. There are many, many reasons I wanted to write this story and why it's a very important story to me. I wanted to explore what happens when soldiers come back home and why readjusting to civilian life is so difficult, what happens when a soldier comes home more damaged than when he left (both mentally and physically, as we'll see in the next chapter), how the people at home cope (or don't cope, in some cases) and how their lives change as well, but most importantly, I wanted to point out that John and Rodney go through the same things a straight couple go through and the fact that Rodney is a guy doesn't effect John's ability to serve his country. I despise how the military uses the excuse of 'all gays are pedophiles or engage in dangerous sexual and drug behaviors'. It's stereotypical and degrading to the many soldiers who live normal lives, serve their countries and just happen to have a different sexual preference than other people. I completely support you for taking up this fight! I'll do my own part by continuing this story and hopefully bringing across the message that it doesn't matter who you want to sleep with, but it matters who you are on the inside and what you choose to do with your life and that people should only be judged on those things. Anyway, thanks again for giving this story a chance and for standing up for a cause that has been needed to be addressed for a long, long time.
The Phone Call
Reviewer: Ida (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 6:13 pm
I'm most interested to see how John's PTSD pans out in future installments. I appreciate the time you've spent on the back story leading up to Rodney's dreaded phone call. Excellent work:)

Author's Response: Yes, John's PTSD will be staying a vital part of the story, but it will be taking a backseat to a much harsher disability that he will have to deal with later. After life starts getting back to 'normal', John's PTSD is going to come back full force (and Rodney will develop some of his very own too). Thanks for taking the time to review and I'm thrilled you enjoyed all the backstory I put in! I thought it was essential for establishing how Rodney's life had changed. Thanks again!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: Ida (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 5:55 pm
I've only made it through chapter one...and it's great! I love AU's and this one is off to a fabulous start. Er...I have a gripe though. Rodney says to John that he'll pop in a DVD and they can forget about the letter. DVD didn't exist during the Gulf War, or in 1993 during the Mogadishu incident, and if it did...it was in development and I can guarantee that graduate students at a university couldn't afford it. So, in the interests of keeping your audience imagination suspended, and for historical accuracy, might you consider changing it to "video?" Please? I hate to nitpick...but it's what I do. Don't worry though, it's a very easy mistake to make:) I'm going to just move on to chapter 2 now. Thanks.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry! I do this all the time. In another story I was writing, I made the mistake of mentioning kleenex, and it was based in the 1940s. Thanks for pointing it out, I've gone and fixed it. I'm sorry about my little blunder and I appreciate that it hasn't turned you off the story yet. This is a story I've been wanting to write for a long time, and I share your fondness for AUs. Thanks for taking the time to review and letting me know about my mistake.
Waiting
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 1:18 pm
*Very* nicely done. A good AU and an excellent story. Can't wait to see how it comes out....

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is an AU I've been wanting to write for a long time and I'm thrilled to see that you're enjoying it so far! I'll be updating soon, I promise!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 12:33 pm
you cant stop there please oh god what have you done to john? hes got to be ok will break rodneys heart please add more soon

Author's Response: Hee hee...yes, I know I'm cruel. Don't worry, I'm not going to break Rodney's heart, I'm just going to scare him really badly. How, you ask? You'll just have to wait and see!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: stclare (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 12:31 pm
oh this is good!! youve fleshed out the charachters nicely. more please!

Author's Response: Thank you! More will come soon!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: BLV (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 11:58 am
I don't usually read AU stories, but this one has caught my attention. It's well written, characterization is good, and I like how you depicted Rodney's feelings about John going to a war zone. Keep up the good work, I'm looking forward to the next part!

Author's Response: Thanks for giving it a try even if you're not a fan of AUs. I'm glad you thought Rodney's reaction to John having to leave was believable. Thanks again for giving it a shot! I hope you're going to enjoy the rest!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: cooksterbird (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 10:34 am
OH MY GOD!!! What an evil place to end a chapter!!! I have been totally sucked into this really great story and then you go and end it there. Can't wait for the next installment (please, please, please write faster - the wait is killing me). This is really fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, cliffhangers can be darn traumatic, huh? Believe me, I know. The only thing worse than a cliffhanger is not having a resolution coming, but I promise, I'll be updating weekly!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: mrskeeler (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 7:07 am
Wow, this is a fabulous and very well written story. You are portaying their emotions and angst perfectly. Looking forward to your update.

Author's Response: Thank you! AUs are always tricky things, since you have to keep the characters in character even though you change everything else around them. I'm glad to hear that I'm not muddling things up so far! More to come soon, I promise!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: Satanshaven (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 6:39 am
More, more!!! Those 13 days gotta go bye fast. John needs Rodney and Rodney definitely needs John!

Author's Response: Yes, Rodney really needs John back and John definitely needs Rodney back, but not just yet. Yes, cliffhangers are evil. All will be revealed soon!
The Phone Call
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2007 1:27 am
Rodney got him through the PTSD and now that call. Oh, God. This is fantastic. Keep it up. Please.

Author's Response: Yup, life's not fair, huh? I'm thrilled you like the story so far. I've been wanting to write something like this for months, and I'm glad to see that other people like it too. I'll update soon, I promise!
The Phone Call
You must login (register) to review.