RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: springwoof (Signed)
19 Apr 2007 11:04 am
excellent storytelling! I'm a big AU fan, and this was a great one. you had me blubbering when they had their big fight...

Author's Response: Cool, you're a huge AU fan too, huh? I absolutely adore AUs, as you can obviously tell. I'm thrilled to hear you liked their big fight. That was my favourite chapter to write. Thanks so much for reviewing and I'm flattered you liked the story!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: gillian_in_oz (Signed)
18 Apr 2007 11:49 pm
This is my favourite SGA AU story ever. The genuine love and depth of emotion between these guys is incredibly touching. And the details just made the story - frank and accurate without being overly dramatic or sensationalizing. I really appreciated the whole thing, loved the beginning and Rodney's grief at being parted from John and then having to deal with his tragedy. And the fact that he did have bad moments and was unsure. And John and his heart breaking struggle. Perfectly captured. And the middle while they struggled just to make it day by day - dealing with all the new realities of their lives. And of course the end - where time and Rodney's faithfulness and loyalty and love led John to where he needed to be to finally accept that Rodney wasn't going to leave him - any more than he would have left Rodney if their positions had been reversed. Really, this story is a wonderful testament to survival - and that things aren't always going to be perfect - and sometimes they are tinged by tragedy - but that two people who love each other can find their way to a wonderful life anyway. May I just add that I appreciated you not adding characters from SGA as characters in your story. I understand why people do it - but it never really works for me. (Having said that I always pictured Daniel as Aiden and Kelly as Teyla) Thanks again for all your hard work! This is one of those stories that stay with you - and I will genuinely miss these guys - and I will think about them and wonder about them from time to time.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I love it when people so completely get what I was trying to convey through pages and pages of letters thrown onto a screen. That fact alone makes the time I spent on this well worth it. I loved how you said that surviving something doesn't mean that everything is perfect and back to being normal, but rather, it means you adjusted to living your life and are happy with your life. Of course, that's made a lot easier if you have a person who loves you beside you. And yes, I'm glad to hear you liked the fact that I didn't add in any other SGA characters. Not only are John and Rodney my favourites, but I didn't want to clutter the story up with familiar faces. This story belonged to our boys. Thank you so much for that wonderful, wonderful review! People like you make writing well worth it and make me want to spent much more time writing. Thanks again and I'm glad you appreciated me sharing this with you.
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: DragonLady (Signed)
17 Apr 2007 12:02 pm
Wow, this was just such an amazing story! I love AU's because they kind of prove to me that John and Rodney belong together, and this one was exceedingly well done. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!! I really look forward to your next effort.

Author's Response: I'm a big fan of AUs too! SGA is really the first fandom that I've come into where my favourite characters can fit into any AU easily and I love that! Sci-fi is great, but a lot of times, too much sci-fi clutters up a story and takes away character moments and development (which is why sci-fi shows often struggle to develop their characters and why those writers who do manage it are absolutely amazing). It's why I wanted to keep the SGC and all that sci-fi stuff far away from this story. Thank you so much for taking time to review! My muse has been working overtime and I have dozens of story ideas on the burner, but I have to leave for all of May (darn geology field school), but once I come back, those will be in full swing. Thanks again!
Waiting
Reviewer: Tardis Heart (Signed)
17 Apr 2007 8:04 am
LOL! Mike Landon? You aren't a closet Little house on the prairie fan? :) That aside; really loved these last few chapters, I wanted to read each chapter then post a review but my curiosity got the better of me so I just kept reading *and laughing and crying*. These were great chapters, they really had me in tears and fits of laughter. When Rodney asked John to marry him I could just imagine how hurt Rodney was even without the knowledge of what they had recently gone through; Rodney is totally in awe of John (and I think Rodney is/was as uncertain of John's love for him as John was about Rodney's so this would have been a huge kick in the guts) that chapter hurt so good. It was really well written. And when John got ill, Rodney was there blaming himself. Which I only half bought into as, you know; John is a grown man and can buy a catheter without Rodney's help and if it was my penis *g* I wouldn't want to be using anything near it that wasn't perfectly clean.... That aside Rodney's reactions had me in tears *again* The ending was wonderful, I loved John being the one, and Rodney being a little oblivious to what John was doing. *I cried again* I also cried when I thought Cat wasn't there, I was thinking she was getting on in age and having lost a few cats in my time I know they are not indestructible, but there she was right to the end. There little family complete :) Thank you for sharing this with us I have added it to my favourites. Hope that made sense I am very, very tired right now but had to post :)

Author's Response: LOL! You know, when I was thinking up a name for Rodney's crush, that name just popped into my head and I wrote it down, not really worrying about why it sounded so darn familiar. Now everything is clear. LOL! That chapter when Rodney and John have their big fight was my personal favourite. It's very difficult for two people to be in a relationship when both of them feel insecure about the others feelings. Their biggest problem wasn't just that they doubted how the other felt about them, but the fact that John despises talking about such things and won't bring it up unless Rodney pushes him about it. Rodney left the subject alone for a few years, letting John readjust, but as a consequence, John's insecurities just festered and grew and of course, those insecurities came out all wrong as angry taunts and accusations, but that's John Sheppard for you. The only thing that kept their relationship going was the fact that they do really love each other and really don't want to live with anybody else in their lives, and thus will do anything to work through obstacles. And yes, of course Cat had to be there. I know she's pretty old by the end as far as cats are concerned, but let's just say she's really healthy (and she was necessary for the happy endings that I adore and love). Thank you so much for your very kind words and I'm absolutely thrilled you enjoyed the story! I had such fun writing this one and it makes me feel so awesome to hear that others enjoyed it too!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Scruffy (Signed)
16 Apr 2007 8:58 pm
Wow, this story is quite emotional. Insanely good. Made me bawl several times. Well done.

Author's Response: Sorry about triggering the tears. That tends to happen with my stories. One of these days, I swear I'll write some little fluff thing. I promise. *thinks about it* Actually, it'll probably turn into a sob-fest too, so scratch that. Why fight the inevitable, huh? :) I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the story! I loved writing this one and hearing that other people liked it too makes it all the better! Thanks so much for taking the time to review!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 9:18 pm
That was remarkable. John and Rodney are so touching, and the angst and making up are very nicely done. And thank you for not letting us hang so long... enjoy that time away and hopefully your muse is working full time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That making up scene is one of my favourites. I had such fun writing that whole chapter. Once I come back in June, I'll be writing full time until September rolls around again. I have about 13 story outlines sitting around, waiting to be written so we'll see what happens with that. Thanks for the kind words and the support!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 4:12 pm
Oh my god its finshed I feel so sad I got a small thrill evry time I saw you had added more this was such a great seris and rodney and john getting married was the perfect ending. You made this feel so real with all the emotion flying around.

Author's Response: Yup, it's all done, happy ending and everything. I'm glad you liked it and thank you so much for sticking with me through the whole story. That meant a lot!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Lady Anne (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 12:57 pm
I have so enjoyed reading this story. You have done an excellent job of presenting John and Rodney's life and their trials and tribulations. And through it all their love shines through. Thank you so much for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I had such fun writing this story and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it! I was hard on both John and Rodney at times, but of course there had to be a happy ending because I'm just a sucker for those :)
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: jgroovydaisy (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 9:44 am
This has been an incredible story. I loved that it all wasn't easy and at times it moved me to tears. Thanks for writing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Real life tends not to be easy and simple so I loath making my stories be easy and simple. I think it insults my intelligence and all of your intelligences too. I'm glad you enjoyed the story even though it made you cry *quietly hands over a handful of tissues*. My stories tend to do that. Sorry ;) Thanks again for taking the time to review!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 4:31 am
Fantastic! a great story filled with angst, intensity, laughter, hope and best of all, a happy ending! Also, he should know Rodney's always right. :>) Thank you for posting it all, it was great to not have to wait so long for it. Thankg again, and please, hurry and start another one.

Author's Response: As always, thank you! I thought about posting it in bits and pieces, but I'm leaving for a month at the end of April and I wanted to make sure it was all up for you guys to read. And of course there was a happy ending! My stories tend to take you on rollercoaster rides, but happy endings are an absolute must :) Concerning new stories, one is in the works right now and my muse has been going nuts, so we'll see what the two of us churn out together. Thanks again for sticking with this story! It means a lot!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 3:42 am
Oh, such a perfect ending. But, really, Mike Landon? Ha. Great story. Thanks for sharing. It is a favorite.

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks! I know adding in a guy who has a crush on Rodney seemed a bit strange so close to the end of the story, but I needed to use Landon to prove to John that Rodney really was committed to him and really didn't want anybody else and not because he couldn't have anybody else. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and thanks for the kind feedback!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:58 am
Tough chapter. Good advice. I love these guys.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love them too!
Other Side of the Coin
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:56 am
That was a wonderful story. :) And damn you have me in tears from the anniversary and proposal on. We should all be as lucky as John is. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, John is one lucky, lucky guy, huh? Glad you liked the proposal. I didn't want to have it be just another normal proposal. Their relationship has always been unique, so why shouldn't John's proposal be unique too?
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: Tonia Barone (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:55 am
*wipes eyes* I've been following this since the beginning and I gotta say that it's been a hell of a ride. I love the way you've shown Rodney and John in school and coping with military life and the life of a paraplegic. I come from a military family (dad was sent over to Desert Storm, so I SO get Rodney, even if daddy was in munitions and not a pilot--Army, he was) and this was...it was really heartwrenching at times because I could sympathize with Rodney. Waiting sucks. And the emotions you convey? Wow. This was simply amazing. I loved this look at John if he'd stayed in school, even if the price was a bit high. Kinda curious if the SGC ever recruits them, but this is good as-is. I loved the university life you gave them. Though I think Cat was about nearing the end of her life. Pity. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: LOL! I totally forgot about Cat aging! Let's just say she's nearing the end of the road and was just a very, very healthy cat. I'm so glad you thought Rodney's emotions and experiences were right on the mark. I've never even met anybody in the military but I couldn't imagine what you must have gone through. Even though the soldiers themselves are heroes of course, the people waiting for them at home are just as courageous and amazing, and I wanted to really show that with this story. I never thought about putting any elements of the SGC in it, mostly because I didn't want to 'clutter' the story up with aliens and sci-finess. That's for other stories. This story was just about a soldier and his partner and how they lived through war and peace and still managed to stay together with love, patience, understanding and being willing to change and adapt. Thank you so much for the kind words and I'm so glad my story struck a chord. I wrote this story for people like you and to hopefully shine a light on the unsung heroes who are left to pick up the pieces when their loved one leaves and comes home and the rest of the world assumes they'll go back to living life the same way as before. Thanks again!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:41 am
Kelly's lucky too to have them as friends. :) You had me almost in tears again with Rodney watching the news and seeing the down planes and then loosing one of their own. They gave good advice to Brawson. He's a smart young man.

Author's Response: You liked Brawson, huh? I thought it was essential to introduce some of the younger cadets and really show how much John and Rodney have matured and learned over the years when they can give advice to people going through the same things they had to struggle through when they were younger. And I completely believe what Rodney told Brawson's girlfriend. A lot of military spouses go about their daily lives when their significant other is off at war and think that once they come home, life will return to normal and they'll continue as if their partner had been on vacation for 6 months. That's sadly not the case and is a big reason why some military families have a harder time living together than when they're separated by war. Like Rodney says, you have to be willing to work hard and make adjustments in order to make it work.
Other Side of the Coin
Reviewer: iadorespike (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:27 am
Great snippets of their life. Interesting to see them having to handle their students now being faced with having to go to war. Such bad memories for poor Rodney - and John seeing it from the opposite perspective...nicely done.

Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted to make sure I included a couple of scenes where John has to deal with seeing war from the other side of the coin and experiencing what Rodney had to go through. Life and the rest of the world still kept going, even if John was confined to a wheelchair and on a university campus, and I wanted to make sure that John realized that.
Other Side of the Coin
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:25 am
I am so glad that they have a friend like Kelly. She obviously loves them enough to tell them when they are both being idiots. :) You practically had me in tears when they were discussing the whys of their argument.

Author's Response: Yeah, two stubborn idiots like John and Rodney really need outside interference from time to time in order to make their relationship work. And I'm glad you liked them making up and talking things out. That chapter was so emotionally difficult to write, but I hope it was worth it. Thanks again!
Disbelief and Doubts
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:21 am
Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)
Disbelief and Doubts
Reviewer: iadorespike (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:20 am
“You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me, Rodney, and you’re the best thing that ever will happen to me. I don’t want or need anybody else. I’m just sorry it took me fifteen damn years to feel secure enough to ask.” Awwwww...finally! I think John gets it! "Rodney looked like he might start crying so John loudly cleared his throat and asked if it was okay that they used tags instead of rings. Everybody in the room gave him slightly amused looks, but nobody minded. Using the tags seemed more fitting than rings for the two of them." Loved this! Especially nice that you were able to make such good use of the tags after you found out that John would have been able to keep them.;) Again, I just loved every bit of this story. Thanks so much for sharing. *hugs*

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! Glad to hear it wasn't too sappy. And yes, John finally, finally gets it. I wasn't sure if people would like me using John's tags in such a way, but his tags have always been such an important part of his life that I wanted to use them to make a point. When he first came home, he had to leave that part of his life completely behind and readjust to his new life, but now, he found his balance between the old and the new. Thank you so much for taking the time to read the story and for letting me know that you liked it! That means an awful lot!
Proving the Hypothesis
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:06 am
Another wonderful piece and I am glad to see the cadets give John his due even if he doesn't think he deserves it. I'm glad they were there when he had his flashback in class and were able to get Rodney. :) Scary about how easy it is for John to get a life threatening illness. So much to remember.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that little detail about the cadets treating John as their superior and just not another guy. I thought it would be appropriate and really emphasize that even though John isn't military anymore, the university got a fresh batch of cadets who are ready to join the military. As always, thanks for taking the time to let me know you liked it!
In Sickness and In Health
You must login (register) to review.