RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: iadorespike (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 2:03 am
This chapter was so sad - I kept wondering just what it would take for John to lose his insecurity about Rodney's feelings toward him. *sigh*

Author's Response: I wondered the same thing myself and then I thought how difficult it would really be to believe what someone says if they say the same thing over and over again but you just can't bring yourself to trust them. So I thought about bringing in an outsider in the form of someone who has a crush on Rodney and letting John see Rodney's commitment to him from another angle. I do have to say that their fight and making up was my favourite chapter to write :) No, I'm not evil...
Disbelief and Doubts
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 1:55 am
Very scary. Poor guys.

Author's Response: Yes, seeing someone you love very sick has to be terrifying. Still, I'd never permanently hurt our boys, would I?
In Sickness and In Health
Reviewer: iadorespike (Signed)
15 Apr 2007 1:50 am
Wow, four chapters, and we just got one the other day! I've already swallowed them whole. I'm a glutton for this story. I started reading around chapter five or six, and I have to tell you how I've enjoyed this story. The straightforward way that you've handled the health issues and the beautiful relationship that you built between Rodney and John (despite those health issues) are wonderfully done. I've loved every minute of this story...thank-you so much for your hard work. :) Sorry for the lack of earlier fb. :(

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I loved exploring what trials and difficulties a relationship would be put through when one person undergoes such a traumatic change and the other has to struggle to pick up the shattered pieces. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it too and thanks for the kind words!
In Sickness and In Health
Reviewer: m_alexj (Signed)
14 Apr 2007 2:41 am
I've been following this story for a couple of weeks and if there's one thing I regret, it's not telling you how well it's written. When I first saw the summary, I hesitated - only because I avoid stories with hurt/comfort/angst. Yes it's a little pathetic but I go for the happy stories most of the time. Anyhow, I did start reading this and I loved the way you've written their charcters. I also love the way you've written the subject matter - I thought it showed respect for John and a lot of knowledge. May I ask: do you write from experience or just that you have worked with paraplegics? I'm not from a medical background so I can't comment about accuracy but it rings true for someone like me. And I also liked that you talked about PTSD and the war and the soldiers contribution... There are so many issues being raised here. I really am looking forward and hope that you will continue writing! Thank you for sharing :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for those kind words! It's funny that you usually avoid h/c/angsty fics since those are practically the only things I tend to read :) Even though it's not your usual cup of tea, thank you for giving it a shot anyway. To answer your question, no I'm not a paraplegic and I don't know anybody else who is, I just did a lot of research for this story. That and I watched a recent episode of Extreme Makeover Home Edition about that mother who shielded her kids from a tornado and broke her back. I was amazed at all the little things that she had difficulties with now that she was in a chair and I started thinking about how I wanted to explore that as well, so the muse started churning and this story came out. I'm glad you think I'm dealing with the subject matter appropriately and that you still like the story, even though it's probably a lot 'heavier' than the things you usually enjoy reading. Thanks so much for sticking with the story and I'll be updating soon!
Outside Our Door
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
13 Apr 2007 9:36 am
I truly adore this story. John and Rodney are just so good together. Thanks and looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, Rodney and John are good together, aren't they? Us McSheppers see the truth, don't we? I'm thrilled you're enjoying it so far and there will be more to come very soon.
Outside Our Door
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
13 Apr 2007 3:27 am
You write so damn good! Intense, insightful, emotional on many levels. All I have to say is, let us know when you publish your book out in the real world.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you so much! I've always loved writing and for some reason, it's always been easy for me. I used to write original stuff (years and years ago and they're such crap that they never, ever, ever should see the light of day) but I've been playing in the fanfic sandbox for the past few years and have been loving it. I'll probably stay here for a while longer before I start up with my own stuff again. Thanks again and I'm glad you're still enjoying the story!
Outside Our Door
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
13 Apr 2007 1:59 am
Another great piece. But ouch for the flashbacks. Those are not fun. Good thing Rodney is able to deal with them. *L* Have to love John's handling of Rodney in the Dean's office and he'll make a fine teacher. Though Rodney is right it is time to get out more. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, the PTSD did have to make its way back into the story, didn't it? Not fun, but a sad part of John's life. And there's a good reason John insisted that they go meet with the Dean at the same time. He knew Rodney might not have a job if he went alone :) Thanks for always taking the time to let me know if you liked it, it means a lot!
Outside Our Door
Reviewer: belle (Signed)
13 Apr 2007 1:46 am
I loooooove this story. I hope you will not put an end to it any time soon. I like the mix of angst and slight humur. I also like how you have been treating the issue of disability. Again, I simply love this story and I hope you will write more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm quite fond of this story too. I do like my angst, but like real life, some humor does inevitably make it in there somewhere, right? I'm so flattered to hear that you think I'm dealing with the issue of disability appropriately. Exploring that issue was the main motivation behind this fic. There are about five chapters left and they'll be coming very soon, since I'm leaving at the end of April for a month and I won't leave you all hanging.
Outside Our Door
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Signed)
12 Apr 2007 8:09 am
oh love you so much as much as I love yoyre fic so glad john had some fun in this chapter and some of his life had been made easier by some funky gadgets. plaese add more soon

Author's Response: Thanks! This one was one of the lighter, funnier chapters and it's good to hear that you enjoyed it. More is coming very soon!
Strange New World II
Reviewer: McSheppChick15 (Signed)
10 Apr 2007 3:08 pm
Oh... my... dear... god... *dies* Brilliant first chapter you've got here! It's a real lure, I'll tell you. You've got me in tears here demanding that I go read the other chapters, now. :)

Author's Response: I adore praise in double! Thank you again! What? It's a computer glitch? *goes away sulking* ;)
Waiting
Reviewer: McSheppChick15 (Signed)
10 Apr 2007 11:30 am
Oh... my... dear... god... *dies* Brilliant first chapter you've got here! It's a real lure, I'll tell you. You've got me in tears here demanding that I go read the other chapters, now. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy it!
Waiting
Reviewer: Tardis Heart (Signed)
07 Apr 2007 11:43 pm
Hi... I have been reading this from the start and have been enjoying it; the way you treat John's disability is a wonder. Heartbreaking in a way, John as a character is so physical, his whole body is always in the moment, when I think about what he would look like in a wheelchair and how he would move about it is heartbreaking. You write him with a lot of hope though and I am glad for that, this could have been a very dark fic, very painful but you are treading the right line between morbid fascination (which I think there is a little of) and genuine understanding or at least willingness to understand what it must be like for him. Your no quick fixes it a nice change from what often happens in this fandom. (Not that I mind a quick fix) And Rodney's characterisation in this is wonderful. You could of had him shying away from John, freaking out about their life together and what it may hold (or you may still give us some of that) but you have him supportive, his usual arrogant self and determined not to let John wallow in self-pity. I like the way you are handling the intimate side as well, but I am wondering if this will change, that is if John will start finding not being able to have with Rodney what he use to will come crashing down on him? Or even more so for Rodney, I can't imagine what it must be like to find one day that what I can now offer my partner is so much less then I use to. And for men it must be a very hard transition. Anyway, regardless of how many more chapters are left (did you say how long this was going to be?) I am moved by each new one. Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it with us.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm absolutely thrilled you're enjoying the story so far. When I first started writing this fic, I did consider doing a darker version where John doesn't try to readjust to life and gradually ends up drifting further and further away from Rodney, but I couldn't see where and how that one would have ended, so I went with this version instead. I'm glad you're liking Rodney in this fic. I'm so damn fond of McKay and I'm enjoying writing him like this very much. Concerning their sex lives, there won't be much of an issue about it after this. For some people, sex is all about the penetration, and if that aspect is changed, they might feel at a complete loss, but for Rodney and John, being intimate with each other involves a lot more things, almost all of which John can still do for Rodney. However, there will be other issues that will come up soon. Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!
Strange New World II
Reviewer: B_C (Signed)
07 Apr 2007 3:16 am
Another great chapter. :) Home will seem more like home with stuff to help John cope and adjust with daily life. And Rodney of course by his side. Nice to see Rodney taking over the store with a little help from Jeannie and John. *L* Their sex life will come back but like with everything some work and a lot of love.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, life is slowly returning to normal. Their home lives and sex lives are slowly finding their equilibrium again, and next will be their working lives. Like with the other two, they'll get through it with love and patience.
Strange New World II
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
06 Apr 2007 4:49 pm
What a great chapter! Thank you for clarifing that things for John in the sex department isn't working, I think I missed that part. I'm also glad at how you handled the situation and I loved the fun in the store. Also, the device Rodney made for John and the pot...is that a real device or did it exist at the time this story takes place? I ask, because Rodney could patten it and there would be some income for them. After all, if anyone could make new things for John and others, it would be Rodney. Who knows, Rodney may even discover a new calling. I've added you to my fav list as I love this story it's so well written. Keep it up please.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you thought I dealt with their new 'bedroom' situation well. And no, the little pot strainer was something I just came up with, since I'm on the short side and have always had problems straining potfuls of hot water, and I'm not stuck in a wheelchair. Their financial situation will be resolved in the next chapter and their new sources of income will be revealed. Thanks for reviewing, and I'll update soon, I promise.
Strange New World II
Reviewer: Time and tide (Signed)
06 Apr 2007 10:45 am
Nice chapter. I didn't even mind Jeannie using "Mer" this time :) I was a little sad to learn you didn't give John a reflex erection, I know from watching way too many docos that some paraplegic men can still have erections but you are right in that they do not actually feel anything, although some do say they kind of have an orgasm, also it can take time for it to happen after the inital accident. I often wonder if we all place too much emphasis on the physical side of "love making" and not enough on the emotional side. But I did like the idea of the dildo... and no I am not obsessed just really interested :) You know some guys really get off on nipple play? I am just saying. LOL! You are so banning me from posting here anymore aren't you :P

Author's Response: I've always liked having Jeannie calling Rodney 'Meredith'. It's that typical picking-on-your-sibling thing that my sister and I have going on all the time too. And yes, I wil admit, I debated a long time whether to make John completely unresponsive in *those parts* or have something going on down there, but then I decided to go with the worst case scenario and see how that plays out. For me personally, being intimate with someone is about a lot more than just penetration, and I know it's different for guys, but I wanted to see how these two guys would deal with that change to their sex lives. Are we even allowed to say sex so many times in posts? LOL
Strange New World II
Reviewer: marinav (Signed)
06 Apr 2007 9:52 am
It is so aggravating that the things that can help make someone's life so much easier are so unaffordable for people that really need it. Great chapter. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: You raised a very good point. I did a lot of research for this chapter and I was amazed at how unaffordable some of these essential supplies are. Really John's life would be miserable without some of these aids. Thanks for reviewing!
Strange New World II
Reviewer: Time and tide (Signed)
05 Apr 2007 10:41 pm
Dam! I had to join in order to post. Can I ask, you did say early on you were not going to be giving us much in the way of "teh sex" but are we going to get any of "teh sex" from here on in... not that I am obsessed with it or anything *looks innocent* I just like "teh sex" in my McKay/Sheppard fics... *pouts* John needs some lovin'!!! LOL! *pouts* You are updating soon right?

Author's Response: LOL! As a McShepper, I'm with you one hundred percent about needing to see more loving. However, I've never been much of a graphic slash writer and writing those few scenes took me forever and made me uncomfortable (even though I read PWPs and relish them and drool over them when other people write them everyday...there's something strange to ponder). Also, there are a lot of people who like reading slash fics without the graphic sex scenes. In respect to those people and to allow more people to enjoy this story, I'm not going to be focusing on their sex lives very much at all from this point onwards. I understand how people like you and me just need our pornie fixes now and again, but that's why we're lucky enough to be in a fandom where we have an unlimited supply of nekidness at our fingertips whenever we choose, right? And yes, I'll update soon, but for now, I'm off smuttiness hunting :)
Strange New World
Reviewer: Rossendale (Signed)
02 Apr 2007 7:18 am
I discovered this story just now, but I'm glad I did. You clearly have done your research, a fact that I admire, and you know how to write well and make the characters believeable - so this is a joy to read, even though it's often painful. Looking forward to the next chapters! Keep up the good work! R.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you appreciate the amount of work I had to put into this fic, and I hope it will turn out to have been worthwhile. I'm flattered that you enjoy my writing and I hope you continue to like the story! Thanks again!
Strange New World
Reviewer: scififreak (Signed)
01 Apr 2007 7:09 am
I keep reading though it kills me. *sigh* Oh, the beautiful pain. I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're as fond of painful sadness as I am :)
Strange New World
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2007 3:25 am
Poor John. Those restrictions and accidents are going to happen. Rodney is being so wonderful and love is a powerful medicine. :) Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, Rodney love is the best medicine for our John, isn't it? I'm thrilled you liked it!
Strange New World
You must login (register) to review.