RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2007 1:53 am
Struggles seem so real, how painful and humiliating to be at the mercy of a body you no longer can control. Strange, isn't it, how knowing has so little to do with feeling. Rodney's argument is convincing, but insufficient. Looking forward to seeing how they handle jobs and school. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so thrilled that you got the exact point I'm trying to make with this story. I didn't only want to stick John in a wheelchair and write about how other people treat him, but rather, I wanted to explore how his life changes - including the difficult, frustrating and embarrassing changes. I never imaged how difficult the simplest tasks could become and how frustrating it would be to be stuck in a body that's suddenly a burden to you. This story has really opened my eyes and made me come to some very emotionally difficult realizations and I'm thrilled to hear that you're getting that too. And yes, jobs and school (and sex) are coming up soon!
Strange New World
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
29 Mar 2007 10:55 pm
A tought start to a new begining. I'm glad they managed over the first of many hurtles into finding thier routine. I guess, facing the chang into their personal (intimate) life or lack there of, depending on how you want to go about it. As always a good chapter, keep it coming.

Author's Response: Everybody's been asking me about sex recently! LOL! You people all have such one track minds. LOL! But yes, I promise I will be addressing 'that' issue very soon. As I've mentioned before, their sex lives won't be the focus of this story, but of course their sex lives will change and I will be addressing that. Thanks for reviewing and there's more coming soon!
Strange New World
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
29 Mar 2007 9:43 pm
oh evil wommen but I love you any way :)poor john but with evry chapter I love Rodney even more as he just adapts to evrything and helps john get through the day. Didnt he get his dog tags taken off him? I geuss he could have 2 sets. Hope you add more soon and give poor john a break

Author's Response: Thanks! I really love writing Rodney in this fic. I do think he's the type of person to adjust better to long-term changes than John. And Rodney knows that if he doesn't adjust and deal with situations and keep his feet firmly on the ground, John would lose it completely. Concerning John's tags, I originally wrote that he had to hand them in, but then a reader pointed out that ex-soldiers get to keep their tags, so I went back and edited that scene in Chapter 5. I put a little note on the top of the chapter. Sorry about the little confusion. And yes, John will get a bit of a break soon. The next chapter's a bit lighter than the norm :)
Strange New World
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
29 Mar 2007 8:10 pm
So many ups and downs in one chapter! I liked the way you took us through John's POV *literally* and somehow I knew his little accident was going to happen but it was still handled well, and I didn't feel like it was too laboured (I mean that as a compliment) it can't be easy to write that kind of material but you did really well here. Also the last part was so bitter sweet. I think John may never understand why Rodney stays, why he loves him so much. But I do hope John learns to let Rodney love him, let him be part of him (which is how I heard a couple describe their relationship after one of them lost the use of their arms, the husband had to get use to doing things for his wife, including putting her make-up on, he became in a way an extension of her body it sounds a little creepy but to hear and see them it was just loving and sweet) I know if John could learn to do a similar thing it would make his life a hell of a lot better, but this is John! *bless him* LOL! I want a picture of Rodney's face when he walked into the kitchen! :)

Author's Response: Yeah, that empty catheter kinda gave it away, right? LOL! I started the story focusing on what it's like to have a loved one off at war while waiting at home - which was best explored from Rodney's POV. But I wanted to explore John's paralysis from his POV and how difficult it is to have to learn how to live with a body that you can no longer control and having lost the ability to do the simple things you took for grated your whole life. I guess how quickly people adjust to having their partners help them depends on their personalities. I always thought that John would have a tougher time accepting help from Rodney until he's had a chance to try things for himself and realizes that he just can't easily do it himself. But paraplegics do manage to take care of themselves - some extremely well, they just need some special tools to help them. Rodney and John (and Jeannie) will be going shopping in the next chapter and will find some of these tools that will give John his independence back somewhat. I'm thrilled to hear that didn't think John's little accident was too graphic or disturbing, and it was tough to write, but it would be a problem that John would realistically have to face, so I didn't want to exclude that. I loved hearing about that couple who you described, and yes, Rodney will become an extension of John's body, although only to a certain extent. We both know how stubbornly independent Sheppard can be. Concerning John's emotional state, it will take him a long, long time to accept the fact that Rodney is with him because he wants to be. In a few chapters after John has readjusted to life, this (and John's PTSD) will become the focus of the story until the end.
Strange New World
Reviewer: belle (Anonymous)
24 Mar 2007 12:25 am
I love your story. Good emotions and I like how you deal with the disability issue. More authors should try to tackle that subject. You have been doing a great job. Please writie more. Lots more!

Author's Response: You know what? I have been waiting and waiting for somebody to write a story like this, but everytime somebody came close, they took the easy way out and made John all better by the end. So then I thought, why bother waiting, I'll just write my own. I'm glad to hear you think I'm dealing with John's disability appropriately. It makes me think that this story is on the right track. And don't worry, there's more to come. Lots more to come.
Coming Home
Reviewer: Kaene (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 7:56 pm
Nice story but one small quibble. Soldiers are allowed to keep their dog tags even after their military service. Lots of ex-soldiers have them. They contain the soldiers name and other info (like blood type) aso they can't be issued to anyone else. It just made that whole scene seem false and took from it.

Author's Response: *hides behind her desk* Oh, the shame. I am so terribly sorry. I will run and take out that little part right now. I just remembered watching old JAG episodes where soldiers who had been discharged were running around and scamming people by pretending to still be in the service and they had their tags to 'prove' it. I guess I thought they would take people's tags away as a precaution. But I'll change that right away, thank you for pointing it out, it's very much appreciated.
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Risha (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 12:29 pm
Another great chapter, though fortunately not quite as slit-the-wrists-inducing this time. I think we needed a break from the tears, since I'm sure there's a lot to go. I'm not sure I should be asking this but - are you by any chance disabled? Because you've written movingly about problems I've never even realized existed (such as finding a wheelchair when traveling).

Author's Response: You know, in my previous stories, people have complained about the short, 'happy' chapters that I includ from time to time, but real ife isn't always tears and lemons, is it? We all need a breather, and so does my story and its characters. Concerning your question, no, I'm not disabled in any way, nor have I ever known somebody in a wheelchair. I did do a lot of research for this story, mostly about recovery, medical problems and lifestyle adjustments that paraplegics have to cope with. But concerning the rest of it, I just put myself into my characters shoes and look at the world through their eyes. Through writing this fic (especially the coming up chapter), I was stunned to realize how the most basic things can turn into a long chore when one is confined to a wheelchair and suddenly loses their mobility, and a good few inches in height. While writing, I explored doing everyday things from John's new point of view, and I was stunned with the problems I stumbled across - ones that I hadn't even foreseen (such as, how do you load a washing machine which has a lid on top if you're in a chair?). You'll also hopefully experience this stunning realization with the next chapter.
Coming Home
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 11:54 am
an other great chapter cant wait for the next one. good to have john and rodney home at last.

Author's Response: Yup, it's good to be home, right? You'd think so, wouldn't you? Just wait until the next chapter and then tell me you still think so ;) As always, thanks for the kind words!
Coming Home
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 3:09 am
You do know these chapters are getting smaller in word count? LOL! Wants more! I really liked the part about John not wanting to be starred at and Rodney basically saying "we" all stare. Sad but true, that is something I really like about this fic, you don't shy away from the harsh realities. Not sure if this will change :P but I also love that you don't make everyone they encounter someone from Atlantis. I half expected "Kelly" to have been called Katie, glad she wasn't. So the next chapter is longer right? Right?!? :)

Author's Response: LOL! You noticed the word count too, huh? I always pick a bunch of scenes to make a chapter and sometimes, the next scene happens to be too long or doesn't really fit with the others, so I have to leave it out, resulting in the chapter being slightly shorter. I can't promise that the chapters will be increasing in length, but otherwise, the chapters would leave off on constant cliffhangers or seem choppy, and we don't want that, do we? As for me shying away from harsh realities, never! I never look at the world with rose colored glasses and I use my writing to explore the lives of different people with different lifestyles. If I would constantly take the easy way out of things concerning my stories, I don't feel that I explored that topic to its full potential, because real life doesn't have a nice rewind button or a fix-it button, does it? And you'll be thrilled to hear that no, I have no intentions of including any other SGA characters. This one's just about Rodney and John and some other minor characters I decided to include, none of whom (expect Jeannie) are SGA related. And just to make you happy, I will try to make the next chapter longer, I promise :)
Coming Home
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 2:53 am
Excellent job! I felt like was with with them in Rodney's panic, his relief and John's hope and realization he was in a way free.. Excellent, totally excellent, keep the chapters coming...and they should make out in front of the General's office. :>)

Author's Response: LOL! Yes, they should make out in front of General Renton's office, but John still has and will continue to have too much respect for the military to do want to humiliate or anger his former CO like that. As for John feeling like he was free, like he said, he's free to be with Rodney now, but even that relationship won't be what it was before. He has a big learning curve ahead of him.
Coming Home
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 2:04 am
I can really feel for John in this piece. Been there and done that. Not wanting anyone to see him in the airport. Humans are nasty, curious creatures at times. Home is always good and they will succeeded with a lot of help from their friends, family and their love for each other. :)

Author's Response: You're absolutely right on both counts. Yes, human beings can be nasty, curious creatures, but human beings can also be amazing, resourceful, accepting and loving, like our Rodney, right? And yes, being at home will make things easier for them, but not right away. The only advantage to being in a hospital or clinic is that people are willing to do a lot of things for you that at home you're expected to do yourself. John will be dealing with this particular dilemma very, very soon.
Coming Home
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
23 Mar 2007 1:52 am
Another great chapter! Ya gotta love "Biology" and Jeannie. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: LOL! Thank you, as always. I'm thrilled to hear you like Kelly and Jeannie. They'll both be dropping by in the story from time to time, basically whenever our boys need a hand.
Coming Home
Reviewer: Scififreak (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2007 7:58 pm
Gah! Each chapter is like an ice pick to my heart! It hurts so good! *eagerly awaits next chapter*

Author's Response: Glad to hear that the pain is of the good variety. LOL. Things won't be much more cheery anytime soon, but we'll get there...eventually. Thanks for reviewing!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2007 7:12 pm
I don't even know how to comment on this chapter. Realistic and heartbreaking. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, it was a tough chapter. But these things had to be done, right? John and Rodney will be going back home very, very soon and that will bring about a whole lot of other problems. If John thought life at the clinic was difficult to adjust to, he's in for a big surprise. :) As always, thank you for taking the time to review and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: May (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2007 7:49 am
I felt compelled to add my thoughts as I would really love you to keep writing this story. I confess that I normally stray away from hc stories as I never like seeing injuries to any of the boys. But I honestly enjoy the way you've written these characters and the interactions between them. It was hard to read at bits because I felt really sorry for John - knowing that he's lost the ability to fly. I like it that he finds some strength and support with Rodney. Thank you for writing the story and I hope to catch more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm thrilled you decided to give the story a chance even though h/c fics aren't usually your cup of tea. I know that some scenes are hard to read. There will be more tough scenes in future chapters and they were pretty difficult to write too, but it needed to be done. I didn't want to write a diluted or sugar coated version of this story and I really didn't want to have a quick fix-it solution because I wanted to make it as real as possible and explore what dramatic changes somebody has to go through when they or somebody they love becomes a paraplegic. And yes, Rodney will continue being John's rock through the good times and the bad, and believe me, there will be a lot of bad times coming up unfortunately before we get to the good times. Thanks for sticking with the story and for taking the time to review! I hope you continue to enjoy it!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2007 5:49 am
I loved this chapter. I felt crushed for John when he had to hand back his tags. I had hoped maybe John would get the courage to say Rodney was his boyfriend *g* but then John is still deep down military and just because he is forced by circumstances to give that all away doesn't mean in his heart he is ready or able to yet. So it seems he still has respect for the military. I wonder how long that will last when he realises how little the pension pays! He loses his mobility, and so much more and he gets *that* in return. I kind of hope you don't turn him bitter, I can see how that might happen and I may have watched "Born on the fourth of July" too many times *g* but I still think with Rodney by his side he would be less likely to give into the darker urges. Of course if you split them up!!! LOL! Anyway I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: You were right in saying that John still respects the military, and he will always continue to do so. I think our John in canon also respects the military--he just doesn't respect authority figures :)--because you don't need to stay in the military in order to fly so there had to be something about the military that kept John in for so long. As for telling the brass that Rodney is his boyfriend, it still hasn't hit John that he is allowed to be open about his relationship with Rodney. That little realization will come very soon, I promise. Concerning John's pension, yes, money will become a issue when they get home and will be addressed in future chapters. As for your last point, John will have moments of frustration, anger and humiliation when they get home, but Rodney will never let John dwell on these moments. In this way, John will always be able to keep bitterness at bay. As always, thanks so much for taking the time to review and I'm thrilled you enjoyed it!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
15 Mar 2007 11:08 pm
Sob... that is *so* sad. When John had to give his tags back.... Not fair! Thank god Rodney is (almost) hanging in there.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, John having to give his tags back was darn hard to write, but it had to be done, right? But Rodney is John's rock (even if he has his own little freak-outs in hidden rooms. He's allowed to freak-out from time to time too). Thanks for reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy the story!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 11:03 am
yet an other great chapter you must have done quite a bit of research for this chapter. felt so sory for john when they took his dog tags of him. Rodney was just amazing learning evrything so he could tell john.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I did a LOT of research for this story. I knew nothing about paraplegics asides from the fact that they use wheelchairs so I knew that I would have to do my homework thoroughly before starting. I'm so glad you noticed the work I put in! And yes, Rodney is an amazing person. He loves John and John has been his life for years, so if he has to learn how to do some strange things to make John's life a little more normal, then he'll do it. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: scifichild (Signed)
15 Mar 2007 10:44 am
i loved it before, but i love it even more now. the quality of the whole storyline and the way u have portrayed it is wonderful, i especially like the bit with the dog tags in this chapter. ur true to nature of the story, and the fact tht there is no easy 'fix it' makes it so compelling. great work *is in awe*

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked this chapter. I wanted to make this story as real as possible, and unfortunately, that means taking the sky and his tags away from John permanently. Some soldiers don't konw what to do with themselves once they lose their tags (especially if they don't have a choice about giving them up). The rest of story will explore how John deals with the rest of his life without those tags around his neck.
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: lavvyan (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 7:56 am
This story is killing me. Really, it is. *marvels*

Author's Response: *grins* Thank you! I've read quite a few of your stories and I absolutely loved them! 'A Knife's Blade' was fantastic. I'm so flattered you like my little story so far! Thanks for taking the time to review!
Losing the Sky
You must login (register) to review.