RSS
Reviews For Fading Skies

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: ghfan98 (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 7:03 am
Oh, that was so painful to read. I hope that Rodney is able to figure out some way for John to fly again.

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about the sadness. There's no nicer way to deal with a story like this. I'm sorry to tell you that no, John won't ever fly again, but like Rodney said, he's going to do his best to make John's life on the ground worthwhile. You'll have to see how he goes about doing that :) Thanks for reviewing!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: mrskeeler (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 6:45 am
Oh, this is wonderful! I really hope Rodney can help Shep through this and that their relationship will end up even stronger for it. You certainly have them going through so much anguish and I have to say that it is fabulous. I am eagerly anticipating your next chapter.

Author's Response: I do love putting characters through the wringer. I'm glad to hear you love reading about it. Yes, Rodney will continue being John's rock throughout his entire recovery and for years afterwards. Their relationship will change in certain ways but in the most important ways, it'll stay exactly the same. Thank you for taking the time to review and I hope you'll enjoy future chapters!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 5:48 am
Ahh, you just love to make me teary-eyed don't you. Tender, loving, funny and heart breaking all in one chapter. Great job, keep it coming.

Author's Response: Yup, I love making people cry *evil laugh* I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you continue to like the story.
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2007 2:11 am
Nothing like reality coming crashing in. :( Wonderful writing. Heartfelt and touching. Keep it up.

Author's Response: As always, thank you. Yes, reality sucks when it comes barrelling in, doesn't it? Things won't get much more cheerful in the next chapter, but I can tell you that they go back home in the next chapter. Surely that means things will get better, right? ;)
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Djinanna (Signed)
15 Mar 2007 12:35 am
*whimper* Oh, that was painful. Poor John. It's good that Rodney has pulled himself together in the aftermath of his bathroom breakdown and pep talk from Jeanie. Also good is that they're on a schedule where one freaks out while the other stays calm, then they reverse. Hopefully they'll be able to stay sync'd like that. I think the most painful part was when John had to turn in his dogtags. Actually, I'd never really thought about it very hard, but kinda assumed one got to keep them. I have this mental image of John in a racing 'chair - like at some future point. And I keep wondering about what kind of adaptations could be made to a plane - if they can do it for a car, then... If only John knew a brilliant engineer/astrophysicist, eh? Oh yeah... Of course, we'll see what you actually have planned eventually. I'm really hoping for lots more of this 'verse, really getting to see them go through the whole initial adaptation and move on into creating a life together and finding John a career and so on. And finally, since it's hard to have an actual dialog in these review pages, I looked for you over on LiveJournal to maybe chat more about this story there, but your journal's all neglected (kinda like mine these days). Again looking forward to future installments!

Author's Response: LOL! Yeah, John and Rodney do tend to have their freak-outs on a good alternating schedule, right? You know, I thought about letting John keep his tags, but I thought for safety's sake, they probably do make people turn their tags in. So soldiers who have been discharged for medical reasons such as severe mental disorders don't go around pretending to still be in the service. Concerning Rodney making John a plane or a car that he could drive or fly, I really thought about it. I even wrote a scene where Rodney and his students make John a powerchair. But then I decided that the point of the story isn't how John went back to his old life with new toys but rather how John made himself a new life without his old toys. Concerning my LJ, I mainly just use it to put up links to stories that I finished which I put up on my website. I'm going to wait until this one is done and fully tweaked before I make it all pretty and put it up there. But having said that, I love chatting about stories and anytime you want to chat or complain or ask something, just email me (diamondraven@telus.net). I'd love to chat with ya! Thanks again for taking the time to review and I hope you continue to like the story!
Losing the Sky
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
09 Mar 2007 12:20 am
I'm so glad to see an update. I usually wait to start stories after they're finished, but this caught my eye and I'm so hooked. I loved how Jeanie was able to help Rodney figure things out and it was a good but tough first obstecale in the long road to 'normal' but I look forward to more. You're doing a great job and I'm realy enjoying this.

Author's Response: Thank you for deciding to give it a shot, even if it's a WIP. I'm glad to hear you liked Jeannie and Rodney's conversation. I loved seeing Jeannie on the show and I find that not even writers are incorporating her into stories, so I decided to make Jeannie an important part of the story. I'm absolutely thrilled you're enjoying it so far, and I promise I will try to update weekly. The plan is always for Wednesday. We'll see how well I'm going to stick to that. Keep your fingers crossed with me, okay?
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: Ida (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 5:13 pm
*tear* That was sweet. Not painless, but sweet. Thank you:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And yes, I sometimes think I'm incapable of writing painless things. That's a good thing...right?
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
08 Mar 2007 5:05 pm
Truly excellent. Rodney's meltdown is honest, but when he hits John on the back of the head, it's real. And shouting at each other is part of the love. Sigh. Nive work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I do try to keep their relationship as real as possible and I'm glad to hear that you think I'm pulling it off. Rodney knows that he's freaking out and he's lost, but also knows that he can't let John clue into that, because if both of them fall apart, nothing will ever come close to being fixed, right?
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 4:39 pm
Interesting chapter, not sure about his conversation with Jeannie (and am I the only one who really hates it when she calls him Merr... sure it is cannon but I hate it:P) anyway I did like the talk John and Rodney had to have about whether Rodney would stay with him or not. I don't think it ends there, right? Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: *grins* I kinda like her calling him Mer. When he introduces himself as Dr. McKay, everybody immediately looks up to him and puts him on a pedestal so to speak, but with Jeannie calling him Mer, she's reminding him that he's just another guy and he needs to remember that even though he has a brain the size of a galaxy, he has to try to keep his feet on the ground. I'm thrilled to hear you liked the conversation John had with Rodney. There's going to be lots of those coming up later, always triggered by John's insecurities. And no, rest assured, this isn't the ending by far. We have LOTS more ground to cover. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 4:34 pm
so glad you added more so fast this going great so far cant wait for the next part

Author's Response: Thank you! Writing has been going really, really well for this fic and I'm going to try my hardest to keep updating weekly.
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: Risha (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 4:32 pm
Aw, damn, now I'm crying! At work! Very nice stuff. Powerful.

Author's Response: Sorry *hands over the tissue box*. I should learn to put some more warnings at the top of certain chapters, like: Don't read at work, or Have tissues ready. Thanks for reviewing! I'm thrilled you're enjoying it so far!
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 3:26 pm
Step one is always the hardest. :) Well written. Looking forward to the next piece.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, step one is definitely the hardest. Not to say that the other steps will be much easier, but you'll see that later. We have LOTS more rehab to get through. Thanks again and I'll be updating in about a week.
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2007 2:52 pm
Seriously good chapter. You know, of course that rehab never goes a smoothly or quickly as one thinks it should. What I love about Rodney is his ability to carry on, no matter how freaked out he gets. Good ol' Jeannie sure gives good advice. Love the honesty in using the word paraplegic in John's presence. Looking forward to more. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you as always! I'm thrilled that you're still enjoying it. We've got lots more rehab to get through but soon, it'll be time to go back home, and that's when the reality of John's disability will really start to sink in. Not that he's going to have an easy time until then, but you know what I mean. I completely agree with you that one of Rodney's most amazing qualities is his strength, but at the same time, Rodney does tend to freak out over stressful situations, but once he gets his feet under him, he's good to go. Jeannie helped orient those feet. And yes, I'm so thrilled to see that you noticed Rodney using the word 'paraplegic' infront of John. Some people might think it's a small thing, but I'm glad you noticed how huge of a deal that was. Seeing that people like you notice these things make writing such an absolute joy! Thanks again!
Finding New Variables
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
07 Mar 2007 3:31 am
So hard to reply here... But I absolutely agree that John & Rodney will have to adjust to their new life together and John inperticular to his own personal circumstances, both physically and mentally, before any *cough* sex *cough* happens. But I have no idea how long you are going to make your fic so I wanted to at least know somewhere they would get back that important and I think necessary part of their relationship. Even if it is just in hints... Ooh there be much angst then? Anyway it sounds like a long fic? I hope so :)

Author's Response: I'm guessing it'll be at least ten chapters long. But don't quote me on that. I tend to be off by about five chapters at least :)
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: xaveriijade (Anonymous)
06 Mar 2007 2:21 pm
Wow, I really love this story. I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll be updating as soon as I finish tweaking the next chapter. It'll be ready in a few hours :) Thanks for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Time and Tide (Anonymous)
04 Mar 2007 4:19 pm
I am loving this fic. I am glad you are not going for miracles or quick fixes, I would feel robbed if you did! :) I am not usually into H/C types of fics but I will give any fic a chance and I am relieved that your fic is a serious take on this situation. Also to make it John be the one to go through this is not only more realistic but I think Rodney is in many ways more resilient then John and that is what I think will see them through this, I mean Rodney does literally have very broad shoulders to lean on and he is can be very determined. Am I wrong to be thinking about teh sex! LOL! Will you have "that" explored as well? I hope so as it is an important part of their relationship and this shouldn't sideline it forever :( I can't wait for the next chapter, thanks for posting.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I am a huge fan of H/C fics, but I despise sob-fests with no good context or plot. I'm glad to hear that apparently, I'm not guilty of writing what I hate reading :) I absolutely agree with you that Rodney is a more resilient person than John is in these situations. During situations dealing with short term stress (such as combat), John has his training to keep him calm and in control, but in long-term stress situations (such as finding out that you will never walk again), John pretends the situation doesn't exist and later falls completely apart when he can't deny it anymore. Rodney is the type of person who I think would deal much better with situations that he knows he can't change and that he has to face and adjust to, and live with. You'll be seeing this addressed again and again during this story as Rodney becomes the person John depends on for absolutely everything. Concerning "that" *cough* sex *cough*, yes, "that" will be addressed but not for a little while. Learning how to get himself dressed and other such daily things will be on the top of the list before sex. I totally agree with you that of course, it's an essential part of their relationship and I promise you, it will be addressed. However, many people aren't overly fond of reading graphic slash scenes (strange, strange people ;) ) and I don't want to turn them away from the story by focusing too much on the sex, since that really isn't the point of the story, right? Not to mention that this is my first slash story and writing the one slash scene took forever. Let's just say, I'll put in the sex when it's necessary for plot development, but I'll just hint at it the rest of the time. Sorry if you were expecting more, but I've never been brave enough to try my hand at a story driven by too much sex. We can get our fixes by reading thousands of very well written PWPs, right? ;) Thanks again for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Djinanna (Signed)
03 Mar 2007 5:28 am
Rodney's reaction to the first phone call was a beautiful depiction of that kind of shock. The whole "world went away" description is *exactly* what happens at moments like that. I especially liked how the officer on the other end had him write things down, even though he wasn't comprehending at that moment - and your little detail that he spoke slowly and clearly. And I really like his neighbor now, for her practical and compassionate reaction. And yay! for taking care of Cat (you and her). John's denial is very realistic, that detachment and stubbornness very *him*. It was pretty clear that, when his denial got broken, it was gonna be a *big* reaction. Your description of him, half-splayed out and half-huddled, evoked the classic "broken doll" image without using the cliched phrasing. Brava! And Rodney and the 2nd phone call - I wondered at first if he'd gone to sleep with his street clothes on. But - clad only in his boxers and ratty t-shirt (and his shoes), running into the hospital, *such* a mental image! And his love for and knowledge of John came across so strongly in the competent way he handled him, however uncertain he was about what to do. I've been in a few of those situations - shock at a tragedy, denial of a medical diagnosis - and you really captured the experiences. I kept nodding as I read, thinking "yes, that's how I felt". Finally, as I tried to indicate above, your imagery evokes whatever images/events/actions you're describing clearly without excess verbiage. Lovely.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! As a writer, I love putting little things into my stories and I always hope that people will stop and notice them without me having to point them out. Readers like you leave me feeling reassured that I don't have to spoon-feed everything and that the little things that I put in aren't going unnoticed. That makes me feel absolutely wonderful. I'm thrilled you thought both John and Rodney's reactions were appropriate. I've never been in any such situation and I just wrote what I thought these two wonderful characters would actually do and I'm thrilled to hear that I'm apparently, I'm on the right track. Thanks again for taking the time to write such an absolutely wonderful review! You are the people I love writing for because I always love finding people with whom I can blab on and on about stories with! Thanks again, and I'll be updating on about Wednesday!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
02 Mar 2007 4:30 pm
i dont what to say poor john and rodney this chapter was realy ful og angst and emotion please add more soon

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll be updating next Wednesday!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: BLV (Anonymous)
02 Mar 2007 8:22 am
Another great chapter! Dead-on characterization, and a very realistic reaction on John's part... the denial and his behavior at the news that he lost the use of his legs is very good. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm thrilled you thought John's reaction to the news about his paralysis was believable. He really doesn't seem the type to just accept something bad and move on. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Sweet Denial
Reviewer: Haley Teague (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2007 9:09 pm
This story breaks my heart. And it's so good -- I eagerly await the next installment.

Author's Response: Thank you! The next update will be in about a week.
Sweet Denial
You must login (register) to review.