RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: bironic (Anonymous)
26 Apr 2008 10:11 pm
Figured I'd round things out and read the only other of your fics I hadn't yet. Hoo boy, you do quiet, inevitable horror so very well. I didn't know if or how they were going to get out of this. Excellent.
Reviewer: random_lurker (Signed)
23 Nov 2007 6:50 am
This is totally a missing episode. Fantastic job on plot and characterization.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Reviewer: Emma (Signed)
17 Jul 2007 3:02 pm
Terrific story. Any more Daniel/Rodney stories in mind?

Author's Response: Nothing right now, but who knows? they are awfully fun to write.
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
06 Jul 2007 11:27 pm
This is one of the BEST sga/sg1 stories I've ever read. I love to see the characters can attract trouble even on Earth. Please write more like this one :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed.
Reviewer: Becca (Anonymous)
14 Jun 2007 10:08 pm
Fantastic. No other words for this great piece of fiction.

Author's Response: Thanks! It was fun to write.
Reviewer: eve11 (Anonymous)
24 May 2007 6:22 pm
What a great, creepy, suspenseful tale! I love your Rodney voice, esp. "do-overs in life." lol! Fantastic ride, thanks :)

Author's Response: Rodney is a writer's joy, isn't he ?
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
28 Feb 2007 3:29 pm
Very nice. Little Snopes girl, you won't be so little very soon. You made me cringe with how Rodney was acting in the diner & Lida's B&B. It would be very hard for the SG1 or SGA team members to not be paranoid. Liked your story very much. Hope that you'll do more.

Author's Response: That's the fun of Rodney-- Our heroes just don't tend to be assholes.
Reviewer: Dasha (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2007 11:53 am
A lot of American texual horror hinges on urban/rural tension and our deep ambivalance about the South. Very few of them unpack this baggage and hold the individual componants up where they can be noticed by readers and poked at. This isn't just a story that scares the crap out of us. It also makes us take a good look at how we see ourselves. Also--and I like this a lot--Martha makes one of the big, silly cliches of horror utterly convincing and scary:(Spoiler Warning, eeek! Run away!) you pull out one of the oldest ones in the book: the hotel that makes guests disapear. Ha! Perfect! It is completely convincing that this sort of bad guy would use this sort of mechanism to keep the little fifedom intact! Double ha! "'Relax,' said the night man. We are programmed to receive. You can checkout any time you like, but you can never leave: Welcome to the Hotel California!" So fantastic! Just wonderful.

Author's Response: This is heady stuff. It thrills me that this story is so dense in your eyes. Thank you for the gorgeous review.
Reviewer: Bunny (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2007 9:35 am
Yes, letting Rodney and Daniel out together, with no back-up is probably asking for it.

Author's Response: No question
Reviewer: Sarah (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2007 4:19 am
Yes, it is me again...I just read my previous post, and out of everything I could have mentioned about your story, I somehow deemed the horses more worthy of precedence before the Exu. And by the way, there is no way this story can get away with a G rating! (In the best possible way of course) Hmm...lot of ways. OK, it is 5 AM here in the south in a state that is far too close to the one in which your story takes place. *whimpers* Hold me?
Reviewer: Sarah (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2007 4:11 am
holy shit...i am just blown away. i can't even form words...i am like, dying...that was like some really awesome episode of the X-Files...I could see the Courier font scrolling across the bottom left-hand side of the screen...omgomgomgomgom so freakin amazing i can't even string together a single intelligible thought! spot on characterization...the horses, and the Exu...DID NOT SEE THAT COMING. All the detail, and the research you must have put in to this...wow. amazing.

Author's Response: Glad it was fun!
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2007 10:39 pm
Daniel and Rodney whumped and heroic! My two favorite 'gate guys together in a great old-fashioned Southern creepfest. It just doesn't get any better than this. Hope you will pair the guys again, you really have captured their personalities. Thanks

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed!
Reviewer: dg (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2007 10:31 pm
Great story! Daniel and Rodney really should have a well-trained military escort wherever they go. They were so Daniel and Rodney in this, too. Sweet, well-mannered Daniel and grumpy, single-minded Rodney(wherever will they get that receipt now?). This story was so well-plotted and fast paced. There is nothing so creepy/scary as the initial semblance of normacy. Great read. Look forward to more of your work. Thanks.

Author's Response: And I'm sure Rodney will let Daniel know about that receipt, too!
Reviewer: nat (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2007 7:05 pm
I loved this story for the horror touches and character interaction. Your Rodney was wonderful. This story will also hold a special place in my heart for reminding me of a family trip from New Orleans to Indiana wherein the water pump on our car died. The mechanics in a small town in Mississippi put 3" body bolts in the new water pump (needless to say we broke down again two states later). Now I have an alternate theory on their ineptitude - the town was under the control of a Goa'uld. Thank you, thank you.

Author's Response: Right -- so actually, you were lucky to get 2 states away!
Reviewer: The Schizophrenic Gatekeeper (Signed)
27 Feb 2007 4:10 pm
Very nice! Brilliant in fact. You just gotta love Rodney. :D
Reviewer: The Schizophrenic Gatekeeper (Signed)
27 Feb 2007 4:06 pm
Very nice! Brilliant in fact. You just gotta love Rodney. :D

Author's Response: Well, right. And I do.
Reviewer: mandy (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2007 5:21 am
Delightfully creepy. Loved the little hints of something amiss in the diner scene. And I could actually hear the thunderous steps as Lida stalked her victims. And you ended it the good ol' scary-movie way: that thing's not dead!

Author's Response: so glad you liked the horror movie touches! They were fun to write.
Reviewer: Khyrra (Signed)
26 Feb 2007 11:45 pm
"This whole thing was insane, straight out of those Saturday night Scifi Channel movies Teal'c liked so much." Ha! He so does. Great fic.

Author's Response: And Jack probably encourages him!
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
26 Feb 2007 9:47 pm
A decaying small town with a dark secret, in the best Lovecraftian tradition...plus Daniel Jackson and the incomparable (literally!) Rodney McKay...I knew Chatsworth would never be the same again! I enjoyed this story so much. I went to bed directly after reading it and slept like a log. Thank you!

Author's Response: I'm laughing! Glad to be such an effective sleep aid! I tend towards insomnia, too, and am always very glad for a good night's sleep.
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
26 Feb 2007 6:28 pm
*standing ovation and wild cheering* That was awesome! LOVED the whumping and hero Rodney *hapy sigh* Not to mention that the story was very well written. The imagery and descriptions made me feel and experience everything with all of my sense. Fantastic job! Thanks!

Author's Response: Oh, wow -- so, so glad you enjoyed.
You must login (register) to review.