RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Signed)
07 Mar 2012 9:00 pm
I feel like I can't possibly do justice to your wonderful work of love and enormous gift to us. I started reading this way back when you were still in the process of writing it--in fact, I think that's when we became friends on LJ--and then I fell away from the SGA fandom and life intervened. By one of those quirks of life, I'm rewatching SGA again and had always regretted never finishing this tale, had always meant to come back to it. And here I am now, so very glad that I did and wishing I had words to describe how thoroughly mesmerizing and incredible this tale is.

The worlds you've created--every one of them, though Selket ascendent, of course--are brilliantly realized down to every nuance and detail but without being overburdened by too much description or Captain Exposition moments. I'm so impressed with how you make the world entire and whole and real through little things, through every detail, without belaboring any point. That's such talent, truly.

And then there's the characterization! I've always enjoyed stories in which John suffers something life-altering, but I've never really found one in which he's damaged but still credible, if that makes sense? That is, he survives this terrible, terrible thing, and yes, he's damaged, surely changed beyond recall, but not not-John, not fundamentally different in the way that most matters. And the development of his relationship with Rodney, who is also gloriously developed and rounded here, that relationship is so perfectly paced, so brilliantly evocative of the struggle, compromise, give-and-take, pull-and-push of not only relationships in general but relationships wrought by trauma or that share trauma. I'm sure I'm not explaining myself clearly, so let me just say it's brilliant and hope you'll take my meaning.

Thank you for a thoroughly enthralling, gorgeously realized story. I didn't want it to end, and when it did, it was with a bittersweetness not only for John and Rodney's denouement but for the story itself having finished.

Bravo! Bravo! Author! Author!
Epilogue
Reviewer: Fran Cable (Signed)
18 Nov 2011 11:48 pm
Wow. I am not a fan of Stargate really. I do enjoy slavefic. I found this story online on the Titanium Whip Awards site. It ended there at the end of the Numb chapter. That was earlier this week. I was fortunate enough to find this site and the rest of the story, This story was so well written, for fanfic and even for some published works I read. The characters became alive to me and the depth of their relationship touched me. It actually spoiled me for most of the other stories on this site because I don't want my memory of their relationship tainted. GREAT STORY!!!!
The Market
Reviewer: Formaldehyde (Signed)
18 Aug 2010 10:02 pm
This fic is just amazing. I laughed with/for them, I cried with/for them, it was like I was there with them through it all. Your writing is amazing and this work just takes my breath away. Thank you so much.
The Market
Reviewer: lucyC (Anonymous)
13 Apr 2010 7:15 am
this is just the best story ever xxx
The Market
Reviewer: Gabe (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2010 2:49 am
I don't think I will ever read a story quite like yours ever again. Nor I think would I ever want to. It was brilliant, harsh and for lack of a better word' real. Nothing could be faulted and the end was less of a simple ending, than of a long completion beautifully mastered and presented.
Epilogue
Reviewer: ladyjanus (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2010 9:20 pm
This was so good. Made me cry, made me sick, made me jealous of your skill. This is a kick-ass piece of work.

And then, after going back and looking at some of your other stuff, I realized that I have been a fan for a long, long time. And I am grateful that you are still writing, still turning out such lovely, wickedly good stuff. I'm looking forward to reading some of the newer stories.

Keep it up. You have an appreciative audience out here
Epilogue
Reviewer: Virginia (Anonymous)
09 Jan 2010 4:03 pm
Incredible. Awsome. Distressing. Completely traceable. Vai. Sorry, but I am at a complete loss of words right now. Such a beautiful piece of fanfiction. Thank you so much for sharing it.
It was more than a pleasure to read and suffer through the story along with all those perfectly drawn characters. Thanks again.
The Market
Reviewer: Brom (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2009 7:21 pm
This is probably the best work of fiction I have ever encounetered. I just finished listening to the podfic and it moved me more than I though possible. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
The Haralim
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2009 4:06 am
Wow! This story just blew me away! Absolutely captivating -loved the whole thing. Brilliantly written -I felt I was there with them through all their heartache and horrors. I could tell once they escaped that somehow things were going to be bad back on atlantis but didn't get just how bad they were going to be -I wanted to cry and rage at the same time. Loved the ending even though it made me cry. Please keep writing- your work really is truly amazing.
The Market
Reviewer: CherryClover (Anonymous)
30 Oct 2009 6:34 am
HIHi
I absolutely love it :)
By the way is there someone who did a sequal?
The Market
Reviewer: Seliki (Anonymous)
26 Oct 2009 10:51 pm
This is really the most awesome story. John finds Rodney up with the glowy squid club givin them hell right?
Epilogue
Reviewer: Kiara (Anonymous)
29 Aug 2009 9:45 am
I think it was the best I've read so far. It was captivating, and I loved the way you made the characters. I regreted having to stop in-between chapters. I'm now going to read the rest of the stories in the series, but I had to tell you: you did an amazing job! I think I've re-read some parts of this story ten times. And the ending was perfect, I almost cried. It was so sweet. Anyway, enough of my rambling. Again, congratulations, and I'll start reading more of your work. Kisses, Kiara.
Epilogue
Reviewer: mific (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2009 8:49 pm
I'm not a wraithbait member so hope I can submit a review. Just discovered this novel and have, as so many others before me, been completely immersed, reading it obsessively until I finished it.
A great story, very well written, wonderful characterizations and detail about the psychological experience of slavery, then their (even more traumatizing) treatment back at Atlantis. It rang very true to life and I guess was also about how stupid systems and authorities re-traumatize the abused. Also surprisingly exciting with the escape from Atlantis, and deeply satisfying ending thereafter. Will be high on my favorites list. THanks for writing it. - mific (on dw/LJ)
The Market
Reviewer: Raleigh (Anonymous)
29 Jun 2009 12:01 am
I spent an entire weekend reading this fic, to the detriment of all of my household chores. I hope you're happy!

This is the first really good, in character, h/c McShep story I've read. Maybe ever. You are an amazing writer!
The Market
Reviewer: Franavu (Anonymous)
07 Jun 2009 6:10 am
Wow, just ,you know, wow
Epilogue
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
06 Jun 2009 8:40 pm
That was one of the greatest fanfics I have ever read. You are an amazing author it actually felt like you knew what you were doing. The characters were great and you integrated the slash with out it being overly about it. It was a wonderful love story.
Usually with stories this long I get bored, but I just kept on reading it.
Again great job and I will look forward to future works by you.
The Market
Reviewer: ashnix (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2008 2:22 pm
this is my favourite story ever. I love it, habe read it so many times and it never gets old. xxx
Epilogue
Reviewer: beachlass (Anonymous)
23 Oct 2008 9:20 am
So.

I stayed up way too late last night reading this - my eyes are still bleary this morning.

It's a really good hurt/comfort sold-into-slavery story... you made me believe it, and you gave the reader these terrific OCs, and kept building and shifting the balance of fear and coercion and adaptation... and then Teyla arrived.

And the story became great.

Because you nailed it, and brought me something very different than I've read in fanfic. It wasn't unfamiliar, though - because you did it so well, and I felt the underpinnings of the very real ways people respond and are changed by capture and torture. From the way John and Rodney are now so attuned to everyone's responses, to the slipping back into Selketi language (sometimes intentional), to the fear and flashbacks... it was all so well put together and written.

I thought the story was beautifully paced (I imagine that's quite a feat with a story this long), the resolution gave me exactly what I needed, and everything was so vividly described that I can close my eyes and see the cities and rooms - see Bint, and Tein and everyone.

It's a remarkable story. Thank you so much.
Epilogue
Reviewer: azureavian (Anonymous)
04 Oct 2008 6:48 pm
OMG you are awesome in several different ways. this must have been a labour of love and taken so much time and heart and energy to have wrung so much emotion and detail into a story this grand. i'm looking forward to spin-offs and sequels if anyone feels up to following this.
The Market
Reviewer: ultimatemarysue (Anonymous)
06 Jul 2008 2:29 pm
This was absolutely brilliant. I was actually looking for some mindless pron when I found it and ended up staying up until 8 am to finish it.

Beautifully written. Thanks.
Epilogue
You must login (register) to review.