RSS
Reviews For Enigma

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: CritterOne (Signed)
05 Jul 2011 8:56 pm
Just an incredible story! Thank you so much for writing it. You have the characters down perfectly.

Author's Response: Thank you! That's the greatest compliment anyone can give me. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: SlashGirl88 (Signed)
08 Aug 2010 2:38 pm
I love this story. But I cried like never before! My dad heard me from downstairs and came to check on me!!

Anyway. *blush* I love that in the end, they were together and happy. But so terribly sad that Shep died. I understand why. But I was hoping.

I love this histroy in this. I'm a history major and I love love love WWII history. My favorite by far. I have been to London and Westminster Abbey. I didn't go to the IWM, but I was able to go to Winston Churchill's Museum. Amazing. It was interesting for me to learn that he grew up and was buried not far from where I was living at the time. (I was living in Oxford.)

Anyway, back to the story...Amazing job!

Author's Response: The history just sucks you in, doesn't it? The dream sequence was only supposed to be a little portion of the story and then it grew until I thought it was the entire story! But I couldn't leave things so sad in the end! I don't know whether I should be proud or sorry that I reduced you to tears, but I think on the whole, 'pleased' wins. So glad you liked this--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: esgaril (Anonymous)
04 Jan 2010 2:43 pm
It's beautiful. You made me cry. Thank you.

Author's Response: I feel like I shouldn't be pleased I made you cry, if you know what I mean! But I'm glad this story had such a powerful effect on you--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Gracen (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2009 3:33 pm
In truth a beautiful story, full of emotion, well thought and written, I greatly look forward to reading more of your work

Author's Response: What a very nice thing to say--thank you so very much! :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Darkmuadib (Anonymous)
05 Aug 2008 8:04 pm
OHHHH And I forgot to mention, but I loved the whole part about Teyla, I could easily visualize the whole sequence and you really captured teyla's beauty and strength, and again that discussion about Shep, again heartbreaking.

And I really loved the way Mac was pigheaded and stood up for Zelenka(and how that started the friendship).

And (my god i may have to quote the whole fic)...That simple terse note from Shep, how he addressed Mac as R, and himself as J, making it intimate and more effective than a long verbose letter(and not john's style). The simple declaration of love. It was just devastating.

Author's Response: *points to FB, nods and grins speechlessly*rnrnTHANKS!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: darkmuadib (Anonymous)
05 Aug 2008 7:31 pm
Just wanted to say, I probably commented about this story in feedback to other fics, but I am surprised I didnt say it here. I really loved this, and while the dream sequence is just a dream seqeuence... it does not lessen the impact in my mind.

It feels like a real AU with a bitter(I am hesistant to add sweet here) ending, where Atlantis Rodney was just a viewer, and learned an important lesson from it and apply it to his own life. I am not sure I am making sense, I mean that what happened between Mac and Shep felt as real if it had happened between Rodney and John on Atlantis. That a John Sheppard really did die.

Even before Shep's death, when Mac fought with Shep and Shep said there is no us, my heart just really broke, and with that drive back from the cottage, that was really heartbreaking, because that was it. I wonder what would Mac would have done after Shep's death.

What happened on that planet was great too, I really loved a look at John with his almost boyish interest in the planes. And I really loved the conversations Rodney had, especially when he told John of how felt he took unnecessary risk, and how John responded back it was because of the people depending on him that he took the risk. I also loved of how Rodney's fears concerning John, was what set off the dream sequence and was incorporated in.


I would love to see a small sequel fic to this where not only we get John and Rodney porn :P, but also what John's reaction to Rodney's dream would be. Although the fic is perfect the way it is, just can't help but imagine what happens afterwords.

I have to say this fic really stays wioth me, and is a big reason why I read fanfic. I really think that maybe you should put that AU as a separate story and keep it as a sort of sad/dark fic by itself, and I can imagine a good amount of people enjoying it like that.

Anyways that is all, just really really loved this and I read and loved all of your fics, but this could be my favourite fic.

Author's Response: It's been a while since I checked out the FB on some of these older stories and I have to say when I found your comments here today, I went 'wow!' inside. Every writer loves to hear what parts of a story stood out in the reader's mind. Your FB here truly has me grinning from ear to ear. And now you've got me *thinking*...always a dangerous and unpredictable thing. We'll have to see what comes of that. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Shaddyr (Signed)
22 Feb 2008 1:42 am
What a wonderful, wonderful story.

I love the way you entwine what John is going through into a dream about WWII. Amazing detail and research in that - and lovely little cameos by the other characters we love.

I was devastated with John died. I loved how Radek sent him off and how he begged Paddy to live for him and John - heartbreaking, poignant and beautiful.

Ahh, Rodney. The timing does rather suck. And now John has something to live for that is all for him.

Also. I damn near died laughing at all the brilliant lines - Rodney telling John to read the fine print, for example. OMG. You're a genius, and I love your big sexy writer brain *SO MUCH*

Author's Response: Thank you for such a glowing review! You made me laugh out loud and it was a nice way to finish off a rough day at work. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Squeaky (Signed)
17 Nov 2007 6:40 pm
This was an incredibly well-written and moving story. Thanks so much. Sq.

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
13 Nov 2007 2:51 am
Love the story for many reasons. John and Rodney, love anything to do with WWII and of all aircraft ever built, while inherently know to blow due to fuel tank placement...the Spitfires are truly loved...currently one being restored at base. This story is very nice piece of history. Great job, both of you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really got involved in the research on this one and was appalled at my lack of understanding the sacrifices that were made during this time. It really helped too to have a detailed oriented beta to supply the place names and squadron details for the finishing touches. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sheppardesses (Signed)
31 Oct 2007 8:20 pm
...wow. I sat and cried through sections of this, then sniffed and cheered, then cried again! Very realistic, absolutely perfect characterisation.... wonderful! Reminded me of my school days studying WW1 poetry - and a visit to the Imperial War Museum which left me traumatised. (That means your fic was good, really!) We have an old family friend who flew in the American Air Force based in Britain during WW2, and it was so reminiscent of what he told me! Hope you don't mind, but it helped inspire a wee ficlet of my own, i simply couldn't get the story out of my mind!

Author's Response: Of course I don't mind! I'm really flattered and pleased that the story struck a cord with you. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Leah (Signed)
27 Aug 2007 10:47 pm
Can't believe I forgot to leave a review for this. This story haunted me for days. I rarely cry at fics, but believe me, this one had me in tears. Somehow the fact that it was a dream didn't mitigate the agony of it at all. John's note to Rodney just killed me. You chose a perfect way for John to die, too, in any universe, and that was heartbreaking as well. I kept imagining a scene where Rodney actually told John his dream (in an attempt to exorcise it, because wow--that kind of dream would need it, eh?), and John blinked and said, 'no--you were the one who died, herding people out of a burning building during an air raid.' Impossible, I know, but hey, maybe it was something in the volcanic air. Anyway, I wanted to tell you how very much I loved this, tragic and heart-wrenching though it was. I'm just so glad that the 'real' universe gave John and Rodney a happy ending. Thank you.

Author's Response: Aw, see, this makes me so very happy--I've haunted someone and caused them to expand on the story with ideas of their own. Big cheesy grin here, cuz that's what happens to me when I really like a story. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: poppy (Anonymous)
31 Jul 2007 10:36 pm
fucking sexy heart wrenching fabulous and a bloody good read. THANKS VERY MUCH!

Author's Response: This review makes me grin from ear to ear every time I read it--thank *you* so very much!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Pinkpetunia (Signed)
27 Jul 2007 2:08 pm
This was great. I too searched out the sonnet :). I love a story where there's a character death that I can cry over, but it isn't real, and they get to live happily ever after. It felt authentic, though I haven't done much research with respect to fighter pilots - but certainly better detail than I've seen in movies.

Author's Response: Even though I whump hard and like to hurt the boys, I have a hard time with 'permanent' character death myself. (wink, wink, hints for any future stories). I'm so glad it felt authentic to you! Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
27 Jul 2007 12:12 am
This was great and I espeically loved the dream sequence. I can see John as a WWII pilot. :)

Author's Response: That was the image in my mind that started the whole thing! :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
26 Jul 2007 8:51 pm
Lovely story. I enjoyed the real-world plotline for their snarking and the simple joy they got from working together on something tangible with no interruptions, and, of course, for the sweet and hot ending. I'm glad Rodney decided to act on his epiphany and that John was keen to reciprocate.

As for Rodney's dream: Wow. Such detail- I can tell that a lot of time and effort was put into making it authentic. I loved how it came about from things casually mentioned in the waking world that Rodney's subconscious wove in with familiar faces. It was heartbreaking to watch them get so close, to see Rodney put so much effort into getting through John's walls- succeeding with that one hot, sweet night- only to ultimately change nothing and never get the chance to try again. Very bittersweet.

Laura.

Author's Response: Okay, so your review has my sniffing in my corner, muttering "ohmygod, it *was* sad" to myself! I am so very glad you liked this piece. I was fortunate to have an excellent beta who never seemed to mind when I would demand the name of an appropriate locale at odd hours of the night or help hunt down the origin and history of dog tags and actually took the time on a London trip to go to the Imperial War Museum. Those little details helped so very much.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mel Buckley (Anonymous)
26 Jul 2007 10:32 am
Amazing, fantastic and as already stated ... stunned. A beautifully written story, that covers a period in time that I love and is so often mangled. Left me crying with tears of sorrow and joy, because so many were lost so that others could find love. Beautiful, just beautiful.

Author's Response: Oh, I am glad you enjoyed it! I was hoping that I stayed true to the period (as much as I could and still place the characters within it). For what was supposed to be a simple dream sequence, it became very important to me to get it right. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
26 Jul 2007 6:01 am
Major kudos for doing serious homework for this amazing story. The back story of John and Rodney could have stood alone, but I'm so glad you added the other parts so it had a much happier ending. I was all tear-eyed by the end of the back story and I liked how you tied it in to a possible real future for O'Neill...great job! Held me captive entirely and loved it very much.

Author's Response: Thank you! The more I began to read about the time period, the the more I was overwhelmed by the enormous sacrifices that were made during the Battle of Britain. I wanted to convey a little of the sense of awe and heartbreak I discovered along the way. I am so glad you liked it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ivanova (Anonymous)
26 Jul 2007 4:43 am
Marvellous, totally marvellous. Brought a tear to my eye. And so thoroughly researched while not beating us over the heads with dates and facts.

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to make it come alive, not bore people to death! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
26 Jul 2007 3:51 am
Wow. I really really liked this story. I even found the Sonnet online, and I have to say, it really is a beautiful sonney. I love it.

Author's Response: It *is* an amazing sonnet, isn't it? Sadly the author of it was killed just before the official end of WWI.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Scruffy (Signed)
26 Jul 2007 3:07 am
I'm kinda sitting here stunned. What a truely fantastic story. I bawled. TOtally. I'm a mess right now. Loved it.

Author's Response: Oh dear! (pats shoulder and pushes a box of kleenex in your direction) But a total mess in a *good* way, right? ;-)
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.