RSS
Reviews For Aegis

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Joey (Anonymous)
08 Apr 2010 11:09 am
Next time you do a 20K+ word story
Use a new invention
they are brilliant!
There called CHAPTERS

Author's Response: The story was originally written for the SGA Big Bang. Here's the URL: http://sgabigbang.talkoncorners.net/index.php rnrnYou might notice that none of the stories there have chapters, just scene breaks. We weren't going to add chapters to the story to put it here. Here's a BRILLIANT suggestion for you: If you don't like something, don't read it.
One of One
Reviewer: Shiv (Anonymous)
03 Aug 2009 5:34 pm
This was REALLY good! :D
Loved the Brendan Gall reference! Very sneaky =P

Author's Response: So happy you enjoyed it, Shiv! (Leah is the one responsible for Gall, and I'm sure she's delighted you enjoyed it!) wags, SW
One of One
Reviewer: Gothic_Sheep (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2009 5:19 pm
Holy flying mushrooms, that was incredible! The emotion, the characters, the sheer depth of the plot, it was fantastic...whoa, what a ride!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! We're so glad you liked it, and really appreciate you letting us know. :D
One of One
Reviewer: Reflex (Signed)
17 Feb 2009 8:19 pm
Words can not describe how happy I am with this story :D Yay for Ford and Grodin! Yay for Rodney's shield. Yay for successfully rewriting an entire season in a believable and greatly entertaining way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! We're truly glad that you enjoyed it. :D
One of One
Reviewer: Juniperbreezie (Anonymous)
15 Dec 2008 10:48 pm
This story was awesome. I could not stop reading it. Loved it!!!

Author's Response: That's wonderful to hear. Thank you so much. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: 2shy (Anonymous)
30 Jul 2008 4:11 pm
This is a wonderful story! Loved it. I believe I sat here for hours not blinking and gosh it was worth it! Loved the gifts and everything.This story truly rocks!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I`m really glad you enjoyed it! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: MJLuvsPolar (Signed)
27 Jun 2008 4:07 am
Amazing. I adore AU stories in general, SciFi AU stories in particular and this was was just...amazing! I loved the way you wove cannon through your own mythology , meshing 'real' Atlantis characters with their gifts was perhaps the biggest joy of this fic. Oh and I LOVED the little tilt to dueSouth - I really couldn't imagine Fraser as a mundane but giving him such a freakyly disgusting gift? Yeah that was LOL funny! I also really connected with the McShep aspect of 'Aegis'. Totally loved how screwed in the head John was AND the fact that I actually believed for more than half the fic that his touching *was* harmful. Rodney's vibrant appeal was so wonderfully deepened for us as we got to see it through Elizabeth's gift-enhanced 'eyes' and I loved the way that John saw/felt when he was connected to Rodney using the chair - hot curry indeed! Oh can you tell I loved this story? Yeah I really, really did. Fairly new to Atlantis fic but I've been reading fanfic for *years* and I rarely come across stories such as this one that satisfies me on so many levels. Thanks for sharing it.

MJ

Author's Response: I`m so sorry that we somehow missed this fantastic review, MJ! Thank you so, so much for your wonderful comments and your thoughts on the story. It was a lot of fun writing about the Gifts and how they worked and affected the characters who had them. I have to admit that writing Elizabeth was occasionally exhausting--everthing anyone said to her had an underlying current that had to be mentioned--but also extremely satisfying. And yes, it was impossible to think of the dS boys without Gifts, and since Benton tastes so much stuff off the street in canon (ugh!) that was instantly the perfect Gift for him. :) I`m very glad it made you smile.rnrnThank you again,rnrnLeah
One of One
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2008 5:19 am
I really enjoyed this. One of my favorite things was how everyone was saved -- this made me so very happy! Really good AU idea and good working in of the Gifts and how they changed things. The John/Rodney story was very moving. *hugs them* Good job!

Author's Response: so GLAD you enjoyed it! Leah and I agreed that this would be our fic where we would save as many people as we could. thank you for the nice review. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Jantique (Anonymous)
10 Mar 2008 1:51 pm
Other than simply providing entertaining fiction, what fanfiction at its best can do is Fix What Was Wrong With the Show. This story does that in more ways and places than I can mention, so let me just quote one line that I LOVE: when McKay says to Grodin, "Let's put it this way--I think there's room in the jumper for another spacesuit." That's marvelous!

Very well-written. I will be sure to look up your other stories. Keep up the good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Saving Grodin (whom we both loved) was a mutual idea, but the how of it was entirely the coolness of Springwoof. I was thinking of something far more complicated, when she said something like, 'wouldn't they just need another spacesuit?' And voila, Peter lived! I'm really glad you enjoyed that and the other fixes. :D
One of One
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
15 Feb 2008 6:06 pm
I've read t his story before and loved it then too. The only thing I noticed is that you have the ATA gene responsable for the Gift, which is a good idea, but in Cannon Radek and Elizabeth did not have the ATA gene and failed the therapy too...but it's an AU so not a big deal. Great story, totaly worth re-reading!

Author's Response: Very glad you enjoyed it! But yes, it is an AU, and that's why we took the liberty of giving far more people the ATA gene than in canon (in the show, Rodney doesn't have the gene either, until he gets Carson's therapy, eh?). In our version, many, many people have the gene, but most are latent either for Gifts or for the Ancient Technology activation, and Carson's therapy, when it works, actually 'turns on' the gene for one, the other, or (in Rodney's case), both. I'm sorry that wasn't clear to you. :) Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2008 1:09 am
Loved the story

Author's Response: Thank you! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: jackie_brown (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2007 4:52 am
Really interesting and enjoyable. i loved the way that each person's gift reflected traits we see in canon, you chose really well! But also the way that Rodney's gift transformed him from the so-called coward of canon that had the personal shield into someone who could and did save his friends. And I just wanted to smoosh John for thinking his touch could kill! Typical guy - maybe if he tried, oh I don't know - *calling* her?!

Author's Response: Thank you for your comment. :D I'm very glad you enjoyed the Gifts--giving Rodney a shield seemed like such a natural thing to me that I was actually surprised that no other writer who has given the SGA characters superpowers thought of it. But just so you know, I have never thought of him as a coward. To me, at least, it was obvious that Rodney was sure the personal shield was going to use up all its power while he was inside the creature, and he was going to die. His terror of that was all over his face, but he went and walked into the thing anyway. That's not a coward, that's a hero. :) I tried to keep the scenario the same in "Aegis" because the canon one impressed me so much. (I'm using 'I' only because I wrote that scene by myself.)rnrnJohn was perfectly happy to never hear from Babs again, eh? He just assumed that she'd move on with her life and he'd move on with his, and they'd both have nice memories and that would be that. He didn't think he was all that important or memorable, except for his Gift. And other than that, yes, he's a guy. :) Though I can be quite bad keeping in touch myself, come to think....rnrnThank you again,rnrnLeah
One of One
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
06 Dec 2007 6:03 pm
OH!!! Fantastic! I've just finished reading this and honestly think you two should start writing Atlantis episodes ;) And I loved the sketches
You lassies rock!

Author's Response: thank you for the kind words! The fabulous artists from the Big Bang challenge were kind enough to let us post their art along with the fic. Aren't they wonderful? wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: sparrowhawk17 (Signed)
23 Sep 2007 10:10 pm
I think that I have been trying to read this story for about two weeks, partially due to the fact that I was afraid of the ending. I finally finished and all I can say is just wow. This is probably the best story that I have ever read. It is such a plausible AU and that made is even so more real.

Thank you.

Author's Response: I am honoured that you were willing to finish the story, Sparrowhawk, considering how worried you were about it. Thank you! I'm also sorry that you were scared though, because Springwoof and I swore to each other that, in contrast to "The Body Holographic" we would make "Aegis" the 'Anti-Deathfic', in that (as you read), we saved as many canon characters as possible. :) And to read that this is the best story you ever read is just amazing and heart-warming. Thank you again! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: atlantisone (Signed)
11 Sep 2007 2:58 pm
Please tell me you will be writing more of this univerise. I abslutely fell in love with it. I like how the gifts you gave each character corresponds with their personalities. I also like that John has trouble excepting his gift, showing that everyone isn't happy with thier powers. While reading this, I kept thinking about how this univserse kinda parallels that of the X-men. You know people with powers. Some who excpet who they are and some who will do anything to change and become normal. Did they X-men inspirse you guys to write this universe, or is it just a coincednce? I'm just asking because John not excepting his gift and the whole not wanting people to touch him reminds me of Rouge and her powers and what happens when people touch her. Another question. Will thier gifts be growing? Will Rodney be able to create a sheild strong enough to protect Atlantis without having to lose so much energy? Anyway, love, love , love the story. I really do hope you guys continue this universe. Love the pics. I look forward to seeing Ronan. What powers will you be giving Lorne? Look forward to your next story.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so sorry I wasn't able to respond to this earlier, but I wanted to thank you very, very much for your extremely kind comment! Your taking the time and effort to do that is hugely appreciated.

rnrn

To answer your question, while we of course couldn't not think of the X-Men while we were writing this (especially characters like Rogue, for the reason you mentioned), I can honestly say we weren't inspired by those comics--except in that we especially tried not to copy a typical 'X-Man'-type power too closely for one of our character's Gifts.

rnrn

I'm afraid also that the Gifts are not going to get more powerful as time goes on. Rodney has pretty much reached the limit of how much he can shield, though his control will of course improve with practice. Conroy still has more to learn about how he can use his Gift, but he will never be able to hear the thoughts of more people than he already can at any given moment, nor ever turn his Gift 'off'.

rnrn

I hope that answers your questions! :) And yes, at least two sequels are in the works, though they will probably be much smaller in scope than this story (the first one certainly is). I've almost finished the first story, which I am writing without Springwoof, but with her blessing. :) Leah

One of One
Reviewer: AtlantisWanderer08 (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2007 5:21 pm
This story was brilliant. I enjoyed it very much and am antiscipating a sequel (if you decide to make one.)

The vulnerability you gave Sheppard was plausible and convincing. Rondey's stubborness to give up John was endearing.

I hope you guys continue to write, because you're terrific at it! I even cried at some parts. I think this stroy should be dubbed a classic! And, coming from me, that's a impressive compliment!

Brilliant. Waiting for more!!!!! ;D

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much! There will indeed be a sequel, possibly more than one, but I'm afraid it will take time before they see the light of day. But that doesn't change how thrilled I am to read that you'd like more of this universe! It was a labour of love to write, and I'm glad you've enjoyed it as much as e did. Saying this story should be a classic is definitely an impressive compliment. Thank you again. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Joolz (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2007 12:19 pm
Wow, what an awesome story! It's an impressive extrapolation of each of their personalities and behaviors into super powers. Congratulations on a fine achievement!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your wonderful comment warmed my heart. I'm really glad you liked it, and that what we were trying to achieve worked for you. Awesome! :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: atymer (Anonymous)
29 Aug 2007 6:55 pm
A really well done AU. Great plot, intricate character studies and all the emotional entanglement a reader has to have to love a story. I so hope to see more in this universe. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you! We're so glad you liked it, and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! You will indeed see more in this universe, though it may take awhile to finish the story we're planning. Thank you again. :) Leah
One of One
Reviewer: bistokidsfan (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2007 5:42 pm
One of the most unique, interesting & downright fun fics for SGA I've ever read. Your tormented John, irascible but totally lovable Rodney, and all the characters were just loverly. And, you saved Grodin & Markham - go you! I would read anything you read, you just blew me away with this. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you for such wonderful praise! I'm flattered and honoured. If you like, you can read my own stories here under 'Leah', and Springwoof's under 'Springwoof' in 'Authors'. We're thrilled to have blown you away, and thank you very much for letting us know. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: tricky1379 (Anonymous)
23 Aug 2007 8:03 am
this story is really amazing, once i had started to read this i just couldnt put it down, it was fantastic. I hope that you continue this and write season 2 cause this was really really good.

Author's Response: Thank you! That is wonderful praise and we really appreciate it. We do indeed have a sequel in the planning stages right now--it won't be all of season two, but will definitely take place there. Look for it in a few weeks...or months.... :) Leah
One of One
You must login (register) to review.