RSS
Reviews For Aegis

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
22 Aug 2007 7:48 pm
This story is so fabulous, I read it in one sitting, positively glued to the screen. You two make a great team.

I love the pictures, too - the one in the middle is so full of longing and despair, and the one at the end made me laugh. Well, Sheppard's chest made me laugh! And the glimpse of Ronon in the background is too cute!

Author's Response: Hey, Ellex! Thank you! Aren't the pictures great? Brevisse (thought I doubt I spelled her name right) did a wonderful job, as did Summertea with the cover. Your comments were wonderful--I really like your stuff, so it's a special pleasure for me that you enjoyed this so much. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Zafra (Anonymous)
22 Aug 2007 2:33 pm
I loved this AU, and I am usually not an AU fan at all. My first impression after reading it was 'a great description of this would be 'how to write an X-Men/Stargate crossover without actually doing it'. It goes far beyond that, though in how you did a very smooth job of intermingling the new 'gifts' you created for the characters with believeable actions and consequences from the show. That's normally what I dislike about AU's but I gave this a chance and I am so glad. This is now up there in my handful of favorite 'Atlantis' fanfics. Beautifully done on all counts.

Author's Response: Hey, I love the X-Men myself, and I definitely couldn't help but make some comparisons. I'm especially pleased you thought we went beyond that, though--Springwoof and I were very careful to not have over-the-top abilities, the way the comic books often have. Thank you very much for giving the AU a chance, and I'm really glad you liked it! And of course, thank you for letting us know! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Masterchica (Anonymous)
22 Aug 2007 1:53 am
Very very well done. A tv show with this plot would be a hit

Author's Response: Thank you! What a great compliment! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
20 Aug 2007 12:26 am
What a wonderful adveturous story! A great weaving of the gifts with the orginal first season...well done. Fantatsic read!

Author's Response: Than you so much! And we're really glad you liked it! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Kensieg (Signed)
18 Aug 2007 2:35 am
I love the relationship between Sumner and Everett. We've always been told that they were good friends; you showed us their friendship. Did you get Swampy from B5? The gloves sound a little like B5.

Author's Response: Thank you for your great comment! Springwoof is the one responsible for the great backstory between Sumner and Everett. We're glad you liked it! :) As for the gloves, while I know that B5 also used them as a way of controlling telepaths, that wasn't the inspiration for the gloves here. It was far more as a way into John's character in this AU.
One of One
Reviewer: Laryn (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2007 9:08 pm
I should have reviewed after reading this last night, but I was only semi-coherent at 3am. This was a must-read all the way to the end. NICELY DONE!

Author's Response: Thank you! We appreciate your comments very much, especially that you took the time to leave them--not to mention having staying up until three to read the story! :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: pepper (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2007 1:38 pm
WOW!!! This is a phenominal AU! Very well written and characterized. Love the "Gifts" truly. MUST HAVE MORE!!! Would love to have someone point out to John that the books he read to study his gift were probably myths and fiction right??! So hoping you will continue this AU with more and more stories - nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, John needs to have that cleared up, doesn't he? I'm sure one day he'll mention it to Rodney, who will immediately cuff him upside the head.... Springwoof and I are indeed planning a sequel, but it'll take awhile to get off the ground, I'm afraid. But we'll get to it as soon as possible, I promise! :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: WolfenMoondaughter (Signed)
17 Aug 2007 11:17 am
Oooh, that was delicious! *G* The hurt/comfort fiend in me is very satisfied, thank you! ^^ Interesting concept, the Gift thing -- I like how you both intergrated it into the preexisting storyline, very smooth. (And yay for Peter not dying!!) Don't suppose there will be a sequel, with Ronon? Even a small one? Pretty please, with Splenda on top? ;)

Author's Response: A sequel--With Ronon--is indeed being planned, WMD, and thank you for wanting one! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the story that much, and thank you for letting us know. :D And yes, we were *determined* to save Peter this time around, and it was a lot of fun to do it. Glad you liked that, too. :) Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Amy (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2007 9:27 am
Wow. This was a very good piece of writing. Both of you should be very proud of yourselves, seriously. I'm going to print off a copy and snuggle down to read and enjoy thouroughly this weekend.

Good parts:
1. You've managed to integrate a new situation, the "gifts", into the Atlantis storyline without making it seem like an un-needed add-on. They fit like they were always part of the story line.

2. Your characters are completely believable both as they were originally written, and with the "gifts". They were also interesting and had understandable motivations for their actions. (Not always the case in fanfic as I'm sure you know!)

3. While making John and Rodney the main attration, you gave us a good feel and even an interest in all of the secondary characters. I loved that you even gave some thought to Sumner. Most authors consider him a two-dimensional throw-away character. What you did with him was great. Also liked Elizabeth. She was so human and her gift fits her so well.

4. Very good work following the Atlantis plots while including "the gifts". The changes work marvelously and, as I said before, everything you did just "fits", like it was always there. I actually think I like your version better than the original.

No author survives without good criticism. I always try to let folks know where they've succeeded and where they've failed. So far, no failure. I'll try to add more after I've finished reading this wonderful story. Thank you for writing it.

It would be a shame if you didn't write more about this place, these gifts, these people. Please consider it, even if we have to wait and wait for the sequels. Good quality is worth waiting for.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that wonderful feedback, Amy! We truly appreciate you taking that kind of time and effort to let us know that you enjoyed the story and what aspects pleased you especially. Sumner's coolness was completely Springwoof's doing, and I was thrilled with what she came up with. I always liked the guy myself, and in truth we were both a bit disappointed that we couldn't save him without changing canon too radically. I'm not sure I'm looking forward to seeing where you might think we failed, :) but I was thrilled to read that you like the story so much you want to print it out and read it again! Thank you! And yes, there is a sequel being planned, it just might take awhile. :) Thank you again. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: reen212000 (Signed)
16 Aug 2007 5:22 pm
And the stab of longing, want, need, that roared out of John the moment he saw Rodney was so deep and so intense that Elizabeth gasped, felt like she couldn't breathe.

There was relief as well--that Rodney was alive, surely--and new, fiercer guilt, like something gnawing, and the sorrow: waves of it so strong it was like drowning, and Elizabeth looked at John and she couldn't believe that none of this, none of this, was showing on his face. But outwardly he was as calm and distant as the sky.


Holy tomatoes! That's me. On the floor. Slain.

Beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have to admit that's one of my favourite scenes, too. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: slashbluegreen (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2007 3:44 pm
Original, refreshing and bringing yet another layer of Sheppard to the front. Adorable Rodney. Loved the way the Gift shapes its wielder. And not to forgot, finally someone wrote Sumner with a twist. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked our take on Rodney, and Sumner! Springwoof was responsible for his Gift, and she did a brilliant job, I think. I'm very happy you enjoyed it, too. :D Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Sherry (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2007 9:41 am
Oh my god, that was so awesome and so beautifully written. Your word choices make me quiver inside -- it was that good. And I so loved the last pic with the tiny Ronan hiding in the background. So cute!

Also, very happy that you saved Ford. I feel sorry for Sheppard but hopefully he will get over his complex with Rodney's help...

Author's Response: Thank you! Weren't the pictures wonderful? Brevisse has a great talent, and I also loved the humour of the last picture. We were both very happy to save Ford, too! (And Grodin, and even Markham!) Ford is an excellent character, and I'm really happy that in at least one universe we were able to keep him around. :) It makes me very happy that you agree, too. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: ivanova (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2007 7:33 am
Top quality writing, if you two are not making money as writers you should be. Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you! And believe me, I'm working on it! :)Springwoof is already making money writing non-fiction,s o she's already there. I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Pinkpetunia (Signed)
16 Aug 2007 4:52 am
Oh wow...a very long read, and worth every minute. I particularly loved the glimpses inside Rodney's mind through Conroy and Weir. Was also impressed at how you worked out people's gifts and fit them in so well. The only tiny problem I had was with Zelenka, since he doesn't have the gene in canon, it bugged me for a while, but I kept telling myself AU, AU, AU, they don't have to follow it. Anyhow, well done :).

Author's Response: Yep, since it was a total AU, we took the liberty of deciding that a lot *more* people from Earth had the ATA gene than in canon, but that for most of them it was 'inactive'. This let us give Weir a gift as well, not to mention Rodney, who doesn't actually have the gene in canon, either. :) I'm so glad you enjoyed it even with the descrepancy, and thank you very much for taking the time to let us know. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Nicole (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2007 4:18 am
Absolutly incredable! Would u guys consider a sequel?

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, we are considering a sequel, as a matter of fact, though it will probably take until sometime in November before we have time to write it. But I for one certainly want to. :) Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Karen /s (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2007 3:32 am
Okay, this is a very interesting AU-- so interesting that I'm sitting here at 12:30 in the morning still reading, but you gave me whiplash when you started describing Fairfield and Travis because I live about three blocks from Solano Mall...

Author's Response: Heh. That is all Springwoof's doing, involving a lot of research! I hope it was good whiplash. :) Thank youvery much for staying up so late to read the story! And for taking the time to tell us you enjoyed it (or were at least intrigued.) Leah
One of One
You must login (register) to review.