RSS
Reviews For Babel

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: tiki_92090 (Signed)
12 Jan 2008 1:49 pm
I got a lot of the German and most of the Latin-based languages, but I love the way you wrote this! Very funny, especially this line: "Et if you have manipulado mon IQ, I voy Sie töten."

Very funny. I know this must have taken a long time to do and I love that you didn't just scramble some words or put them in with extra b's or something or pig latin, because that only works if they are speaking.

But thanks for writing and translating!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
Babel
Reviewer: Twinchy (Signed)
09 Oct 2007 12:41 am
Ha, that was so much fun to read!
I actually recognized and understood every single one of the languages even though I feared I'd be at a total loss after your warning.
Great and very creative story idea and you mixed the languages truly expertly.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, I'm flattered :D Thanks for reading and taking the time to write a comment!
Babel
Reviewer: starbright (Anonymous)
08 Oct 2007 11:44 pm
OMGOMGOMG! *rolls around laughing*

I don't know any of these languages (except, allegedly, English) but the way you put it all together was still clear and comprehendable (if that's even a word, lol).

And this?

"Et if you have manipulado mon IQ, I voy Sie töten."

Fabulous!

Author's Response: *beams* Thank you! I'm pleased it worked for you even though you only speak English of these lanuages :)
Babel
Reviewer: me get it? (Anonymous)
08 Oct 2007 1:49 pm
I medio understood you lo q vos wrote, pero was chistoso : )

Author's Response: *g* Gracias! :)
Babel
Reviewer: KJ (Anonymous)
08 Oct 2007 3:14 am
Haha, I adore this! I also could read almost every single word... wonderful.

Author's Response: I'm glad it worked for you! Thanks :)
Babel
Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
07 Oct 2007 5:59 pm
Weirdly enough, I speak most of these languages, or something damn close to them! It was a weird but fun read. I'm sure you had a ball puzzling this out.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a lot of fun to write :)
Babel
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
06 Oct 2007 7:34 pm
Wow, that was quite a mix of languages. :) Good piece and poor John trying to figure it all out.

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Babel
Reviewer: Asturiet (Anonymous)
06 Oct 2007 1:27 pm
Fun little fic -- thanks for sharing, although is there are reason you only used Indo-European (or, technically, only European) languages?

Author's Response: Well, I only speak German, English, French and Spanish so these were the only ones I could use correctly. And when I picked words from the other languages, I had to take care that they sounded similar to the English ones (the Portuguese word for "situation" for example) so the readers could understand it even though, I think, most of them don't speak all of the languages I used. rnrnI could have picked words from other languages, yes, but I doubt that there are much similarities between English and Afrikaans or Chinese for example ;)rnrnThank you for your review, I'm glad you liked the story!
Babel
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
06 Oct 2007 1:18 pm
That was different, good thing I know at least one of the languages, babel fish helped with the rest! I liked it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad that it worked for you :)
Babel
Reviewer: ivanova (Anonymous)
06 Oct 2007 8:10 am
Uitstekend, ausgezeichnet, merveilleux, prima, heel mooi, bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you, gracias, Dankeschön, merci! ;)
Babel
Reviewer: Alynna (Signed)
06 Oct 2007 3:53 am
ROTFL! I only got the French, Spanish and a bit of the German & Italian, but it' still funny as hell. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
Babel
You must login (register) to review.