RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Lyssen (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2010 8:22 am
I have spent two and a half days looking for this story. Just want to start out with that. I read it a few years ago and it's been keeping in the back of my head until I needed it again. I've always had trouble with relationships, mainly being because I'm never attracted to anyone. I get attached to people emotionally but if it goes beyond emotional, and becomes physical I just...lose interest and have no idea how to react. I've always been this way and it's been a joke amongst my friends for years that I'm asexual but it came up seriously in a conversation recently and I've had to readjust my idea of myself to include this new tag. I remembered your story and it's one of two that I've ever come across with an asexual character. But it's comforting and reassuring and...thank you. Even in fiction, this helps.
Reviewer: Patrick (Anonymous)
28 May 2009 10:33 am
Lovely.
Reviewer: Sam_Carter_McKay@yahoo.com (Anonymous)
03 Dec 2007 10:27 pm
Wonderful wonderful story! I love how you made Sheppard vulnerable and didn't fix him in the end. It's much more realistic that way.

I'd love to see more of a close for this one, another chapter to tie things up, it seems very abrupt as is. ... This is me begging for more lol. Please!!!

Great story! I'd sign in to review but I can't seem to log in right.
Thank you for continuing to write great fics.
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
02 Nov 2007 3:07 am
Wow, John was a surprise, but I like that his role was different than it usually is in team-relationship fics. Thanks for sharing.
Reviewer: storyscriber (Anonymous)
12 Oct 2007 7:29 pm
Nice surprise about Sheppard. I would never have thought asexuality. I like how you tied everything up and the four still managed to have a relationship.
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Oct 2007 7:25 pm
Great story. I loved all the angst, both the broader strokes of losing contact with the SGC, losing their home, their friends, and the more personal angst of the team. I loved how careful Teyla and Ronon were with Rodney, easing him into the idea. It saddened me that, even when they were all together, things weren't as happy as they could be. It would've been easy to be angry with John for running away, for hurting the others by doing so. I felt that Rodney, Ronon and Teyla were justified in their irritation and frustration with John, but seeing things from John's pov explained so much and just made me sad for him. Not so much for the lack of sex- that's not the be all and end all- but for the fact that he needlessly isolated himself out of fear of what his team would say when they found out his reasoning, that he'd been isolating himself for most of his life. I was pleased and proud that he finally confessed and that Teyla, Rodney and Ronon were all accepting and didn't try to get anything from him that he couldn't give. It was good to see them back in their team, their family.

Laura.
Reviewer: lilu13 (Anonymous)
11 Oct 2007 9:30 pm
You deserve a million reviews for the work you must have put into this - and the brilliantly crafted result. Thank you :)
Reviewer: Ismene (Signed)
11 Oct 2007 4:16 am
I really, really like the direction you took this in. Because, while we've all wondered what the hell is up with Sheppard's weird-ass fear of touch and bizarre reactions to sex, I think fandom has mostly gone with the (ironically) conventional route - assuming that what he's uncomfortable with is his homosexuality.

Kudos for not only going a different direction by making him asexual, but also for *not* "fixing" him by getting him in bed with his team. I love that at the end, they just accept that he doesn't want to have sex but likes to be with them. A good friend of mine was asexual, and she would always get stuff like, "Oh, you'll fall in love with the right boy/girl and it'll be different then," but that's just not true.

Also, good job with all the world-building, as well - nicely detailed without being overwhelming. And your characterizations are all spot-on; Weir was excellent, as were Teyla, Ronon, Rodney, and your OCs.
Reviewer: Korilian (Signed)
10 Oct 2007 3:29 pm
And er... what I actually meant to say was; this was gorgeous and moving and I loved it to death.
Reviewer: Korilian (Signed)
10 Oct 2007 3:28 pm
Yes! Yes of course! He's asexual!
You must login (register) to review.