RSS
Reviews For Thankless

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: grandma (Signed)
28 Feb 2012 5:29 pm
Absolutely, totally Great!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, grandma! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! :-D
Part One of One
Reviewer: Twinfetish (Signed)
07 Jul 2009 12:55 pm
very well written. I liked that you addressed that issue. I don't like it when people from SG1 come to Atlantis, and start criticizing the people who have worked so hard to keep it working, and their people alive. It pisses me off.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Twinfetish! :-) I also have a problem with people from SG-1 coming to Atlantis rnand criticizing members of the expedition. I mean, it's possible that O'Neill's comments to Weir rnabout McKay were said partly in jest, but it still seemed a little mean-spirited to me. Anywaaaay, rnI'm glad you enjoyed the story. rn
Part One of One
Reviewer: voyuerer (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2009 3:52 am
LOL! Loved it you captured all their voices.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :-) I'm so happy you enjoyed the story and think I captured the characters' voices. That's something that often concerns me, especially when it comes to characters I don't know as well. As I never really got into SG-1, I was a bit nervous when it came to O'Neill and Carter.
Part One of One
Reviewer: Aqualegia (Signed)
26 Sep 2008 1:16 pm
I liked this story very much - especially the puddlejumper journey to Earth just to make a phone call :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Aqualegia! I'm so happy you liked it! :-) I know making a trip to Earth just to makerna phone call is a bit OTT, but it seemed like the kind of lengths O'Neill would go to if he feltrnit was important, the kind of thing he might do for a member of his team. In any case, I'm gladrnyou liked that particular element of the story.
Part One of One
Reviewer: mctsensitive (Anonymous)
01 Jun 2008 4:07 pm
Good for you! I'm so glad you took a crack at this, because it was eminently satisfying. I found myself laughing out loud at this:
McKay shook his head. "No, you were really freaking out. Mom never used to act like that when one of us got sick."

There was a pause on the other end of the phone. "Mer, that was because Mom was a bitch."

So hilarious, especially because Rodney gets a little embarrassed about it.

Wonderful characterizations, Rodney gets some due consideration, and they end up at Toys 'R' Us. What more could we ask for? Thanks for this.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so happy you found this satisfying! :-) Writing the scene with the phone call was too much fun, especially when it came to the "Mom was a bitch" line! *g* I'm glad you like the characterizations and feel that Rodney received due consideration. I can't remember how I came up with the idea for the Toys 'R' Us excursion, but it seemed like the perfect destination for those three! *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: outsideth3box (Signed)
01 Jun 2008 2:58 pm
This was great, thank you for writing it, that comment stuck in my throat, too.

very nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading my fic! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :-) It's nice to know that I'm not the only one who had problems with O'Neill's comment! *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: Sandy (Anonymous)
09 Jan 2008 4:13 pm
Oh, wow, that was sweet. Loved it, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks, Sandy! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :-)
Part One of One
Reviewer: uran (Anonymous)
19 Nov 2007 8:00 pm
That's one of the sweetest stories I have read in a long time :D Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! :-)
Part One of One
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Nov 2007 5:34 pm
I haven't seen the episode yet :(, but this works without it, because there's plenty of background I *have* seen with Jack and Rodney. John and Rodney fall out all the time, so even when it's harsher than normal, I know they'll figure it out in the end, which they did nicely here. Jack and Rodney, though. It was good to see things from Jack's pov, to see the marked difference in what he said and how he thought. Hopefully his actions have gotten through to Rodney now that Jack's seen how his joking comments really affected Rodney and has set out to fix it. Great stuff.

Laura.

Author's Response: Hey, Laura! Thanks for taking the time to read and review this story -- despite the fact that you haven't seen the episode yet! :-) I hope you enjoy both parts of "The Return" once you do get to watch it. Although I obviously took issue with that comment O'Neill made, I did enjoy seeing him on Atlantis doing heroic/smart ass/Jack-like things. rnrnI'm glad that you liked the Jack POV. It actually worked out better than I suspected -- and basically for the reasons you've given! :-) And, yes, hopefully Jack and Rodney now have a better understanding of each other, even if it's only in fanon. *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: Kanetsidohi (Signed)
12 Nov 2007 12:06 pm
Excellent characterization and a plot totally credible. Great story!!!

I also wondered why Jack told that to Elizabeth, I guess he just can't help himself.

Claudia

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you approve of the plot and characterization. Those are usually the two things I wrory about most. :-) rnrnI'm not sure why Jack said that to Elizabeth either. I think it's probably as you suggest: he just can't help himself. *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 11:58 pm
That was awesome!!! I loved the characterizations, and you did such a good job with Jack.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! :-) I'm flattered that you think I did a good jobrnwith Jack. To be honest, I'm more of an SGA fan than an SG-1 fan, though I've seen a number of SG-1rnepisodes. It also helps that he's been in a few episodes of Atlantis.
Part One of One
Reviewer: nim the cat (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 10:57 pm
Very Sweet. Now I want to read about the shopping trip.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! :-) You're the third person who's asked to read about the shopping trip, so I think I might have to consider a sequel. No promises, but I'll certainly think about it.
Part One of One
Reviewer: Laryn (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 9:57 pm
That was a delightful story, and my heart clenched at "You know what? Forget it. It's not as if anyone else ever thanks me."

Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm happy you liked it! :-) As strange as it might sound, I consider it a compliment that your heart clenched at that moment. It also happened to be one of my favourite parts to write in the story.
Part One of One
Reviewer: Aelfgyfu (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 3:32 pm
How lovely! I thought Rodney sounded too prickly at the start, and I was thinking the characterization wasn't quite on--until I learned the reason, and then it all clicked into place. Poor Rodney! Yes, he does dumb things when he's upset and exhausted.

"Shouldn't she be sleeping?"
Jeanie suddenly sounded tired again. "God, I wish. Last time I looked in on her, she was whacking her teddy bear against the wall."

Do you have kids yourself? That sounds exactly right!

McKay rose from O'Neill's desk. "He probably just wants to check his hair."
O'Neill ran a hand through his own hair. "Well, some flyboys have to work harder at it than others."


Very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! :-) I'm glad that the characterization seemed okay once you knew the reason why Rodney was sounding so prickly. And I'm happy to hear that Madison's behaviour sounded about right. I don't have kids, though I guess I've seen enough tired and/or sick kids in my time to know what they can be like. Actually, I think whacking a teddy bear against the wall might have been the kind of thing I would have done when I was Madison's age! *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 10:24 am
awww...

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :-)
Part One of One
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 9:55 am
Man, that was really sweet. I love Uncle Mer. ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :-) It actually ended up being sweeter than I'd anticipated, but once I threw in Uncle Mer there was no going back! *g*
Part One of One
Reviewer: Davinci's Girl (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 9:51 am
This was very sweet. I hope to see more stories posted by you here in the future.

Author's Response: Well, thank you! I'm really happy you enjoyed it! I hope I'll post more stories at Wraitbait in the future too! :-)
Part One of One
Reviewer: spacesplace (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 8:13 am
OK, now that was just too adoreable! Not only did you give Rodney some overdue credit but you involved Jack, John and Jeannie too!....great job!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :-) I hadn't originally planned to have Jeanie make an appearance at all, but she somehow managed to sneak in there. *g* rnrnI wasn't sure if anyone would agree that Rodney hadn't been given enough credit, so it's nice to know that you like that aspect of the story. Hopefully, I wasn't too hard on Jack, especially as he was a lot of fun to write!
Part One of One
You must login (register) to review.