RSS
Reviews For Perchance to Dream

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Twinfetish (Signed)
23 Jun 2009 3:40 am
wow...That was so heartbreaking. I was tearing up through most of it. it was very powerful, and sad, and yet at the end so perfect, because Rodney called him john and he didn't die.

Author's Response: I'm so pleased to read your feedback here today--it's so nice to know that people are still reading and enjoying this story. I hope it wasn't too traumatic though--I had a hard time deciding how much or how little to warn...
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Tarlan (Signed)
03 Jan 2009 8:31 am
Loved this time loop story! Was so worried the first time Rodney died, and so relieved when the loop meant he had more attempts to save Rodney. Adored the ending :-)

Author's Response: I was in a really weird mood when this story came to mind ('how many ways can I kill Rodney?'). As usual, the story went off in an unexpected direction and I just had to follow it and see what happened. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
02 Oct 2008 11:35 pm
Also, all of the details you put into that beginning were so brutally visceral it made my gut cramp. I had to double check the warnings to make certain this wasn't one of those permanent character death stories! Yeesh...

Author's Response: I *did* worry about that and thought if I said something to that effect in the summary, I'd sort of end up spoiling the impact of the story. Hard to know sometimes how much to say and what to leave out. I certainly didn't want to upset anyone! I'm glad you stuck it out though! :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
02 Oct 2008 11:28 pm
*whistles* Wow, there are just so many things to love about this story that it would take me all night to list them all, so I'm just going to give you my top two. I especially love how the time loop ends when John finally feels how Rodney has felt all that time about John's seeming flirtation with death. I also love Rodney's comparison of John with a feral cat and how it affects his courtship of John. I do have a question, though: was Rodney weaving tiny bug baskets a shout out to Orson Scott Card's "Alvin Maker" series, or just Rodney's way of dealing with the boredom?

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm rather partial to the feral cat image myself (and I'm afraid I've used it more than once). No the basket weaving was just a way to kill time--it amused me to have Rodney make little tiny baskets as that struck me as being harder to do. I'm so glad you liked it and let me know--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: GBaby (Signed)
03 Mar 2008 12:29 pm
Ronon's response to the revelation that the last mission had been experiencing a time loop was typical. "Why does all the weird shit happen to you?"
Rofl! Ah, this story made me angsty, curious, laugh and nod my head a lot!
Thanks!

Author's Response: *Does the happy dance* I am so glad--that's what I'm usually aiming for! Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: dossier (Signed)
01 Mar 2008 7:10 am
this is a truly powerful story, and the opening scene is *perfect*. John's slide into resignation, and then the realization of what he has to do. thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I never know whether it is a good idea to warn people when I open a story with something like that because I can't think how to warn without giving something away...I'm so glad it worked for you and that you took the time to let me know. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: LB (Anonymous)
10 Jan 2008 4:13 pm
Sheesh, this thing makes it hard to review. Hopefully it submits this time, sorry if it's been sent multiple times...

Okay, I'm like half a page into this or something, but I just have to say that was the absolute most touching death scene etc ever. I started to cry when Teyla was and I had to actually get up and walk away from the story and now I'm writing this review for a bit just to let the emotions dull.

I just started reading fanfic again after a 5 month break so I'm probably a little more sensitive to things than I was in the past. I just can't believe what an impact it had on me right at the start of a story! I don't know if the lack of any plot so far makes it stronger or if this was happening at the end of the story I'd be sobbing. I'm sure he's not going to stay dead, I mean I can see him speaking here at the bottom of the story, but wow, that was a beautiful opening. Okay, back to reading.

Author's Response: Oh dear, I both hate and love that I've created such angst on your part--hate because I don't want to make anyone feel pain and love that it has triggered such an evisceral effect. The good news is I beleive in happy endings. I hope you tough it out to the end! Thank you for such a touching review!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sunnyd_lite (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2008 11:56 pm
You're better off without us. We cripple you. We tie you down."

"You anchor me, Sheppard." Ronon's words were calm. "There's a difference. Great insight
The opening was very powerful, I was right there with John. Amazing

Author's Response: I often have a hard time writing for Ronon but I was really pleased with how that scene turned out. Thank you for your great feedback!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
07 Jan 2008 2:19 am
'An awful, agonizing feat of endurance' - that really describes the mental place this beginning took me too.

For a little while I wondered if I was still in a dream, then decided that was too Dallas.

The courting box was magnificent.

Author's Response: 'Courting box'...what a nice way to describe it! I'm glad you enjoyed it--I had way too much fun with this story myself ('Hmmmn, let's see...how many ways can I make Rodney die?') I'm sure that says something sick and twisted about me! :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Nov 2007 7:06 pm
Wonderful story. It was heartwrenching at (a lot of) times, but also served to show John just how much his team is his family and just how much Rodney meant to him. Terribly angsty and H/C (heavy on the H) and Teyla had the right of it when she told John he was a strong man, despite what he thought of himself. I wish I could be surprised that there was avoiding of each other while John and Rodney thought things over, but that seems to be the way of them both- retreat to lick your wounds. I thought Rodney's comparing John to a feral cat was quite apt ;). Still, I was glad that John didn't suffer worse injuries after witnessing the other three, Rodney especially, getting much worse treatment by that planet. I was also glad that Rodney decided to go for it and that John responded enthusiastically to that :). Very hot and also very sweet and tender.

Laura.

Author's Response: I must admit, I'm partial to the feral cat image myself ;-)I might have whumped the boys pretty hard, but it was never intended to be permanent! I'm so glad you enjoyed it--I had a lot of fun with this one.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Susan (Signed)
13 Nov 2007 1:51 am
I stayed up all night reading this. I couldn't put it down!

Author's Response: Yah! I'm glad you liked it that much...only be sure to drink *plenty* of coffee today and be careful driving...;-)Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: CrayonEater (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2007 1:00 am
I have been cruising wraithbait for over a month looking for this story. As in, this is that perfect McShep :D I have been waiting and hoping for a story this good and ...complete. yay! Thank you!

Author's Response: Awww, I'm so glad you liked it! I'm beaming on this end. Thank you for your glowing review!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Jack_rocks (Signed)
12 Nov 2007 2:24 am
Ohh fantastic story! So beautifully written. It was sad watching Rodney dying so many times and even worse watching John going through it every time.
I'm glad for the happy ending. The deserved it.

Author's Response: Don't tell anyone, but I'm a closet sap when it comes to happy endings...so glad you enjoyed it :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: paperduckie (Signed)
12 Nov 2007 2:14 am
I... wow. This was painful, seeing Rodney die and John hurt.

But then the... and... I loved it. :x

Author's Response: I know what you mean! Thank you letting me know!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 8:25 pm
This was so wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing. I just loved the team interactions, too.

Author's Response: Oh good, thank you for noticing! I'm trying to be better about involving the entire team in a story. Glad you liked it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 6:06 pm
What a great story! You had me crying...I am so glad that it ended well. I honestly don't think that I could have taken a bad ending, love it when the boys are happy and you did it so well! I love Groundhog Day!

Author's Response: I was seriously tempted to wait and post it in February, but then went "naaaaah". Thank you for the great feedback!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 5:45 pm
Lord Ground Hog Day!!!
Jeeze I was begining to freak out that it would never end and that John would just go insane. Fantastic and imaginative story and I really loved it. Way to go you! Thanks so much for sharing :)

Author's Response: Well, you know what *Rodney* would say about John's sanity in the first place ;-) Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 12:08 pm
"Being wooed, Rodney style."

I love Rodney style wooing. And poor, John, too, for having to go through Rodney dying so many times... Really good ending.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, poor John does need a psychiatrist on a lifetime retainer, doesn't he? Wonder if they'll replace Heightmeyer? Thanks for your review!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: random_lurker (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2007 12:04 pm
I loved this fic. It was a really great take on time loop. I felt bad for Sheppard though, at least until the very end. Great work.

Author's Response: Thank you! I may whump the boys pretty hard, but I rarely do permanent damage. (Maybe I need a disclaimer: no Johns or Rodneys were harmed during the making of this story). Glad you liked it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: the_cephalopod (Signed)
11 Nov 2007 11:50 am
Yup - still *love* it!! Really, it's a fantastic story that had me on the edge of my seat right the way through to the end. Lovely ending too... :) cep xxx

Author's Response: Big goofy smile on this end here! Thanks!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.