RSS
Reviews For Unsuitable Men

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Azamiko (Signed)
26 Apr 2012 10:54 pm
Great story, great treatment of such topics. Most stories, even if the victim is a male, have males being the rapists, too. It's good to see girls--younger ones, at that--being the bad guys.

Author's Response: I know it's an unusual story, so thanks for your comments. It turned out much different than I thought it would, but at the same time, I think it says something important about women and education and how society can be so much at fault for systemic exploitation. Thanks again for reading and commenting.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Becs (Signed)
16 Dec 2008 4:23 pm
This is a wonderful story and it talks about a very important issue. Thank you! Keep up the great writing.

Author's Response: Thank you - it really wasn't the story I started out to tell, but sometimes you've got to go the way the story wants to go. I'm glad you liked it.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Lish (Anonymous)
04 Jan 2008 3:53 am
I have so much love for this fic I can't even begin to tell you.

Author's Response: Thank you.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Ismene (Signed)
10 Dec 2007 4:23 am
I read this on LJ (or maybe here, but I definitely read it) and I'm also sure I commented, but just in case I didn't, I really enjoyed this. It was a fascinating twist on the usual alien sex ritual cliche, and your John and Rodney are, as always, perfect. (I'm pretty sure I've told you before that "Lost in Waiting" was some of the best Sheppard backstory I've read ever)

I also really liked that the sisters are given enough depth and backstory themselves to make them a little bit more than 2D cutouts of OMGEVIL.

Overall, excellent story.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was one of those stories that ended up in completely different places than I intended, but I'm glad that you felt the characters were complex enough for the story. I really appreciate that. Thank you!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Nov 2007 6:16 pm
Rodney's ordeal was a terrible one. Yes, okay, he was never actually raped, but that doesn't lessen what *was* done to him, the emotional trauma of what was being done, what could be done and fearing what had happened to John. I loved how John looked after Rodney, never pushing, but always there when Rodney needed him. Great job with Rodney's recovery too- the desperate need to pretend it never happened, bottling it all up until an innocent comment had more impact than it deserved. I loved that it took time, that you let it be realistic, that John gave Rodney the space he needed and didn't push even as they moved things forward. I'm sure Rodney will get there in time, now that he's got John as insentive.

Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the response! I'm glad you felt the story was realistic, and that the slow relationship was fitting. Those are the stories I always like best, so I guess that's why I write them! Thanks again.
1 of 1
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
15 Nov 2007 11:03 pm
Well done. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you!
1 of 1
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
15 Nov 2007 9:14 pm
I think you handled the subject just fine and the ending is right where it should be. :)

Author's Response: Thank you - that's always nice to hear.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Madison (Signed)
15 Nov 2007 9:13 pm
Whew! Powerful stuff! And it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. I found myself thinking Rodney had made the right call after all, because he would have ended up as the sacrifice had he gone quietly as John intended. I think I was almost as relieved as Rodney to hear John's voice. Wow. I'm speechless. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a strange story to write because it ended up in such different places than I intended, but I'm glad it worked for you. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
15 Nov 2007 1:43 pm
Wow. That was VERY well done. I really felt for Rodney and John seemed very believable. Thanks for writing this one!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's always good to hear when a reader thinks a difficult subject was handled well. I appreciate the comment.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Tria (Signed)
15 Nov 2007 12:28 pm
Hi! I think this is a great story. I read your Notes at the end of the story, but I don't think that you have anything to worry about. I think you handled the non-con aspects very well and with a lot of respect. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you - that's a great compliment, and I appreciate hearing your comments.
1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.