RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: marbleglove (Anonymous)
13 Jan 2008 7:58 pm
Fabulous. You did a really good job of making Sheppard Senior a real person who was sympathetic even with the estranged relationship with our own Sheppard.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I didn't think of him as exactly sympathetic, myself, but even mean people have reasons.
Paging Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
24 Dec 2007 7:44 am
Interesting take on the whole Sheppard's Dad dynamic and how it would impact the story line. I really like this story, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad to know you enjoyed it!
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
10 Dec 2007 1:17 am
Obviously they managed to get some sort of meaningful talk if John's actually phoning his dad and they're able to carry on an awkward, yet meaningful conversation. Hopefully it'll get easier each time.

Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks for the comments! This was written as a flashfic and I never even intended to write the second bit -- it just came out. I don't intend to write any more either; we'll see if that holds.
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
10 Dec 2007 1:11 am
Great start. I loved the tension, both familial and bad-guy-induced. It was great to get a bit more information about John's family and past, even if it wasn't particularly happy. It was difficult to decide what I thought of John's dad. On the one hand, yes, he had had a terrible experience as a POW, but on the other, that didn't give him the right to judge John, Rodney and homosexuality in general. He can't make an informed opinion from his own twisted experience, yet it's easy to understand why he would and makes John's own apparent forgiveness that bit more understandable too. I just hope that Sheppard Snr getting more information and actually getting to know *John* and his friends, especially Rodney, will help things between them.

I'm glad he gave Rodney something to think about :).

Laura.

Author's Response: Y'know, I really hate homophobia and other forms of prejudice, and yet I feel compelled to acknowledge that people can be very prejudiced and yet be decent people in other ways. Sometimes the prejudice is just unthinking, a cultural thing; other times there's some personal reason for it. But either way the people who hold these prejudices are still real complex people, and you can't throw the baby out with the bathwater. And 'phobes often are totally hung up on the anal sex thing, too.
Paging Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Jaessamine (Anonymous)
05 Dec 2007 3:47 pm
I enjoyed that thanks, but it feels kind of cut short, there's so much more you could go into, planning any sequels? :)

Author's Response: Not planned at this time. It's a little abrupt because this was a flashfic and I was pushing the deadline. But I do think it said what I wanted it to say. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed!
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
05 Dec 2007 5:38 am
LOL! Thanks so much for sharing this with us. It was a blast.

Author's Response: Good, I'm glad you liked the second part too!
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
05 Dec 2007 5:34 am
I loved the stolen kiss! I really enjoyed this chapter and am looking forward to the next one.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it -- sorry you're about the find out the second chapter is just a vignette and not a true sequel...
Paging Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: Alynna (Anonymous)
05 Dec 2007 1:56 am
I didn't think you were going to continue this. Glad to see more of it! Very cool.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
05 Dec 2007 1:16 am
I'm glad that John and his father managed to patch things up and they are able to talk. That's good.:)
Oh,no Rodney never told John how he got the black eye. *L*

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad to know you liked it!
Phoning Colonel Sheppard
You must login (register) to review.