RSS
Reviews For Now and Then

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Azamiko (Signed)
20 Apr 2012 12:48 am
Lovely.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: mezzo_cammin (Anonymous)
05 Oct 2009 12:39 pm
Hey there! I was just thinking about writing something with a similar plot to this, and then your story was asked for on StoryFinders today - how cool is that? I love your take on this! Your characterizations are so spot-on that I believe it could have happened exactly like this! Great job! I have been making my way through your work, but it's slow going. I'm on the BigBang story now...it's wonderful, too! :o)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Elly (Anonymous)
10 Jul 2008 6:02 am
Wow! I love this so much! I love how you've interwoven canon throughout this story, and isn't it lovely and sweet that they had a very long courtship through their own exiles?

Thank you :) This will be on my re-read often list :)

Author's Response: Thank you; I'm so glad you enjoyed and thrilled you will be re-reading it! :) cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
12 Jan 2008 8:20 am
I loved their meeting and the instant interest they generated in each other. I preferred that the first evening they spent together they just watched telly together and ate popcorn. It was so sweet and very in character!

I loved that they kept in touch based on their one meeting and that Rodney's letters kept John sane during the war. I loved how Rodney used his connections in the USAF to get his letters to John on time and that he sent things to keep John from being bored in Afghanistan. I really enjoyed seeing them get to know each other through their correspondence and how they came to mean so much to each other so quickly.

Rodney showing up at Petersen to collect John on his return to the States was just great - I love seeing Rodney taking the initiative in stories. The worry that John was going to deny his feelings for Rodney when they almost kissed in the hall was really effective - I'm so glad that John finally gave in and took something good for himself.

Them keeping their relationship on the QT for such a long time was so touching and wonderfully described and dealt with. I was so pleased when for once in his life John decided he had something for himself worth fighting for and that he wasn't going to give up on him and Rodney. The way John showed his relationship with Rodney in Elizabeth's office was so in character and so touching!!!

I loved the structure of the story, the chronological flashbacks interspersed with the current Atlantis situation were very well done. I also loved how the flashbacks fitted in with the realisations they were having about each other in Atlantis - how they realised they couldn't live without each other and had known it for a long time was brilliantly described through each flashback event.

Rodney counting their relationship as starting from Afghanistan (and John feeling the same way) was just so lovely.

Great story, beautifully written!! I loved reading it!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your detailed comments! I did a lot of research for this story, so it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed it so much! To hear that the structure worked is wonderful and I'm so glad that you found the whole storyline believable and thought that the boys were in character. This, and the fact that you loved reading it, is pretty much the best feedback I could ask for! :) cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
09 Jan 2008 9:40 pm
I read the reviews first so I was ready for the time switches. While its not a format I'm crazy about – the time and events can be difficult for reader and writer to track, and the cliffies are usually in the most frustrating places – but this really worked well. The events and the breaks were well timed.

Could never understand why, even considering potential unknown character depths, Major Sheppard used part of his allotment to bring that particular book. Yours explanation is currently tied for first place in my private polls.

When Rodney suggests, and John shuts him down the love runnith over in the best of ways.

The presentation of their relationship was wonderfully done.

Thanks for writing this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a detailed review - it's always wonderful to hear what bits in particular people liked! I'm so glad you liked the structure after all - I thought hard about whether or not to do it, but it just seemed to fit with the story. I did hope that if I kept the time shifts set - i.e. Present Rodney POV, Past Rodney POV, Present John POV, Past John POV, repeat - and called the story "Now and Then", I could get away with both using them and not having to sub-title each one. I'm glad you like the "W&P" bit, I had lots of fun trying to work bits of characterisation from canon into this, and it just seemed so perfect that Rodney was in Russia for a time and John was reading "W&P"! And to hear that the you found the relationship believable - best feedback possible. :) Thank you so much!! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Madison (Signed)
03 Jan 2008 10:56 pm
Wow, that was a lovely back and forth between past and present. I loved John's decision to make a pre-emptive strike instead of waiting to find out what Miller wanted--so very John! And I liked the evolution of their relationship over time and the fact that distance actually worked in Rodney's favor during the initial stages! The background details in the backstories were particularly good too. Yeah, and the hot bits didn't hurt either... ;-)

Author's Response: :) Thank you - I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The tense shifting threatened to do my head in from time to time, so I'm really glad to hear that it worked for you! I did a lot of research as well for the 'past', so again it's lovely to hear this wasn't in vain! And it's always nice to hear that people found parts hot too.... :) cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
03 Jan 2008 2:32 pm
That was wonderful! Thank you for writing such an interesting back-story that fit so well into canon.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it - thank you so much for letting me know! I tried really hard to fit it into canon, so it's wonderful to hear that you felt it worked! :) cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Wind Wolf (Anonymous)
03 Jan 2008 9:20 am
Very sweet and very good. Thank you, WW.

Author's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed it - thank you for commenting! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
02 Jan 2008 8:35 pm
Awesome. :) You did a great job with incorporating everything in! I saw a missing 'the' somewhere, but other than that nothing at all threw me. Total Squee!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comment - I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I think I've now finally managed to get rid of all the pesky 'Colonels' that crept in, so I think I can just about live with a missing 'the' (although, if you or anyone else spots it, please let me know!). *g* cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Alynna (Signed)
02 Jan 2008 7:37 pm
Don't remember if I reviewed this when it was posted to the sga_santa comm... I really liked John and Rodney's first meeting, and Rodney's rambling letters and emails. Going back and forth between the past and present made it all the more interesting. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for commenting! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and it's especially nice to hear that the time shifting worked. :) cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Hestia Lacey (Anonymous)
02 Jan 2008 4:23 pm
Thank you :) Very nice. Also, I'm thinking about making this into a sign to hang on my own door at work:

"You and your problem will have to take a number and wait your turn. I am currently in the middle of solving a different problem, which got here first. This is an equal opportunities lab, we don't play favourites."

Author's Response: Thank you so much - I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) Hee, I'm rather fond of that line myself!! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
02 Jan 2008 4:18 pm
You did a great job w/ the challenge I enjoyed it very much. Note: toward the end when they go see Elizabeth, you have Rodney using Colonel instead of Major and since they're still season one, I thought you'd like to know. Great story regardless, though I'd love to know what the meeting was actually about.

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm very glad you enjoyed it! Thanks also for pointing out the 'Colonel' - I was concentrating so hard on all the other details, it just slipped by! As for the meeting, well, I did write a different ending at first in which it was revealed... but it didn't quite work with the tone of the story, so I decided to leave it ambiguous. It's up to you to decide, but, as the boys discover, that's not what's important in the end. cep xxx
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.