RSS
Reviews For Second Fiddle

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
30 Mar 2009 4:03 am
Sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Tarlan (Signed)
15 Mar 2009 12:10 pm
Loved this so much! Loved how Rodney never realized he was missing a John Sheppard in his life until John 'found' him - and so pleased the Goa'uld chose that moment to attack Earth! Loved the small differences between each Rodney.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd been thinking about how the lives of our favorite characters would have turned out if there had not been a SG program, and it all kind of snowballed from there. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Veronica (Anonymous)
05 Jan 2009 11:32 am
Fabulous!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! *grins*
Chapter 1
Reviewer: phoenixrai (Anonymous)
02 Jan 2009 12:32 am
this was so wonderful--i just couldn't stop reading it...brilliant!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I have a real soft spot for the Second stories and your feedback made me grin!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Beth Green (Anonymous)
04 Jun 2008 9:52 pm
With all of the SGA stories out there, I find myself sorting through them by following recs. I'm so glad that a rec from Cupidsbow led me to this story. I don't take the time to leave a review unless a story leaves me sorry that it ended and wanting MORE. This was one of those stories.

You did an excellent job characterizing both John and Rodney, and created a believable AU for them to play in. Thanks for having Rodney tag along to John's universe, even if it took the Goa'uld to make it happen. You had me worried there for a minute!

I liked the contrast of everyone losing Rodney, and then finding him again, while Rodney lost Jeannie and found her again. You used just the right combination of humor and angst.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: You don't know how happy this makes me--that someone would rec this story in general and that you enjoyed it enough to let me know. Even better that you could leave specifics as to what you liked! I am always deeply appreciative of feedback and yours made me smile. Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Belladonna (Anonymous)
18 Apr 2008 8:32 am
love love love love love love this! Someone on storyfinders asked for this, and I'd never seen it so I read it and I'm so glad that I did!!!

Author's Response: Oh, I am so glad you found this through storyfinders and that you enjoyed it as well! Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: GBaby (Signed)
01 Mar 2008 4:10 pm
=^.^= *cheers*
Such a nice story! Well done! Rodney 2.0 is really cool - almost makes me wanna switch ;)
Oh my, Temple of Windows sure had me laughing as well - for right now, vista is killing me, and all I wish for is a path to another world XD!

Thanks for the story!
Yours GB

Author's Response: That *would* be nice, wouldn't it? Too bad R and J broke the device! I'm so pleased you enjoyed it--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Shaddyr (Signed)
18 Feb 2008 3:37 am
Ohmigod! This is amazing. And sad. And a wonderful look at coulda woulda what if. Funny. Sweet.

"Speak for yourself, Misfit Toy." - BWAHAHAH! Wonderful!

Author's Response: Hugs self with glee! Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Leah (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 1:18 am
Fantastic remix! A lot of fun, and just right with the bittersweet. I almost like this Rodney better, which is an awful thing to say. This John is a little scary, though. I wonder what else in John's universe is different? Or is it just that Rodney didn't survive the doppleganger? Thank you for the fic! Leah

Author's Response: Poor Rodney--he's built up his counterpart in his head to be some kind of superhero so that he feels he has a lot to live up to! As for John--I think he's just lost too many in too short a time--and losing Rodney to the doppleganger was the kicker. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Squeaky (Signed)
22 Jan 2008 9:22 pm
AWESOME STORY!!!
Great job, some excellent lines and your take on AU Rodney? Just, wow!
THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS BABY!
Sq

Author's Response: oh, yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
17 Jan 2008 12:07 am
My praise starts at the very first letter and ends with the last period. This was a great story. You had just a little bit of everything and it all worked so well. The detail that you wrote between the two dimensions only added to the story, causing pain and happiness for the reader at the different events that occurred between the two. Very nicely done.

Author's Response: HAH! Beaming from ear to ear on this end. What a great way to start the day! Thank you for such lovely feedback.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: monanotlisa (Signed)
13 Jan 2008 6:26 am
Oh, I liked this--just a jump to the left, in two more devastated universes, but you make it feel all right by the end.

Author's Response: Oh yay! That was the feeling I was going for! Thank you.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ratcreature (Anonymous)
08 Jan 2008 4:31 am
I really enjoyed this, especially the subtle differences between AU Rodney and his counterpart.

Author's Response: I never considered myself a huge AU fan til I tried writing some--and I find it addictive and challenging now. Thank you so much for your input!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: marinav (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2008 3:18 pm
This was great! Perfect blend of adventure and love with just the right sprinkling of humor and angst. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you,thank you! That is the blend I try for most of the time. So glad to hear that I'm coming close to being on target. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
07 Jan 2008 1:56 am
Now that's an introduction. I could so see Rodney in the situation you described at work and on the street. The heroic rescue by the man in black was priceless. No offense, because I read them sometimes, but maybe Harlequin should be looking for you.

Rodney at work figuring things out – you made it so sexy.

Schrodinger, Jeanne, and even Brian made me cry. Now I'll have to read the rest of the story with a stuffy nose – you evil author you. : }

Do you have any idea how easy it is to choke when you are laughing hysterically with a stuffed up nose? Mary Poppins? OMG!

Sweet.

Author's Response: It wouldn't be the first time someone suggested Harlequin to me, but alas (how's that for a nice Harelquin word?)they do not see fit to publish slash. Making people cry and laugh during the same story is all part of my master evil plan, heh-heh-heh. So glad you sucumbed...I mean enjoyed!! (Thanks--big grin here)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
05 Jan 2008 11:11 pm
Aw, I love this story (and "Second Best" also). They're good mirror images of each other. Atlantis needs John Sheppard and Rodney McKay also. I like the way that you write. It's very easy to visualize scenes [John exhausted on Rodney's bed, after stapling himself (!), Schrödinger hiding in a beer cooler, the Goa'uld mother ship, Rodney with the ZPM!]. Yay for the drone exploding the warehouse. Great John/Rodney dialog.

Author's Response: Yay! That was the idea--mirror images. And if you can see the scenes and hear the dialog, that's icing on the cake.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
05 Jan 2008 9:57 pm
As always I adored your fic, and the voice and life you give to the characters.

Author's Response: I try really hard to get the voices right...thank you very much!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 Jan 2008 6:09 pm
I really enjoyed this story. It was interesting meeting Rodney and seeing what was different and what was the same in the two universes. I had to chuckle at Rodney's arrival in Atlantis, especially Teyla's observation that John was acting like John again. It was good watching Rodney fit in and learn all about Atlantis and building friendships with his team, his friends, Jeannie. I particularly enjoyed John and Rodney's building relationship and how it had its ups and downs as John pulled back a few times. I'm glad that, though he may have been slightly more polite, Rodney was no less stubbornly determined and that he managed to get John to see the light :). Very hot and very sweet.

Laura.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it--I don't know why but I've been wanting to explore John and Rodney's characters lately by viewing them through the shift of a slightly different perspective. I'm so glad to hear that it worked for you--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: tianostra (Anonymous)
05 Jan 2008 5:25 pm
Thank you so much for this terrific story. I *really* enjoyed reading it. The dialogue was great, making them sound absolutely like themselves, even when one of them sort of wasn't. There were lots of moments of real feeling here, the sort of thing that shoots straight to the heart and makes you ache along with the characters. John was so broken, and Rodney so ... well, your own word is best, I think: starved. Loved the plot, thought it most original, particularly the twist you used to get John to let Rodney go with him. The *timing* of that Goua'uld mothership! Excellent work, truly excellent.

I do hope you'll keep writing SGA stories. I always give a little cheer when I see your name come up on Wraithbait - know I'm in for a good time! Thanks again for all your hard work.

Author's Response: Oh, I am so glad that you not only enjoyed it, but took the time to leave such detailed feedback. I'm relieved to hear the Goa'uld intervention worked for you--I was a little worried about that as a plot device! So glad too to know that my attmepts at a little emotional knife-twisting were effective. Now see, there are certain authors *I* get excited about seeing pop up with a new story--you couldn't have said anything nicer to me!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
05 Jan 2008 2:07 am
Yeah! Loved the other story and love this one too. For a moment I was wondering how you were going to make this a happy ending, I shouldn't have feared. Great job!

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you liked it! (And that there could be a moment of suspense in there for you) Yeah, what a nice way to start the day--with a big goofy grin on my end here. Thanks!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.