RSS
Reviews For Catalysis

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: erikson (Anonymous)
14 Dec 2009 7:26 am
I've been loyally reading your short stories after I stumbled on Primacy, but I had to find some free days to actually start reading this, cuz it's looong. But it was so worth it. Something that struck me as really cute was Jeannie intentionally "forgetting" that raw potato slice for Rodney to steal later on... That's got such a strong "family" undercurrent. I loved it!
And i love how tender you make Rodney and John sound together, how u focus on each gesture and word to make them matter, and it always strikes a chord in me.
Thank you for your great stories!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Yllek (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2009 4:58 pm
Wonderful, wonderful fic.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ppleater (Signed)
28 Apr 2009 12:30 am
You have wonderful imagery, diction, and a fabulous sense of humor.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: kira (Anonymous)
07 Apr 2009 3:16 am
A very well written story. It had everything in it. Rodney's PTSD and the way he finally talked in the end was heartbreaking and sweet at the sametime. Very choked up here..
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
27 Feb 2009 3:41 pm
Incredible :)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Betsy Hp (Anonymous)
17 Jul 2008 5:35 pm
Loved this! It was such a lovely unfolding of what had happened, how it affected both John and Rodney, and how seeing the other suffer affected them, too.

You also did a great job with Rodney's family, and his past. And I love that Kaleb had such a strong presence. (Also, I was really happy to see Sam and Jennifer included in the Atlantis scenes.)

Very enjoyable! :)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: WolfenMoondaughter (Signed)
05 May 2008 11:05 pm
Beautiful, *beautiful* angst!
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Neena (Signed)
06 Mar 2008 1:16 pm
I haven't finished reading the whole story yet, but I am in awe of your writing skills! In reading your story, I feel as if I've fallen into their world, seeing the hidden places that you never get to see in the show. Fantastic attention to detail, and perfect characterization all around! Brilliant!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Kylia (Signed)
25 Feb 2008 5:23 pm
You killed Simpson! I nearly had a coronary when it looked like Zelenka was gone as well.

I really enjoyed this. The way the story flipped back and forth between the mission to Ava and the present time on Earth gave me a real feeling for the situation. The slow build up to them *finally* getting together, and the general sense of 'family' at the miller house. All great stuff.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
22 Feb 2008 2:40 pm
Great final chapter. I liked getting the final few flashbacks to bring it into the present. I liked that the obvious concern for Rodney was accompanied by the less obvious concern for John, even in Sam Carter, who's not had so much time to get to know him.

In the present day, it was great to see John and Rodney finally face what was between them. It was the catalyst Rodney needed to *really* talk about stuff, giving him that extra bit of security and happiness to draw on and allow him to get everything out, to even talk about some of it with Jeannie. It was great to see John happy too, especially his final realisation while eating secret ice cream with Maddy :).

I'm sure Rodney will be alright now and that will also allow John to finally relax too.

Great story.

Laura.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
22 Feb 2008 3:44 am
The flashbacks were great this chapter- much longer, so we got much more indepth scenes. I loved the rescue and the good news about Radek, but it was sad to see Rodney slowly getting worse. Of course everyone was worried about him, but I liked seeing how people were worried about John too, and how that confused him a little, because he was fine, it didn't happen to him, he was just worried about his friend.

The present time scenes were also great. It was good to see Rodney feeling a bit better, more like himself, though I'm sure there are still things he needs to work through. But it was good to see the water fight and I also liked the intimacy of the not-Tai-chi. Good to see Rodney's libido making a comeback. I just hope he doesn't pull back from John because of it. And once again, more concern for John too; Jeannie particularly, but I also liked the scene with Kaleb.

Hopefully the hiking will give them some alone time.

Laura.
Chapter 4
Reviewer: ainaria (Anonymous)
21 Feb 2008 12:42 pm
I really liked this. Especially Rodney and Jeannie's discussion in the end.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Reflex (Signed)
14 Feb 2008 7:14 pm
fantastic. The build up was wonderful but it was the emotional development and descriptions that carried me away with this story. I loved each one of the Miller's, and I can't even put an emphasis on which one I liked most.

Also, thank you very much for not killing Zelenka and Miko. Because for a while there...whew, you had me worried.

The development between John and Rodney was also handled perfectly.

This was just great.

:)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
14 Feb 2008 3:35 pm
Just a note, which I hadn't pointed out earlier, but I re-read the story again and wanted to let you know. It is the Canadian Airforce, hasn't been referred to the RCAF in many, many years (my husband is a pilot in the Forces). Also, the yellow ribbon that is attached to my car is to show my support for the troops. As far as I know, there is a ribbon for MIA, in the States it is for MIA/POW and it is black. Just something I thought that I would point out as you have a great knowledge for Canada, I am assuming you are a native. I live on Vancouver Island.

Once again, a fantastically written story. One that I will read over and over again.

Author's Response: ...hasn't been referred to the RCAF in many, many yearsrnrnSomebody else got there before you (and it's been corrected), but thanks anyway! :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Rusty Armour (Signed)
13 Feb 2008 12:01 pm
I was so happy last night when I discovered that you'd finished "Catalysis"! :-) I absolutely love this story! I'm usually a sucker for fic where Rodney visits his family, but you added an extra complication by having Rodney dealing with PTSD at the same time. I was really struck by how well you portrayed the various relationships in the McKay-Miller family. The dialogue throughout was wonderful.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
12 Feb 2008 11:19 pm
I really quite enjoyed this! Thanks so much for sharing it.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: merrymuse12 (Signed)
12 Feb 2008 9:07 pm
Wow...just wow. That was beautiful from beginning to end.

"Loving people makes you happy," she told him, like it was just that simple.

Stunning and so true...

Thank you so much for this.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Angela (Anonymous)
12 Feb 2008 5:41 pm
Chandri, another fantastic chapter. I've really enjoyed taking this journey with our beloved characters. I especially enjoyed the unbiased wisdom of Madison at the end, out of the mouths of babes as they say. The only thing that stikes me as off or wrong is the use of the RCAF...unfortunately it hasn't existed since the Canadian Armed Forces was created by amalgamation...but since that has no real baring on the story ignore it as the silly nit-picking of a Base-Brat. Either way, LOVED the story

Author's Response: Huh. See, I didn't even know that. I've got a couple of friends in the Canadian Forces and they always just refer to it as the RCAF, so I didn't really think about it. I shall have to Google correct terminology. :)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
12 Feb 2008 5:23 pm
Wow! This was a truly wonderful story. I thoroughly enjoyed the final chapter with a minor quibble about John & Sam's interaction. Given how much of an a**hole John was to Rodney--being aware of Rodney's feelings & using them is cruel, doubly so when he's supposedly your best friend--I was surprised by how almost tender John was with her. It felt a bit OOC. Regardless, THANK YOU for writing this story. :-)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Signed)
12 Feb 2008 2:05 pm
This was a wonderful story. :)
Chapter 5
You must login (register) to review.