RSS
Reviews For Through the Rain

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: merrymuse12 (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 11:15 pm
Oh, wow. I am so glad that you updated. And what an update it was! Rodney and John touching on the relationship topic *and* pool? Lovely...

Oh, by the way...Happy Birthday!! :)

Author's Response: I can't help but enjoy the idea of John and Rodney playing pool together. I don't know why, but I like it so very much. :) Of course, I don't get to insert all of my favorite ideas, but I do my best! And thank you so much! I did have a good birthday. ^_^
Chapter 5
Reviewer: merrymuse12 (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 4:17 pm
This is so wonderful. I can't wait for your next update. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: thaddeusfavour (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2008 12:39 pm
Loved the first story in the series and now I'm loving the second. I really am. You've created an interesting and consistent world and social structure for the pack and given us interesting and believable characters. Good job.

I can see where you are going with the pack discipline and such. At first this concerned me, as I have always enjoyed playful submission and dominance, but rarely the hard core more serious stuff. I think I'm too independent and it just bugs me on a basic level. I don't disapprove and it doesn't disgust me, but I always hated to see one of my favorite characters "giving in" so to speak.

However, before you set me straight, let me say I read some of your replies to other reviews and I see that Rodney will indeed be training John while John is training him. Thank you. I couldn't see Rodney as a submissive "I'll do whatever you say and you can run my life John" type of person.

Keep up the good work and I'll be anxiously awaiting the next installment. Hey, mind if I friend you on LJ? I love to keep up with my favorite authors that way when possible.

Author's Response: yay! I'm glad you've enjoyed it! Thanks so much - one of my worries is that I'll end up dropping a detail that doesn't mesh with the rest, or something of the sort. ^^; As I've said to the others, I am going to be coming very close to the line between d&s and "abuse", but I do think that a stable relationship can come from it in the end, and one that doesn't end with a top strong-arming others to his ways. I'll try and keep consistently updating, so I hope you keep reading! And feel free to friend me on LJ - I love seeing new faces :) The username is _shinchansgirl_ , and I usually post any fanfiction to the community writersfunk . ^-^ Feel free to friend either - or both, if you want!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 10:05 am
I'm glad to see another chapter to enjoy. I knew things were going to be rough before we see a 'happy ending' which I am all for. But there are going to be rough patches for awhile I'm sure. I'm looking forward to reading along this journey so please keep the chapters coming along.

Author's Response: I hope you keep enjoying it! The rough patches are going to be many for a while - more like potholes than rough patches, really - but I have faith that the boys will muddle their way through. :) I'll try and keep the updates coming along as best I can. ^-^
Chapter 4
Reviewer: stormy (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2008 9:50 am
Well, initially I passed this story by. I thought it would be a cliched werewolf/pack series, and not really worth my time to read. I have to say that you've proved me wrong. Now that I've taken the time to read it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. You have wonderful characterizations, and I'm looking forward to more.

Author's Response: I'm glad you came back to read it! I'm trying to avoid the typical cliches while still keeping with the werewolf idea/mentality. Thanks for taking the time to read, and review!
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Jaessamine (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2008 9:14 am
Update soon! :) Really enjoying the story, the Atlantis characters work well as wolves. Can't wait to see what John will do if he gets jealous, gotta love a clueless/bewildered Rodney too! That's a hint/plea for some romance or a hot sex scene soon please *lol*

Author's Response: The idea hit me one night and wouldn't leave, so I just had to either find a story or write one myself. ^^; Since I didn't actually find one...yeah. This was born. :) There's going to be some shaky romance soon - and maybe even a steamy sex scene, if I can work up the courage for it. ;)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sonotgoingthere (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 1:48 am
I'm enjoying this story. I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm doing my best to keep updating regularly. ^_^
Chapter 4
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2008 1:08 am
John is a really good leader and this is a really good story. :)

Author's Response: Thank you - and I'm sure John would be glad to hear that!
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Truthslove (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 12:23 am
I really like this series. I hope you continue writing.

Author's Response: thank you! I'll do my best to keep up with updates. :)
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Betty M (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2008 1:01 am
Personally, I didn't think John was being mean at all. Play Vampire the Masquerade and the associated Lycanthrope game and it's very easy to see the same sort of 'obey the pack's rules & the Alpha/Leader or you could be toast'. I think this is shaping up to be a great sequel (I loved the first story!).

Author's Response: Well, I haven't played those, but that is the basic idea behind it, just the same. :) But John is being strict - and being strict for a reason, that will come out later. Thank you!
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
03 Feb 2008 10:46 pm
I would feel angry like Rodney too. Everything was taken away from him. And here's someong telling him that he isn't allowed to think for himself. I wonder how long it will take Rodney to realize that he gained something in exchange for what he lost.

I'm greatly enjoying the fic. Thanks.

Author's Response: Yeah, well, things get worse before they get better for Rodney - but there are some good things, too. :) He's going to start realizing what he gained...eventually. Thanks for reading!
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Cath (Anonymous)
03 Feb 2008 11:33 am
I am really enjoying this story. I had been somewhat mad at John for being so uncompromising, but this chapter kind of made me feel more compassionate toward John's behavior. And Rodney does understand John's action - the anger and fear John had felt when he didn't know where Rodney went, so that aspect of their relationship is going along nicely. But Rodeny appears to be somewhat confused about his feelings toward John...Oh, this story is shaping up to have some really good angst!
But happily, wolves mate for life, so this should all end well, right?

This story is a wonderful read; I'm looking forward to the next installment. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: John is being strict for a reason - and more than just what was shown here, but that will take several more chapters to reveal itself. And the tension between John and Rodney is just going to get thicker, because Rodney's just not used to the attention. ;) And these wolves...well, there is the possibility for another partner, since they do have their human sides, but I am an absolute *sucker* for happy endings - so things are pretty much going to end well...or well enough, anyways. Thank you for reading and reviewing!
Chapter 3
Reviewer: FeDhu (Signed)
02 Feb 2008 11:43 pm
I like dommy-wolf! John. :)

Author's Response: ^___^ Me too!
Chapter 3
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2008 9:50 pm
This is really good. Looking forward to the next piece. :)

Author's Response: Thank you.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: merrymuse12 (Signed)
02 Feb 2008 6:42 pm
Yay! Another great chapter! :)

Author's Response: thanks!
Chapter 3
Reviewer: TDF (Signed)
02 Feb 2008 1:55 pm
I'm enjoying this universe you've created very much, and really look forward to the next chapter. I'm particularly enjoying the realistic wolf behaviour that you're portraying here. My degree is in animal science and wolves are of particular interest to me, so if you ever have any questions, feel free to ask ;) Can't wait for the next installment, hope it's soon!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you're liking it! I have to say that most of my wolf knowledge is from the odd Discovery Channel shows, and from applying general "pack behavior" that I've found as typical in animals. Seeing my dogs interact with each other helps as well. :) On that note - if you see anything out of place or anything that can't be (or just simply *isn't*) explained, let me know and I'll try to fix it. Thanks bunches!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Jaime (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2008 1:38 pm
Hmm.. I think (for me) there is a difference between "Toppy John" (which I personally adore) and "Abusive John" (which is fine for some fics, but perhaps not one where he is set up to be a sympathetic character). This veers a little too close to Abusive John for my comfort.

I get that you're establishing a specific "pack" relationship but Rodney was not born to this, he's basically been torn from the world he knows and shoved into one that gives him nothing back and expects him to defer to someone who is taking away his freedom and physically hurting him for doing things that he is perfectly entitled to do. I feel any surrender from Rodney now would come across as less him finding his place in the pack, and more of a "battered spouse" thing, you know? He's told again and again that John is basically his master, can't do anything about it, it's just the way it is, better get used to it etc. Eventually he'll come to believe it and any freedom he gets will be at Johns discretion rather than anything he is entitled to as an person/wolf pack member.

I think for a personality like Rodney, the way to earn his respect would be with your intelligence rather than who is biggest badass with the sharpest claws and hugest penis. Once you've earned that he would probably be a lot more inclined to deal with the submitting to the alpha male stuff. Respect can only be earned, "because I say so and I'm bigger than you" often doesn't cut it. If he can make his own choice to submit to Johns authority (eg John lets him go or he escapes and Rodney independently, perhaps after some thought, chooses to come back and stay with the pack) then John would have proved what an excellent leader and alpha he is, rather than just talking about it and dragging Rodney around.

BTW this is no slight on your actual writing which is great! (I don't generally leave TL;DR comments, on stories that I don't like, I promise) Hope all that made sense and was not too boring, feel free to ignore if it was. I will be very interested to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: There is a difference between "toppy" and "abusive", and I know that I'm going to be very closely toeing the line here with this...but this type of behavior is instinct for John, and the whole point of this sequel is to see Rodney adjusting into the life that the pack has - as well as the pack adjusting to him. John is going to learn that, for Rodney, this just isn't acceptable, but he hasn't yet *learned*. Outside problems are going to cause what will probably look like a surrender...but it's what Rodney wants, no matter how John tries to do otherwise, and we're going to see quite a bit of Rodney sticking his head in the mud and not budging - as well as sticking his foot in his mouth a few times. It will also help, later, when he learns just *why* John is the way he is - if you'd like, I'll email you what I have (although I haven't typed that chapter yet - it's still handwritten - I can give you the basics). John isn't doing this just to be a badass, but Rodney has to learn that and John has to learn to open up and talk first. Thanks for the comments - I'm never gonna complain about that! - and I know it's not gonna be everyone's cuppa tea, but I'm hoping that, in the end, their relationship with each other will be stronger for all the trials they faced. --and if I push too far on the "abusive" side, feel free to call me on it. :) Oh - and the email, if you were looking for it, is fluffydemonkitty@aim.com
Chapter 1
Reviewer: liz (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2008 1:04 pm
Hi, I just recently started reading this story. I had missed the posting for the first part for some reason. I just had to write and let you know how much I love this series. Especially now that Rodney is one of the pack. This last chapter was awesome. I love wolves and their social interactions so to see the SGA gang as wolves is so cool. And a very different AU. I am looking forward to seeing how much more trouble Rodney can get into while he learns what it's like being a wolf. I hope you eventually have Weir's pack show up too. Great writing, can't wait for the next chapter! :-)

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad that you found it and that you're enjoying it! It was the type of AU I wanted to read, but couldn't find - and once the idea was in my head I couldn't let it go. ^^; Rodney's next troubles aren't going to be so much wolf-related as human-related, so it's going to be interesting. I don't have plans for Weir's pack to show up yet, but it's always a possibility. :)
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
02 Feb 2008 11:19 am
Yeah there is more! A huge adjustment I'm sure and I can't wait to read more. I wonder if Rodney and john know yet that they are mates? Can't wait to find out...more soon? :>)

Author's Response: ^___^ There are always going to be adjustments with those two - and fights, and snarking, and the general love that is John&Rodney. :) As for the mating front...well, those issues are going to start snaking their way up into the interaction soon, as well. ;)
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Bex (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2008 10:28 am
There are no words to describe how seriously I'm obsessed with this fic...it's like an addiction :D I love dominant!john and the fact that Rodney is struggling to adjust to the 'gift' and being submissive to John...*sighs* it's great!!

Author's Response: *giggles* fic addict! You're not the only one addicted to reading about our boys, I'll have to say. ;) Toppy!John is one of my favorites, so I enjoy writing him - and of course Rodney has to struggle with that.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.