RSS
Reviews For Progenitor

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: daydreaming readhead (Signed)
09 Oct 2011 5:55 pm
I love this story and would love to read more from you. Do you have any intention of writing the aftermath of John's sex change? It would be interesting to see how others react to it; if they treat her differently, awkwardly, pityingly, cruelly. If she has to deal with harassment from the marines. If anybody else ever suspects that it wasn't an accident. If Rodney comes under pressure to "fix" the machine and get John back to "normal" and how he sabotages those efforts. If John continues to hide for awhile for the sake of convincing everyone it was an accident and how he struggles with that. How Teyla and Ronon react: is transgenderism something they're familiar with or is it as foreign to them as so many other ideas brought from Earth?

I really do hope you continue with this story. You are a talented writer and have begun an amazing tale here. Even if you do not take this story anywhere further, I would greatly enjoy reading anything else you write, as would, I'm sure, many of your other readers.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Jean (Anonymous)
20 Apr 2008 7:14 pm
Wow, I realy, really love this, Johns dilemma is just heartbreaking and Rodneys no nonsense way of solving the problem is just so typical. If I beg (on my knees) would you consider writing a sequel? Because this story really deserves to be continued.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Aranel (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2008 5:33 pm
Words cannot describe the love I have for this. Of course, now the universe is expanding in my mind :). Like, John having to see Kate (or whoever the psychiatrist is, but since you mentioned Elizabeth...) b/c the military may have been cowed by the mighty Wier about John staying in Atlantis, but even the ones that choose to have reassignment surgery on Earth have to go through extensive psych stuff to make absolute sure that this is what they want and since the military's going to assume that this was involuntary and unchangeable.... I think you get the idea.

Plus, when John and Rodney get together.

Plus, the changes in everyone's relationship to John. 'Cause, y'know, he's a she now.

Plus, how John herself changes.

Also, will there be babies??? *pleads hopefully*
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Squeaky (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 8:35 pm
Ohmygod! YOU HAVE TO WRITE THE REST OF THIS!!!!
EXCELLENT take on the whole genderfu*k genre! So, what happens next???

(please continue? Please?)
sq
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
04 Feb 2008 3:56 pm
Holy Crap! I've never read anything like this. I love it when I find something new ;) Thanks for sharing.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: sgakaz (Anonymous)
01 Feb 2008 11:35 pm
I have actually seen Documentaries were men who fought against their real gender went and did macho careers so John joining the military does add up.
If you post sequel please post here (if you can put it in both) if you decided to put it in het. because het. does not interest me but would love to see the followup if there is one
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: spacesplace (Anonymous)
01 Feb 2008 10:35 am
I can't believe you ended your story here!!! There must be a mistake! There must be a SEQUEL!!! This is definitely one of the most interesting gender bender stories I've come across. Thanks for it but ...more, please?
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
29 Jan 2008 7:22 pm
Intriguing story. It took me a while to figure out why John was so bothered by the machine, but I figured it out eventually :). I loved the John/Rodney interaction, how Rodney was so completely supportive, hell, how Rodney was the one to make John see that it was possible at all.

Laura.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: iadorespike (Signed)
29 Jan 2008 11:15 am
Very, very interesting in a very good way. :) There needs to be more of this - seriously - I can't help but wonder what happens next! *nods* Thanks so much for the story. :)
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Kylia (Signed)
28 Jan 2008 9:36 pm
Wow.

I've read countless gender!switch stories, but this is a new and interesting twist. I like it. I'd be interested to see what happens after.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
28 Jan 2008 6:59 pm
Ahh! You can't leave it like that...I find this so intriguing...need to see what happens after the transformation. Please...
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Belladonna (Anonymous)
28 Jan 2008 1:21 pm
OMG! THis was sooo twisted!
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Kanetsidohi (Signed)
28 Jan 2008 10:48 am
This is a great story. I specially like the fact that it won't be an accident, like most gender-bender stories, but what John really wants. I hope you make a sequel because, even if it's right, its' not going to be easy for John to be a woman on the outside.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: cupidsbow (Anonymous)
28 Jan 2008 7:39 am
I turned out really good! Thank you

Author's Response: No, thank you! Glad you liked it :)
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Tel (Anonymous)
28 Jan 2008 2:02 am
I would love to see what happens next. I can see Elizabeth having a fit if they tried to take John's post away from him. Will he still use John? I think he could convince the Marines that he's still tough enough to command them. Rodney will flip if he starts telling him John came up with answers using woman's intuition. :-)

Well done.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: JiM (Anonymous)
28 Jan 2008 1:23 am
That was weirdly satisfying. I especially loved Rodney's figuring it out and knowing exactly how to help his friend.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
28 Jan 2008 12:46 am
Very interesting. It's too bad the site classifies this as slash, since if John really is Trans then it is without question het because his gender is actually feminine and the machine will fix his sex to match. I look forward to the update!
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: jacqui (Anonymous)
27 Jan 2008 11:28 pm
this is going to continue? please??
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
27 Jan 2008 9:21 pm
In this particular case does it really qualify as pre-slash?

I read a few gender benders and while some of them have been well written this one is that plus it makes sense from the character perspective.

I would like to see more of this.

Author's Response: Whoops. I very deliberately selected "pre-relationship" for just this reason, but it just so happens that the option for "pre-slash" is directly below it and I accidentally selected both.rnrnGlad you liked, and I'm starting to think I'm going to have no choice but to write more of this at some point. Perhaps. Someday. Maybe.
pt 1 of 1
Reviewer: seeking_serenity (Anonymous)
27 Jan 2008 9:16 pm
What an interesting concept... I agree with anon... would love to see what happens afterwards.
pt 1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.