RSS
Reviews For Little Secrets

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ulffy (Signed)
16 Sep 2010 2:09 am
I hope you don't screw like you write.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ldarkphoenix (Signed)
30 Jul 2010 10:36 am
this was very very well written. i hope that you do eventually write a sequel to this
Chapter 1
Reviewer: giggles149 (Anonymous)
27 Sep 2009 10:25 pm
i really quite liked the fic, but that is probably, because I don't like Dr. Weir. Whilst there is part of me, that would like to think that the good of one person in this instance Rodney would outweigh the good of the many (more food), the realistic part of me knows that that would not be the case. I would have liked it if Rodney had resigned and told the SGC .... but those are just wishful thoughts.
keep writing
Chapter 1
Reviewer: korilian (Anonymous)
27 May 2009 11:14 am
I found Elizabeth completely unbelievable and it's not like you couldn't have made this plot work.
A lot of rapists walk free. Usually because there isn't enough evidence. Torrel on the other hand confessed to the entire city. There was little ambiguity that he was a bad guy. This story could have been great if he'd been quietly terrorizing Rodney, while Rodney was keeping what happened secret.

I could have bought Elizabeth not taking steps to punish him. He's a foreign leader (even if all his people are criminals), and it would have set a precedent that might me used against them later.

Dealing when him after the revelation was another matter entirely. I also found the excuse of food not enough. I could have bought it if Elizabeth's actions were forced by a life or death situation. For example, if they needed the Olysean technology to safe a third party.

So now necessarily badly written, but my main advice is that you can't push the characters just to advance your plot. Their actions have to be based on their personality and history. Otherwise you just end up with a contrived mess that no one can buy into.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: anon (Anonymous)
10 Aug 2008 6:12 pm
Simply ridiculous.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Penhaligan (Anonymous)
09 Apr 2008 4:27 am
Sorry meant to say "As a civillian expedition will Elizabeth be replaced if its members have no faith and trust in her?"
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Penhaligan (Anonymous)
09 Apr 2008 4:26 am
Hi, I read your story and I agree with some things in your reviews and disagreed with some others. Elizabeth I could see disregarding Rodney as she tries to get supplies for Atlantis. Did she have her own reasons for the way she treated Rodney? Did she not believe him? Does she not see male/male rape as true rape? (sadly this does happen)
Why did no-one else on Atlantis make their feelings known? Kavanagh? Cadman? Teyla as leader of her people not just Rodney's friend?
You said you might consider writing a sequel and I think you should. You have written a story that has the feel of a WIP. The long term repercussions of Elizabeths decision to trade with a rapist (Come to Atlantis, Rape our personnel, Give us food and it'll be fine) What will happen when the reports on what happened gets back to the SGC? How will Jack O'Neill react to how Atlantis failed to protect its members? Will Daniel Jackson go postal? (I always felt he liked Rodney) As a civillian expedition will Elizabeth be replaced if its members have to faith and trust in her? Will their be a punishment for killing Rodney's rapist?
And lastly will Rodney ever do anything Elizabeth says again?
Please keep writing I do enjoy your writing.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura (Anonymous)
05 Apr 2008 2:41 pm
Hello,
I really enjoyed this. I read your other reviews and I disagree with the negative reviews. The rapist is cruel enough to broadcast his crimes and arrogant enough to think he'd get away with it. Rodney is traumatized so is behavior is not out of character. I can see Elizabeth acting with the casual disregard for people's feelings. Quite frankly I liked it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: darkmoore (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2008 3:35 pm
This started out like a story I might have enjoyed. Until a rapist broadcasted his crime all over Atlantis, the victim of this horrible crime was treated like it was his own fault and even worse as if HE was the one who needed to be punished. Weir's later behavior (Hello, negotiating with a rapist and TRUSTING him to keep his word? Selling Rodney out for a bit food?) was so completely out of there it wasn't even funny. No matter how you try to sell this to me, I can't believe that Elizabeth would send any member of her team to be abused again and I don't think that the whole of Atlanteans would want food knowing what it cost Rodney. The idea itself wasn't half bad, in fact it could have been quite interesting...but when you had all of your characters act against common sense, you completely lost any chances of making this believable. I didn't bother to read this till the end cause I don't think it got any better later on and the story was beyond remedy at the point where Elizabeth promised that Rodney would return to the planet even though he had made it perfectly clear he would NEVER step foot on this planet again. It's not her place to make a decision like that, seeing he is not her possession to order around. All in all I was extremely disappointed by turn the story took, seeing I liked the beginning. You should listen to your reaviwers every once in a while and think this through again.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ameliekitty (Signed)
17 Feb 2008 5:26 am
I'm sorry. I don't usually write reviews if I don't like a story but I found this one so distressing that I felt I must. It is so OOC and very unpleasant. I kept reading, thinking that there was some plan that I didn't get but there wasn't, and the introspection by Rodney and John over the death of a rapist who was attempting to kill Rodney was just ridiculous.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Vacilica Malfoy (Signed)
12 Feb 2008 3:25 am
I just finished your story. I really liked it. I read your reviews too, and I honestly don't understand what everyone's problem is.
I mean, I'm no psychologist but it seems to me that Rodney's reaction of self-loathing and self-doubt is a fairly common response to rape. It's not like YOU are dismissing rape as a minor issue, you're just trying to show us Rodney's damaged state of mind.
Sheppard's reaction also seems pretty realistic to me. I mean, he makes his disapproval of Weir's actions pretty clear, what more could he possibly do short of staging a coup? Same with Carson.
As for Elisabeth, I agree she does seem quite OOC, but maybe not to the extend everyone is suggesting. Considering Atlantis' truce with the Genii after all the crap they've pulled, I think it's pretty clear Elisabeth is not too bothered with moral ambiguity if the stakes are high enough. Maybe she wouldn't be quite so callous, but honestly, what does it matter anyway? I've read plenty of Jack/Daniel fics which portray Sam as an absolute psycho, and I didn't see anyone complaining, so why shouldn't you be allowed to portray Weir like this?
You did make one mistake though. An IDC wouldn't allow Torrell to simply walk in, Atlantis would have to open the iris first, they could also close it after him so as to render his threat ineffective.
Also, I didn't like the ending, it was too rushed, it feels incomplete. You should consider a sequel or an epilogue. I'd like to see Weir's reaction to Rodney's second almost attack as well as Rodney's reaction as well.
Still, I liked this story, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I am considering a sequel of sorts in the near future, depending on the time I have to do it justice.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Time and tide (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2008 1:56 am
I really enjoyed this, nice meaty piece of SGA. Which imho was as canon as any fanfic can be *good lord people you would think people here wrote the dam show* *rolls eyes*

Weir was as Weir is if you ask me, and John was sympathetic to Rodney, when it was needed.

The thing that seems to be annoy some is this idea that the baddie should have been marched of of Atlantis post hast, but sorry guys, Lucius remained on Atlantis even after John knew what he had done, Weir still traded with the Genii after they kidnapped her, rouge element or not, and finally they only had Rodney's word (and Lorne's) you unfortunately need more then that to make a case unless of course everyone know thinks it is ok to ignore legal niceties.

Was this a good fic? No, sorry it had some major Beta problems, seriously get a Bets now! Also the way you set it out made it very hard to read, follow.

But for me it was not OOC. Not at all.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
08 Feb 2008 12:41 am
Okay, I couldn't finish this because your Dr. Wier sucked. Sorry, but it's true. She was stupid in her decisions on every level and she was bascially kissing a rapists butt and bending over backwards...the real Elizabeth wouldn't do that. She wouldn't even negotiate with the man, since they were in contact w/ Earth and not desperate. You guise of 'for Atlantis' washed out big time in her characterzation. Also, she can and would have ordered Rodney to see Heightmyer as well as Carson as she does have the athourity in her position. The basic idea and start was good, but then it got reallty bad and you change so many things in midstream...like the bad guy showed up on Altantis (w/o anyone knowing? That's not even possible via use of the shield. The IDC does NOT lower it, just proves you are someone they will lower it for. Then they didn't raise it once he made a threat?) to change his mind and ask for help moments later? Serious plot and characterzation flaws.

I'm sorry if this sounds harsh, but there is no way to explain this w/o going to the point. Again, your idea was good, and I started reading it because it was and it hooked me in the begining with Rodney angst and his actins, but it sadly went south because of what I mentioned. I would suggest a re-write and fix Weir and be clear on what you want your characters doing.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ramdragon (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 6:14 pm
I like this story. Don't forget that Trinity followed Condemned so Weir would still be angry at Rodney and not trust him. As for working with a rapist/murderer, well USA did provide arms to Ben Larden, Countries still do trade with China who disregard Human rights and with Japan evan though they are opposed to their Whale hunting. Governments are quite willing to look the other way in genocide if it is to their advantage and Weir is now a politicion not a diplomate. She had to do what is best for the majoroty not for one person but ohhh I hope she gets it good, do a sequal concerning the fall out. Well done

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and I am happy you liked it. I have three other stories in the works right now, so no sequel right now, but I will think about it and chat with my beta reader about it. Thanks so much!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 5:52 pm
Wow! What a fantastic story. The alienation to which Atlantis acted towards Rodney after that fateful comm burst and the way in which he was treated and reacted to those around him were so well written. I had a whole love / hate thing happening for Elizabeth...had me yelling at the screen at the injustice of it all. But now I want to know what happens "tomorrow" I would love to see how their relationship progresses. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad to know others did enjoy the story. And I haven't decided whether or not to write a 'tomorrow' piece or not. Might in the future.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Not Credible (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 3:17 pm
No way would Elizabeth sell out Rodney.
Cuz that's what happened. She sold him out. Carson and John Wouldn't let her. and then when did Keller show?
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Geek (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 12:51 pm
I would have just shot Torrell. In the foot. Or the kneecap. Possibly his balls. A little explosive castration to stop the testosterone from flowing. Then I would have dumped him out a space gate. 'by accident'.

But that's just me.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: wisedame (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 11:35 am
I liked this story overall, however I found Weir to be very OC.

However, if she did behave like that she should have received a disciplined hearing from the people she reports to. I am sure that Rodcey could have a filed for a disciplinary committee. Moreover, as Torrell, had acknowledged that he raped McKay, he could still be tried for it, once he claimed asylum in Atlantas.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Pinkpetunia (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 10:11 am
In addition to what everyone else has already said, another problem, for me, is why would Torrell publically broadcast his conversation with Rodney where he blatantly admits he raped the man? There is no motivation for this. On top of that, if I were in the city and heard someone boasting of rape, I would be rounding up my friends and sending a posse after the rapist if the authorities weren't doing anything about it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: julianna (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 9:41 am
I am glad that I am not the only one that KNOWS that there is no way that Elizabeth (or really anyone for that matter) would negotiate, offer sanctuary or anything else with a known rapist and murderer. Just not plausible.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.