RSS
Reviews For Little Secrets

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: ANonnyMouse (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 7:38 am
Hmm...a few inconsistencies:

1. Torrell had been sent to a backup Alpha Site at the end of Condemned. He didn't know the address to Olesia, or anywhere else (like Genii), so how could he go to any other world?

2. Olesia doesn't have a DHD. Once he was back on Olesia, how could he dial Atlantis? And the people in Atlantis know how to deal with unscheduled offworld activations. They would've slapped that shield up before Torrell had a chance to get on base.

3. Pretty much everybody else has already jumped on the OOCness of Elizabeth, so I don't feel like I have to beat that dead horse. Either way, 90% of Torrell's power in this story was given to him by the way Elizabeth treated him, so that is why it's so unrealistic. Elizabeth, as a world class diplomat, would know how to deal with men like Torrell.

4. Elizabeth didn't have to give Torrell asylum on Atlantis. She could've just sent him back to the spare Alpha Site, same as Sheppard did at the end of Condemned. She would've probably been more worried about the people Torrell abandoned, and would focus on evacuating them rather than dealing with Torrell.

5. The expedition would be way more interested in the advanced technology in the Olesian city (that had been destroyed) than any crops that they could've offered. They have the Deadulus delivering food, not to mention alliances made during the first year.

6. Torrell has done a lot more than just rape McKay. They said in Condemned that he had killed like 11 people, or something like that. This guy's a sociopath, and I doubt the good people in Olesia would allow him to become their leader.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 7:29 am
I had to stop reading this half way through. It read too much like bad-fic. The writing itself is ok, but i think maybe you should have consulted with a beta reader before you posted this.

Rodney just acted like a petulant child and all the other character were badly written. I hate to say it but maybe you should re-consider this fic.

Author's Response: I have an excellent beta reader who read this story through many. many times during the writing process and is in the process of reading other stories for me. Thank you for the review, but I am not planning on reconsidering the fic.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 7:04 am
The actual premise of this fic isn't too bad, and could even be quite interesting if done well, ie how far would Atlantis be willing to compromise their own values for much needed supplies etc.

Having said that, I really doubt Weir would even contemplate trade with these people, even if their leader hadn't raped Rodney. The main issue I had with the fic was how McKay was treated. He is the victim here, and when the truth comes out he is confined to his quarters under guard and then only allowed out when supervised by soldiers, as if he has done something wrong. He is then exiled from his home, and later his friend is locked in the brig for standing up for him.

There is no situation where a rape victim should be punished for being upset. Whatever justifications Weir gives in this story, she really needs to be sent back to Earth in disgrace after her actions here.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: lysambre (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 5:36 am
@Flubber you think the only OCC is Elisabeth ???

You really think that nobody on Atlantis would have jumped front to put the damn rapist in custody ???

I think all of them where OOC, I can't see Sheppard, who's all about 'protecting his family', letting the guy raping Rodney try to impose conditions on a trade with atlantis.
I think Sheppard would have overthrone Elisabeth long before the rapist could have had anything to say about anything !

I'm sorry but to me putting up front some food supply before rape is not in the realm of understandable !
Chapter 1
Reviewer: lysambre (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 5:07 am
quoting the end : "Rodney stepped out of the shower and secured the fluffy blue towel around his waist. "It's not that I'm sad he's dead, but..."

"What does that make us as a civilization, right?" John could see the battle raging in Rodney's head over right and wrong and good and bad. There were no easy answers for any of them out here."

Well since your civilisation is one who allows rapists (yeah, rape is obviously less important in the whole 'wrong and right' dilemma!!!) to go around freely and do whatever they want, I don't really think you have to worry about killing people here and there... -_-
Chapter 1
Reviewer: flubber (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 5:01 am
I have to dissagree with some of the other comments. The only person that I think is reacting OOC is Elizabeth.

As for the others, I guess you would only know how someone would react if, heaven forbid, you are in that situation.

That not withstanding, I found the story quite dark.

Remebering the chracter from the episode, I have to say that he always struck me as a weasle that was out for himself and capable of anything,(althought I was unsure how he had managed to get the coms citywide!)

I found Rodney's reaction quite believable.I have read accounts where people who have gone throught this do react in a way where they feel they are to blame.

I have problems with the way that Elizabeth acted. I dont think she would have treated Rodney that way and I am sure that she wouldnt have let the bad guy have the run of Atlantis.

Having said that, while I cant say that I enjoyed the story as such, I will say that I found it thought darkly thought provoking.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: fentasee (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 4:58 am
OK I can only guess that this was a Elizabeth bash becouse no sain person would make that desision. by god, the man raped one of your own. slap a chip on him that will explode on the push of a button & tell him that they will get what they want or his spine will go boom.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: lysambre (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 4:56 am
One question (among many others) : Why wasn't the man arrested as soon as they heard he raped Rodney ??? Lorne just let him get out of the lab like that ? That seems very unlikely.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Geek (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 1:45 am
Okay, this would have been better if someone had thrown an I told you so at Weir. She lectured John? No no no, she should have been contrite because she allowed Rodney to become vulnerable to attack by putting Sheppard in the brig. And he was being do obvious about wanting to get to Rodney; there's no way Elizabeth would have given him complete access to the city.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 1:39 am
I liked the idea for the story, but not the story itself. Everyone was so OOC. For example Elizabeth, if that had happen to any of the female members on Atlantis she would never trade with the person who raped them. Another thing, I don't think anyone, maybe a few, would react that way if Rodney was raped. Finally, Weir is a real bitch in this story, and I don't care haw close you are to your allies or guest to don't give them free access to sensitive areas period.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 1:35 am
I'm totally confused. Is this supposed to be AU? It's an interesting idea, worth exploring, but the characterizations seem completely off the mark.

I don't know of anything in canon that explains Dr. Weir's callous disregard for Dr. McKay or her apparent willingness to deal with a known criminal. I also didn't believe Beckett's or Sheppard's behavior toward McKay through-out much of the story. They didn't feel like best friends or the professionals they appear as in canon.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: JiM (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 12:13 am
I have to say that I'm not entirely convinced that Weir would behave the way you have portrayed her. I don't think she would willingly deal with someone who had raped her friend and certainly wouldn't be so short-sighted as to allow his free access. That characterization of her seemed a bit contrived.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: you must be joking (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 12:07 am
While this is an intriguing premise, I found this story to be completely unrealistic. There is no way that events would have unfolded as you wrote them, and you do severe discredit to the character of Dr. Weir. In fact, all of the characters' actions and reactions strain credibility -- it is just preposterous. I felt like I was reading some strange alternate universe Atlantis populated by expedition members who possess only a passing resemblance to our own.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.