RSS
Reviews For Second to None

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
13 Apr 2009 5:12 pm
Awesome :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hadn't checked the FB for a while and was pleasantly surprised to find this!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Feb 2008 5:44 pm
Excellent sequel! I'm so glad to see Jay really fitting in, becoming 'alive' again, especially after the disturbing dreams at the start. I could really understand John's mixed feelings, how it was so easy for him to feel like a fraud and how he kept trying to distance himself because of it. I'm glad none of his friends let him get away with it.

I enjoyed the plot tensions- the post its, Caldwell's investigation, the DS and John's solution to it. I loved Cadman's chat with Jay. I loved Rodney's emotional turmoil and how he finally made John see how much everyone cared for him, and I also liked the Ancient tech, especially Atlantis herself, talking to John :).

Great stuff and a welcome sequel.

Laura.

Author's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed this and took the time to let me know what you liked about it. I have a real weakness for this universe and these particular characters so I am not always the best judge of what works and what does not. Thank you, thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
11 Feb 2008 7:00 pm
This AU is great, and this story...even better. Lots of good stuff especially Jay's strip tease. The nightmares really work, but I think it would have been more thrilling if Keller's was first. Carson is still alive in Jay's reality so having him gone would have made things more real for the reader longer.

Author's Response: I had a hard time picking and choosing between all the nightmares I generated for poor Jay. In the end, I realized that as much fun as they were to create, I couldn't use them all because that would lessen the impact of all of them. I guess I chose to make the Keller scene secondary because by that time, Jay was worried about protecting all his friends, not just Rodney. I do see what you mean though. I'm glad it was fun for you just the same! Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Bluespirit (Signed)
09 Feb 2008 5:25 am
I really enjoyed this, thank you. It was so nice to revisit Jay & see how he was getting along. He's more the Colonel than he realises, isn't he? I like the way that he's found his place in the world (galaxy *g*) & can finally be the honourable, heroic man that he had the makings to be. Mmmm, I loved the hook at the end with Kavanaugh too. Heh - let's see how he likes it, eh? *g* Thank you again for a wonderful story. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review! I have a feeling we'll come back here again some day, given the right opportunity. I'm so glad you've enjoyed the Hopperverse too--I've really got a soft spot for it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ranlynn (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 9:28 pm
hmm...I don't know if you are planning on visisting the AU *again* but you did leave some un-answered questions.

Like just *who'* voice was Jay hearing? Atlantis, the ghost of the original 'John' or even an ascended Ancient.

Though with that smack to the back of his head I'm betting on 'John'.

Author's Response: Possibly, though I think if it was even a ghostJohn his words post-smack would have likley been stronger than 'silly' (I could hear him saying 'asshole' loud and clear, for example). Of course there's always the possibility there was more than one 'voice' involved here. The very fact that it has you wondering pleases me to no end. Thank you so much for commenting!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 3:47 pm
I very much enjoyed this follow-up to 'Second Best'. I really like the character of Jay and I was glad to see things happen in this story to challenge his insecurity about his place in Atlantis. I was so pleased when he realised that Rodney was in love with him just as much as he is in love with Rodney.

This was a beautifully written story and the dialogue, characterisation, and plot were all fab! I hope you feel like writing more fic about your alternate replacement versions of Sheppard and McKay in their respective 'verses.

Author's Response: Well, I've decided we just can't have Octavus running around loose...but I'm not sure what to do about him. And wouldn't it be cool if somehow both AU's intersected? If I come up with something workable, I'll definitely revisit the HopperVerse and--whatever the hell AURodney's universe is called--again. Thank you for your lovely feedback!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 3:31 pm
YES! I loved the other stories and I love this one. I'm sure it was Ascended John helping Jay out, but glad you didn't confirm as it leaves a great hint of myster to it. Also, I knew it was him that did it w/ the notes! (two pts for me) Great story, loved it!!! Any chance to get a sequel for the AURodney one?

Author's Response: I have really enjoyed writing in these AU's but the problem (as always)is generating the plot for another story. If I can think of one, I'd like to revisit AURodney's universe too (but heck, I'm not even sure what to *call* that universe, let alone write more about it). I'm really pleased that you've enjoyed the stories though--makes my day!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2008 3:22 pm
Thank you for this lovely addition to a great AU!

PS. I think "respectively" should be "respectfully" in Kate's refusal to Caldwell.

Author's Response: EEEEK! Good catch! Off to find and fix. Thank you for your great review!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: the_cephalopod (Signed)
07 Feb 2008 2:28 am
How lovely to wake up to this!! You already know that I think it's perfect... but just to say it again - it's just perfect!! :) cep xxx

Author's Response: Hey, without your help I'd still be wandering in circles in the woods--you really got me back on track! Thank you, thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 11:21 pm
OMG!!! I always *love* your fics! I loved the epilogue, too ;) Thank you so very much for continuing the story.

Oh, and the opening dream sequence was so vivid and disturbing. I thought John's nightmares were great ideas.

Author's Response: Well, my nightmares are vivid and disturbing too, so I only thought it fair to share! I'm so pleased you liked it and let me know. Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: bubbysbub (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 11:17 pm
you know, i never considered 'second best' as not quite finished until i read this. now everything feels completed, full circle and all that. i really like this, was fantastic. and cadman at the end, had to have a howl of laughter at that. just brilliant, thanks darling!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Now I have a big, fat goofy grin pasted on my face!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Leah (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 10:53 pm
Great sequel. :D The nightmares were indeed creepy as hell and perfect for Jay's situation. I have to admit I *didn't* like the fact that the whole expedition knew he wasn't the original and went along with it--that seemed a bit to deus ex machina for me, I'm afraid--but I understand why you wanted to add it, though I honestly didn't think it was necessary. John had already proved himself by then, even if there had been any question of his having the right to claim the rank and position. But lest you think otherwise, I really enjoyed this. I loved Jay's POV, and how you wrote Caldwell as driven but reasonable. This is a fascinating universe. (Any possibility of us getting the story you mentioned where Rodney is the replacement? That would be icing on the cake.... ::g::) Leah

Author's Response: You have a really good point about the deus ex machina--I guess once I opened that can of worms I didn't see any way for Jay to stay unless the deception was openly accepted (okay, I admit it, I just like writing clueless!John). I see what you mean though. Thanks for giving me such excellent and detailed feedback--it really helps alot! As for Rodney...;-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 8:29 pm
Yay! I am so glad you decided to come back to this. There were so many unanswered questions, and so much potential.

Realistically, if that word can be used for fan fiction, there were bound to be instances of paranoia, stress, and depression. The nightmares were incredibly well done.

Jay's reaction to Caldwall: 'What would John do?, and the weapons – absolutely hysterical.

The whole team rallying to Jay's support was wonderful. Thanks for designing it so we could see / hear some of the interviews.

The Death Star, Lt. Cadman, and the epilogue were great – you do have a wonderful way with spicy, funny, crazy, and occasionally creepy dialog.

Oh, and the sex is really good too! The bj ambush was extra fun.

So – in your spare time –

The voice – was it John, Atlantis from a distance, Herbie, or...?
What does Caldwell really believe?
And who gets to dippy-twit first – Ronon or Rodney?

More please.

Author's Response: I had nightmares left over--sadly, some had to go. (Of course, it's not like I won't ever use them somewhere else...)I'm so glad you like the dialog (still snorting over your description on this end). The voice? I like to think it was "All Things Ancient" and you can let it be what you want it to be. As for Caldwell, he is not examining the question too thoroughly because then he might be forced to do something about it. And I'm sorry, but I have no idea what 'dippy-twit' is--though I am laughing at the mental image it conjurs up! So glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Dementi (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 7:07 pm
Woot! That was so great! I am so glad that you choose to continue the story. This AU has been terrific from the start. I would like to think that the voice was "John's" and I totally thought that it was Kavanaugh, that sneaky home-wrecking bugger. Classic "I know what you did" worked much better then the movie. Hoping that your muse might push you into this AU again in the future to see how they are all doing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you you liked it and took the time to let me know! I really like the HopperVerse and I've sorta left Octavus hanging out there somewhere, haven't I? Hmmmn, now you've got me thinking...:-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: random_lurker (Signed)
06 Feb 2008 6:47 pm
That was great! I so glad that you decided to write this fic. I'd love to see what Rodney does to Kavanaugh.

Author's Response: I think the anticipation of what Rodney might do will be far worse than the reality but you never know. I know he means to make Kavanaugh sweat a little... ;-) So glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.