RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
28 Oct 2008 1:56 pm
That ending was fantastic. Scary monsters as the alien yenta's weapon of choice? Really? Hah! (and yes, Rodney is totally jaded for not being more enthusiastic about that city :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
01 May 2008 6:06 am
I had to go find the "Oh, Whistle..." story that you mentioned and read it. I was going to say that you were much kinder to Rodney than MR James was to his character, but to have his haunting look like John puts an extra twist in. Your ending was so incredibly sweet though (Rodney stomping around to get John a tray). I liked it very much.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! Yes, I enjoyed writing that ending.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Kanetsidohi (Signed)
30 Apr 2008 3:37 pm
It shouldn't be, because it was scary, but this story was quite beautiful!

Claudia

Author's Response: Ah, how lovely -- that makes me very happy.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Besson (Signed)
28 Apr 2008 6:51 pm
This is fantastic. Incredibly eerie, with the perfect Lovecraftian twist to the world and characters. As a fan of both the Stargate world and the Cthulhu mythos, I absolutely loved it. Good work!

Author's Response: Oh, excellent -- thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: go suck on a lemon (Signed)
28 Apr 2008 12:30 am
Nice piece, quite scary at parts, and a great way for McShep to start. XD

Author's Response: Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: m (Anonymous)
28 Apr 2008 12:28 am
This was spooky, I really liked it. I was both glad and sad that all the entity did was disturb a few nights sleep. Thanks and write more stuff!!!

Author's Response: How cool -- so glad that you enjoyed!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
27 Apr 2008 8:12 pm
I kind of think I'm glad that I read this story on a sunny afternoon with the windows wide open. If I read it after dark, I'm sure I'd end up lying wide awake in bed, waiting for the door to slide open...

And then I'd have a minor freak-out, because that's exactly what happens every night when the cats come to snuggle. ;->

Author's Response: Yes, because that is what cats live for. Snugly little demons. :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Helena (Anonymous)
27 Apr 2008 3:17 pm
Oh my gosh, this was amazing and so creepy! I've never been one for scary stories, but this sprang me by surprise, and I couldn't stop reading! I'll have to re-read it, since I think I missed a few points (the entire messaging thing --yes, the most important part of the story!-- and how it's possible for McShep to occur if scary-phantom Johns are haunting Rodney), but seriously, I'm speechless. I even looked up Lovecraft afterwards. Were your phantoms based on a work of his? Oh! Oh, do you think I could write something with similar phantoms without stepping on your toes (and not stealing your whole story either, don't worry)? Something about this has really grabbed me. Honestly, I can't bear scary movies like The Reaping (though I kinda wish I could, since it looked a little interesting), but after reading this, I'd love to give it a try!

Totally awesome. Also, I'm going to turn on all my lights now. ^___^

Author's Response: My story was actually based on a classic ghost story "Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad"rn (1904)by MR James -- you should really go read the original. There are lots of versions available online. Thank you so much for the very generous comments.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.