RSS
Reviews For Irreplaceable

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Domino (Signed)
02 Dec 2009 4:32 am
I thoroughly enjoyed this fic. Well written and now a favorite. I have this fic in a folder on my computer and I re-read it often.

Well done!!
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: slayerstoryguy (Signed)
17 Jul 2009 12:12 am
This story was wonderful I just found it from a search on sgastoryfinders com on LJ. Everything from the characterizations to the plot was both well done and original. I would recommend that you change the summary thou because if I had seen only that I would have gone right by it thinking it just another in a long line of trite shep whump stories.
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: angelwings (Signed)
20 Apr 2009 6:27 pm
i realise i've reviewed before, but i just re-read (its added to my faves) and i just wanted to again say what a wonderful and incredibly detailed story this is
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
15 Mar 2009 4:47 pm
I very much enjoyed this story and wanted to let you know that I'm a satisfied reader :)

I don't normally read Gen fic (I'm a McShepper to the core) but I always look for, and enjoy, stories with good characterisation, character study, and interesting plots - this fic had them all in spades.

I thought your characterisation of Sheppard was incredibly in keeping with what we've seen of him in Canon, it was also very consistent throughout the story, which strikes me as a hard task. John Sheppard is not an easy character to write, SGA writers don't give fans much to go on in terms of his motivations and his character; Joe Flanigan is much more helpful with his excellent portrayal (in my view his acting saves Sheppard from being flat and stereotypical) but even he can do only so much in terms of fleshing out Sheppard as he is limited by what he is given in scripts. The Sheppard in your story was wonderfully 3D and you brought him to life very believably, made his feelings, behaviours, and actions very plausible.

Your writing let us into the hidden parts of the Atlantis characters and let us see their neuroses and insecurities without ruining the capable outward personalities that we, as fans, love; you gave them extra depth and kept it all within the bounds of what we already knew about them. I really enjoyed your descriptions of Rodney, and the other Expedition members, while under the influence of Lucius (it was very chilling to see their behaviour through John's eyes), as well as the story of how they came to resist Lucius' pheromone control. You set up a highly dark, and dramatic, set of circumstances and yet kept the plot developments and character behaviour beliveable and not in the least melodramatic.

The plot was incredibly detailed from the basics of how John would live on a daily basis, to the descriptions of the planet he was exiled on, and the culture of the Alien race he met. It was all fleshed out very well and hung together in such a way as to really involve the reader in caring about what happened to everyone in the story. I found the plot genuinely interesting and was impressed by your world building.

I was genuinely worried during the tense parts of this story when the characters were taking potentially dangerous actions. And even at the end, although I was fairly sure that John would come back to Atlantis permanently, the possibility that John might not return to the City felt very strong. Your story made me worry for a while that he would be stubborn and leave to go back to Elba. I was so relieved when Rodney made the first chink in John's armour (by showing him that he cared for him and was truly sorry) and made John start on the road to wanting to come home again. I love convincing tension that turns into a positive ending, I like the characters to go through trials and tribulations but to ultimately get a reward.

I love a story that I can really inhabit and that makes me care what happens to the characters. I like to get goosebumps when I read and your story gave me that feeling. I am definitely saving this fic as a favourite :)
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: kay (Anonymous)
09 Jul 2008 10:12 pm
Someone with LiveJournal membership needs to recommend this baby on the Stargate Recs. This story is wonderful!
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Diane (Anonymous)
09 Jul 2008 1:54 am
Could not stop reading. Had to know ,what next. Great story.
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Kanetsidohi (Signed)
07 Jul 2008 8:20 pm
This is a really good story. It was interesting from start to finish, something that is not always accomplished.
Great work!
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
07 Jul 2008 12:49 pm
This was a great story. I do love Sheppard-centric stories where he faces some sort of adversity and this one certainly had that! I really think you caught John's character, his mannerisms, that instinct for survival no matter what. I could see him occupying his lonely time as he did, taking care of his physical and mental wellbeing equally. The little introspection he allowed himself was insightful.

I liked the whole Gungan storyline and how that evolved. I also enjoyed the interludes with Atlantis and how John's friends were feeling, what they were thinking and how they dealt with what had happened.

Then there was Atlantis herself. I loved how she fit into the story, especially in terms of John and the connection between them. I loved that she'd been there early on when he'd desperately needed someone.

Great story- saved to my favourites ;).

Laura.
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
07 Jul 2008 9:46 am
Fantastic! I though it was very well-done. As a mathematician, I have nitpicks, but in theme it worked. (Main issue is that a proof of that magnitude would have more English sentences than equations!) However, the idea of gaining a mutual understanding through mathematics appeals to me a lot. The 3-dimensional Navier-Stokes equation would indeed be very important to a pilot, and it is still open!
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
07 Jul 2008 2:54 am
Wow. Wow. That was incredible! I loved it! I thought your characterizations were great, and the story intriguing. THank you so much for sharing.

PS: If the story had been posted in multiple chapters, I probably would have given more specific feedback.
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: kashkow (Signed)
06 Jul 2008 10:49 pm
I have to tell you, I am unable to write anything short. I just can not stop with anything less than fifty pages. There are those who say that I tend to run on, but I like to think that I just like to develop the characters. Glad you liked it!
Irreplaceable
Reviewer: angelwings (Signed)
06 Jul 2008 8:13 pm
just a little? whats your idea of big? love it by the way!
Irreplaceable
You must login (register) to review.