RSS
Reviews For Second Chance

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: iubeoiubar (Signed)
20 Apr 2013 8:56 pm
Hi, I loved this so much! Thanks for sharing. Also, your epilogue broke my heart, but it was definitely necessary because Jim deserved to have closure.
Keep up the great work.
iubeoiubar
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: atymer (Signed)
05 Dec 2010 10:22 pm
A wonderful heartfelt read. I was furious and heartbroken for John and so happy he got a Second Chance. Don't we all deserve one?

Author's Response: We do. We don't always get one, though sometimes, I think that is of our own choosing. I've enjoyed looking at the characters through the lens of 'what if' though. Thanks for the feedback!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: Miscbills (Signed)
24 Dec 2009 2:12 pm
Aww, great to read AU story. Happy ending.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've really enjoyed exploring the characters in this fashion. I'm glad you liked it. :-)
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: Tarlan (Signed)
13 Mar 2009 5:28 pm
Really enjoyed both stories so much :-)

Author's Response: Thank you! I *am* working on the reverse treatment of this story, in which it is Rodney who never goes to Atlantis (and boy, does that cause some serious problems!) but I have a long way to go on it just yet. :-)
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: Astralia441 (Anonymous)
15 Sep 2008 6:50 pm
One of the best SGA fanfics I have ever had the pleasure to read. Well laid out plot, detailed descriptions, wonderful interweaving of canon and AU, and I so love Jim, your OC. I was supposed to do some real work today, but once I started reading your story, I couldn't stop for anything. I look forward to reading more from you.

Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm practically speechless on this end--what a nice thing to say. I'm so very pleased you enjoyed it and am tickled to have been bad for your work ethic today. Thank you!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: Jantique (Signed)
11 Sep 2008 11:06 am
Trying to think of an original way to say, "This is a wonderful story!" Well, everyone is right. I was particularly impressed by your vivid descriptions and meticulous attention to detail. Your description of Virginia is lovely, as is the horseriding. When I write, I hurry through the scenery to get to the point, but you take the time to paint the scene.

When I read about how Atlantis drowned, I thought, 'oh, yeah, right!', at the same time wondering how you could possibly "fix" it!

Oh, and your characters. Jim Banks is a wonderful OC. He feels very real-and so do the horses and dogs!

I'm SO glad a) John & Sheppard & Rodney got together, and b) John got to say goodbye to Jim.

Keep up the good writing!

Author's Response: I always worry that my descriptions are going to cause people to start skimming :-)I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed them. You also noticed how I almost painted myself into a corner over wiping out everyone in the expedition as well! Your comments about Jim and the animals made me smile--Jim has become a real favorite with me and the animals *live* with me! :-) Thank you for such nice FB!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: sgakaz (Signed)
07 Sep 2008 5:24 pm
This was so incredibly moving and the first John finally doing what the other John had wanted but had never tried, so they both got Rodney in the end :)

Author's Response: I was hoping someone would notice that--that earth!John would be brave enough to reach out for the things that atlantis!John was afraid to risk. If I could have, I would have made things better for drowned!Atlantis too, but that was one problem I set up for myself that I could not fix. And *everyone* should get Rodney in the end, right? Thank you for your lovely FB.
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: jellicat (Anonymous)
07 Sep 2008 3:17 pm
I always really enjoy AUs but this was like a masterclass! The way you wove the AU story into canon was so believable. I wondered where you were going with the story when John dreamt of the drowned Atlantis, because I was expecting the obvious; Rodney to come back to Earth and somehow fix John. But the direction you took, while unexpected was obvious in hindsight. Of course they wouldn't have made it if John didn't go with them!
But of all the characters you came up with in this story the one I felt most for was Jim. I cried a lot at the end of the third chapter - so sad! Thank you very much for a most enjoyable Sunday spent reading this glorious tale.

Author's Response: I was never a big AU fan until I tried writing a few myself and now I'm totally addicted! I love examining the characters through a slightly different lens and seeing what happens when you try to tell their story. I have to admit too, I fell just a little in love with Jim. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story and that it was unpredictable yet satisfying for you. You really made my day! Thanks!
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
05 Sep 2008 12:45 pm
I stayed up late last night, just so I could read this story in one sitting, and it was absolutely worth every minute of being tired and sleepy at work today :)

I have loved each and every one of your Second Chance series to date, I'm always in awe of the ideas you come up with for these AUs and how you examine the various facets of the canon characters via their AU counterparts. I love the fact that you always get the canon and AU versions to interact with each other somehow, that is always truly fascinating as it allows us to compare them and it allows them to see how they could have been if things had gone differently in their lives.

I found the worldbuilding you did for the AU in which John is injured to be so interesting - you really brought this alternate world to life with the level of detail and emotion you described. I felt I got a really good handle on what made AU John tick and consequently a bit more of an insight into canon Sheppard. The mechanism by which you brought AU John in contact with canon Atlantis was very intriguing, also it was a very subtly developed plot element because I never suspected that his little keepsake would have such an immense effect on his life, even more so than the 'dreams' he experienced.

The juxtaposition of AU John's life as a crippled, disillusioned but bravely battling man, with his experiences of his alternate self's life in Atlantis was so painful to read but so rewarding also. It made me so pleased for him when he finally got to meet Rodney and got to start his life all over again. I was sad that Sheppard had to 'die' to allow this to happen, but in the end I enjoyed the happy ending all the more because it was tinged with sadness.

I hope you feel inspired to write more of these types of stories!!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm really impressed with the time and thought you put into this FB here; you have no idea how helpful and pleasing I find such FB to be. I really feel that FB such as this has gone a long way to teach me something about the mechanics of storytelling since I first started writing in this fandom.:-)rnrnI've really enjoyed exploring different aspects of the characters by looking at them from a slightly skewed viewpoint and I have to say, I'm already contemplating what the Atlantis expedition would have looked like if *Rodney* hadn't gone initially. Let me tell you, it ain't pretty! As a matter of fact, it's so grim at the moment that it might take me a while to figure out how to make it better in the end. rnrnI am so very pleased you've enjoyed this series! Thank you!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: pepper (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2008 11:43 pm
You made me cry, damn it!

Well written and very good though~

Author's Response: Um, sorry? *tries to contain glee* Thanks!
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: Mrie (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2008 11:08 pm
Another wonderful, wonderful story! I started reading this, decided it was going to be so delicious that I'd better go back and re-read the whole series before diving in here. Lovely, lovely, lovely! I adore long, leisurely tales, and this was a real treat! Can't wait to see what you write next!

Author's Response: Holy cow! That's some serious re-reading there. And you now have me beaming ridiculously. Well, I was planning for this to be the last in the series, but then a dark little story popped into mind that's begging to be told, so there *will* be more Second stories. I'm just tickled that you like them! Thanks!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: atlantisphile (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2008 9:34 pm
All I have to say is "wow." I actually stopped reading for a while just before the end because I didn't want it to be over. Thank you :)

Author's Response: Oh, what I nice thing to say! I've had to put stuff down too that I was galloping through and didn't want to end. Thank you!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
02 Sep 2008 3:05 pm
I actually read this over on the BigBang site. I thought the fic was very good. Very detailed. Even with your author's notes about spinal injuries, I didn't think it would be John that would receive the injury.

Loved John running around Atlantis naked. I was also glad that Jack at least sent Daniel to the funeral and that he was able to give some small comfort to Jim.

I also enjoyed seeing the relationships John was able to forge after returning home and even after being injured.

Thanks so much for all your effort in making this a great fic.

Author's Response: You know, I was worried that giving that warning would give too much away for the story, but I didn't want anyone to be blindsided by it when it occurred, so it's nice to know there was still some suspense for you! Hee! naked!John is proving to be an image that is sticking with several people. And Jack knew Daniel was the best person for the job, though he might not admit it. :-) Thank you so much for your very nice review.
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2008 8:06 am
Sad but so well-written! I couldn't stop reading!

Author's Response: You couldn't have said anything nicer! :-)
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2008 3:55 am
Another wonderful story. I've been happily reading your series and I just love the what ifs that you come up with, and the way you solve them. Always enough bad so the story isn't just fluff, and yet a happy ending where the reader can come away smiling. Well done, please keep writing.

Author's Response: I really believe in the happy ending--it's what I look for in a story myself. I'm so pleased you enjoyed this one--I thought I'd painted myself into a corner more than once! Thanks!
Chapter 1: Going 'Home'
Reviewer: poppy (Signed)
01 Sep 2008 11:02 pm
Fracking awsome, I so wanted them to both live in Atlantis and you found the perfect, if a little sad, way to make it happen.  I absolutely adore your stories which sometimes feel like my dreams, of course with myself right there with my two fav men!  Please keep with the beautiful melodies of words and I will read them, thank you so absolutely, marvellously, hauntingly very much.

Author's Response: That has to be one of the most lyrical feedbacks I've ever received--thank you so much!
Chapter 3: Home At Last
Reviewer: gilesbabe (Anonymous)
01 Sep 2008 10:08 pm
Beautiful story. I'm glad that they both survived, and that John got a chance to say goodbye.
Love your writing, please keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was a little worried I'd bitten off more than I could chew. Your feedback means a lot to me. I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 3: Home At Last
You must login (register) to review.