RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: berserkerrae (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2008 11:32 am
This is great. I love the sentinel/guide idea in other fandoms. I hope you continue this maybe make it a series. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! The Sentinel/Guide dynamic is a wonderful premise, especially when applied to sci-fi universe like SGA. Very smooth transition. If you can travel the universe, what's a few hyper senses between friends?
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2008 10:08 am
RE the consent issues- fair enough, I get what you're saying.

I think any plot device such as bonding, where the bond is not a conscious decision on behalf of the participants but is something outside of their control (in this case genetics and outside societal standards) and particularly where the (seemingly) more reluctant member of the pair appears to be given a reward (pleasure) for pleasing the (seemingly) more dominant partner can be open to a different interpretation.

For some people any situation where choices are limited or taken away from innocent individuals, even (or sometimes especially) if it's "for their own good" can be a consent issue, more so if the situation is sexually charged. I admit I've never seen The Sentinel, so maybe these things are dealt with in such a way as to skirt the whole thing :)

That is more what I meant about consent, rather than "John pressuring Rodney into doing something he doesn't want to do", which I get wasn't your intention at all :) I realise all that sounded quite negative but I did enjoy this fic (especially young McKay squabbling with his mother!) so I hope you're not too offended by the above.

Author's Response: No offense taken. It is nice to engage in debate and see how others interpret your stories. I should keep in mind that others are perhaps more sensitive to issues of consent. I understand that this is a deeply emotional topic. That is why it is such an interesting concept to explore as a writer. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Jaessamine (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2008 9:32 am
I really enjoyed this, thanks :) I was hoping there was going to be more too, if you're taking requests ;)

Author's Response: Oh, heck. Who doesn't take request in fanfic? :) That's how I end up writing half of my fics. I am glad that you enjoyed this fic and thank you for reading!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Fenchurch (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2008 5:09 am
End? What do you mean 'end'? There's more to this story and I am very keen to read it! not that I am not grateful for what you have shared with us so far...

Author's Response: Well, "end" for this section of the series. :) I wanted to see how it would "fly" before I got sucked into another universe.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: beckettsboo (Signed)
15 Oct 2008 2:42 am
omg! i love you soo much right now! anything with john and rodney in their teens is my favortie! i love this story and the teenage snark between the two of them! more please please please! look out MIT here comes McShep!

Author's Response: MIT beware the MCSHEP! I am glad you liked this start of the series. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Cloudwalker (Signed)
14 Oct 2008 11:19 pm
There's going to be more, right? I'm liking this version of John, plus I'm a sucker for sentinel stuff. :)

Author's Response: You mean teenage John in red hightop sneakers? (snort) Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Haddaka (Lee) (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 10:57 pm
Oh!!! Excellent!!! Tell us that John's already been accepted by MIT and he's just playing with Rodney. MORE! MORE!

Author's Response: Well, I think John's dad can pull some strings and tuition isn't an issue. I do think you will see them at MIT. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sherry (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 10:53 pm
I am totally loving these Sentinel/Guide stories with John and Rodney! Yours is a wonderful addition and I sincerely hope that this won't be the last I'll be seeing of this story.

Author's Response: I do plan more. Thank you for commenting!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Elly (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 10:29 pm
OMG I love this with an unholy glee. Sentinel fusions always thrill me and I love how you've made your fic different than everyone else's. Of course they're exceptional, they're Sheppard and McKay. *g* I love their voices here, and their dynamic. And Rodney's mom not needing a man! *chortles* Awesome.

Brava! Please tell me you're writing more. :)

Author's Response: Nice! I am not sure I have ever ranked "unholy glee" before. :) The Sentinel/Guide dynamic is one of my personal favourite genres, so I just wanted to add to it. I like how other authors have taken it on, but I am also glad that you thought I had something unique to add. Thank you kindly!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: raphe1 (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 10:29 pm
God, this is brilliant! So snarkily perfect! I was laughing the whole way through. I am so delighted to read you are planning to write more - hopefully LOTS more!!!

Author's Response: Snark is a blessing! Thank you for reading and commenting. And is a great compliment to hear that I made you laugh.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 8:30 pm
You've got some slightly dodgy consent issues here, but other than that - nice story.

Author's Response: I do not think there are any consent problems with this story, though I do appreciate you may have another opinion. Have you considered that Rodney has a different perception of the situation? That his ego made his think that John is somehow stalking him? This is an instinctual bond, which Rodney really wants, even if he denies it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Goddess47 (Signed)
14 Oct 2008 8:12 pm
Complete? You've got to be kidding me! There's not more? ::pouts::

Pleeeeeeaaaaaassseeeee? More?

Author's Response: More is planned. :) Thank you for reading!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Kensieg (Signed)
14 Oct 2008 7:11 pm
Wonderful!!! I love how you wrote it. I'd love it if you wrote a sequel. John & Rodney at MIT!!!

Author's Response: I think that a sequel may be in order! Glad that you liked this!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: hunterofshadow (Signed)
14 Oct 2008 6:51 pm
Absolutely love this! *glomps*

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
14 Oct 2008 6:50 pm
Good story. :)

Author's Response: Thank you kindly!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ladyholder (Signed)
14 Oct 2008 6:40 pm
Ack! More! I like this! They are such... Teens!

Author's Response: Aren`t they just such teenage boys? (snort) That was the fun part in writing this!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.