RSS
Reviews For Broadcast Signal

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
12 Dec 2009 1:28 am
Soooo disturbing for me to read.. why, you ask? I'm reading along enjoying my Rodney-Time (yum...)and, okay, long haired girl (not so unusual, but something I identify with) but then... when I read her name I made an involuntary 'bark' of surprise... If I had a name like 'Sarah' or 'Jennifer' I'd be used to it, but I never see Lia in print. And *of course* she's gettin turned down for sex and practically crying... so feels like my life now
and okay, *now* you're freakin me out, cuz I just read the part about the hair ring, which is eerily close to some plans I had for my very recently 'trimmed' hair (10in. worth), cuz see, jewelry fabrication is 'MY THING.'
So this was a really weird read for me, but of course I enjoyed it just as much as your other stories -been working my way from earliest on up... oddly, did that with Cephalopod first, and randomly one of your stories was the next to give me that, 'must read more from this person' feeling. Kinda wacky that you know each other! Thanks for sharing all your awesome stories. Sorry if I've been Loquacia Verbose-a-ton, I just had to share my astonishment.

Author's Response: Wow! That is kinda freaky--especially since the Lia character came out of *nowhere* and when she appeared in the story I was completely surprised! That's funny about me and Cep too. I'm so glad you're enjoying the stories--thanks for letting me know!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
28 Mar 2009 7:45 pm
Good one :)

Author's Response: Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Bad Wolf (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Oh wow. This was quite the fic. The emotional response when Rodney thought the team was dead. John in his various forms as the Heart of the city. The whumping! The love! That little thing we like to call plot! :D A very enjoyable read. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: You have no idea how this makes me smile. I really struggled with this fic and almost dropped out of the sga_santa challenge because I didn't think the story was worth pursuing, so it really pleases me to know what you liked about it--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Bakaness (Anonymous)
15 Jan 2009 10:09 am
That was mind-blowingly good, with spot-on characterisation. I'd like to second everything Ciar has said, since I can't think of anything original to add. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! This story refused to play nicely when I was working on it, so it really is a relief to know it turned out better than I thought it had. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Alinea (Signed)
10 Jan 2009 12:37 pm
Perfect, satisfying, tightly written story that wastes nothing and impresses technically and engages emotionally. You do the masking of plot details so well, the John a.i. is so well done. thank you for yet another story that is going straight into my favourites section.

Author's Response: Your FB has sort of left me speechless with pleasure--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
09 Jan 2009 10:56 am
LOL! Love the T-shirts! I loved your Rodney and John in this. It was interesting to see what clothing and what physical appearances John would manifest for himself. Intentional or not. Also, Lia was awesome. "I'm not old enough to drive" LMAO!

Author's Response: I have a friend who keeps sending me links for the best t-shirts and I want them *all*. I had a blast playing 'dress up' with John as well. And as for Lia, I *still* don't know where she came from, but I'm glad you like her! Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: nastyshrew (Anonymous)
04 Jan 2009 4:08 am
awesome story - great pacing, original concept (John's various outfits were a delight to picture :D) and the voices really rang true. Loved Lia as well, its rare to actually like an OFC but she was particularly good.

Author's Response: I had a stack of photos of JFlan in various roles and I just sort of scrolled through them in chronological order. For some reason, it amused me a great deal to write that in. :-) And Lia came out of *no where*! I didn't see her coming until *bang*, she was there. I'm so pleased you liked it--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: entropy_maximum (Signed)
03 Jan 2009 7:36 am
about the link, it puts www.wraithbait.com/ before the actual link to the shirt, i just removed that bit and it worked, i don't know if it's something the site (wraithbait) has done or something you put in accidentally? but it's there. just thought i'd let you know.

Author's Response: Ahhhhhh. Huh. I have no idea how to fix that. I can try putting it in as an html format instead of a link and see what happens--thanks for the info!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: entropy_maximum (Signed)
03 Jan 2009 7:33 am
absolutely amazing, the bestest not-dead-team, captured-rodney fic i've read in some time.

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to keep keep the team as a very real presence in the story even though it was mainly about Rodney and his reactions to the situation. I'm glad you liked it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Becs (Signed)
02 Jan 2009 1:58 pm
Great Story. I'd love to see a sequal

Author's Response: Someone else mentioned that as well and I guess I did leave Lia kind of hanging... :-) You've given me something to think about--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: flubber (Anonymous)
02 Jan 2009 6:49 am
I loved this story.
I
It was so sad to think of the team being dead but I had a good feeling that they would all be ok somehow. Even tho I was very sad about how Rodney thought that he was seeing John a lot.

What I was not expecting tho was for John to be powering the AI. It was a nice plot twist and it added to the story.

I also liked the way you had John questioning wether he should have stayed with the AI. It gave the story a poignancy that was good.

I really did like the ending with the shirts. That would have been one meeting that I would have loved to attend. (Just to let you know that the link to the the t-shirt doesn't work. It goes funny when you try to use it! I persevered tho and no that i have seen the t-shirt in question it is on my list of things to by!)

Author's Response: I am sorry about the link--I just discovered myself that it is not working and am trying to track down the site again--I want one of those shirts myself! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
01 Jan 2009 8:12 pm
Excellent fic. Poor Rodney, all alone, in pain and believing the others dead :(. I was intrigued by John's appearences, yet also dismayed by the options. At least he gave Rodney some much needed normalcy. It was a big relief to see everyone was ok, and an even bigger relief to see Rodney talking to John. If you can call it talking *g*. Very hot and sweet and I liked John's slight hesitance and Rodney's disbelief of it.

Laura

Author's Response: I was flailing about for a concept for this story when my eye fell on a stack of photos of Joe Flanigan in other roles--hence his odd appearances. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it--I really had mixed feelings about this one. Thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Kira (Anonymous)
01 Jan 2009 6:26 pm
Great story. Heartbreaking in places yet happiness in the end

Author's Response: Which is my personal favorite kind of story too, so I was pleased to get that as a prompt. :-) I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
01 Jan 2009 4:52 pm
This is a great story and poor Rodney made to suffer so before he figured it all. :)

Author's Response: My secret santa prompt was for Rodney whump but with a happy ending, which is my kind of story. :-) Even so,I had a bit of a time figuring out where this story wanted to go. I'm so pleased you liked it--thanks!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
01 Jan 2009 3:57 pm
Gosh, you do write such good stories!!! I love the plots you come up with.

I think this story, summed up Rodney and John's characters so well: Rodney is stronger, kinder, and braver than he thinks he is; John feels a strong guilt for waking the Wraith, very protective of his team, and a desire to sacrifice himself for the common good. Both men feel an awful lot for each other and both men worry that to admit his feelings would destroy their friendship.

You managed to convey these traits in John and Rodney in such subtle ways and to give insights into their characters by their behaviour and actions throughout the story.

Another favourite McShep story for my list :)

Author's Response: You have no idea how much I appreciate such detailed FB--I really credit feedback with teaching me an awful lot about writing in the last two years since I've been posting online. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Lithium (Signed)
01 Jan 2009 1:18 pm
Great job! Wonderful plot! Creepy A.I and poor Rodney not being sure if he was just seeing things. Anyway, you are an amazing author and I bow to you and thank you for wonderful mchep!

Author's Response: Thank you for such nice FB--I really found writing a story for a specific recipient (as opposed to the anonymous masses) very intimidating and I really struggled with this one. I'm so glad you liked it. :-)
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.