RSS
Reviews For When I Sorrow Most

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Michael Sharpless (Anonymous)
11 Feb 2009 12:32 am
Wow. Phenomenal story, beautiful pacing, characters spot on. And then putting in real theoretical physics with the strangelets. Did I mention Wow? But what blew me away was Rodney's reaction after the rescue. I do think that inside he always is in emotional turmoil, but you hit on a remarkable insight about the human condition. Outcomes may overwhelm us with titanic and contradictory emotions. I didn't see it coming, it was perfect. A masterstroke. Thank you.

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you for your wonderful comment! I'm glad you enjoyed the story so much - especially that you got a kick out of the physics! *g* I have to admit that at times I was really afraid I was going to mess up the ending. It was really important to me to finish the story properly and not just have the story end upon John's return. I had a clear idea of the emotions I wanted to portray and I am so pleased to hear that they came through to you. Thank you again for your kind words. cep xxx
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Jantique (Signed)
09 Jan 2009 8:59 am
Lovely story. Great presentation of Rodney's character, with all its facets. And I do love a happy ending!
Very well-written.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Zafra Davian (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2009 2:07 pm
No, you're not the only one. :)
This was great. The bereaucratic idiocy, the team not giving up - so true! And who doesn't like a nice happy McShep ending?!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: NC (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2009 3:08 am
Am I the only one who thinks Lorne and Radek were awesome here?! :)

Author's Response: I wasn't entirely planning on them appearing to quite the extent they did - they both just sort of showed up & demanded to help! *g* Glad you like my take on them! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
06 Jan 2009 8:48 pm
Wonderful ending. This had everything- daring rescue, perilous problem that needed solving, a proper greeting for the returning heroes and the emotional fallout. I could certainly see where Rodney's struggle came from; how he'd been so focused on finding John, to the exclusion of all other emotions, that once he'd achieved that goal he didn't know what to focus on anymore, so all the other emotions were able to come flooding back in all at once. Certainly a lot to deal with, especially considering Rodney's not the most adept person when it comes to emotions. I was pleased to see that John understood, though there was that hair-raising moment when it seemed Rodney was going to let him go. I'm glad he came to his senses in time and the final scenes were both hot and tender; showing their frantic need to reconnect and to have 'still alive!sex', yet also allowing their love to blossom and any remaining doubts to be washed away.

Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments all the way through - I'm so glad you enjoyed it. This was a story that was in my head for a long time before I actually wrote it and, although at times it drove me mad, I am pleased with how it turned out. Than you again. cep xxx
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
06 Jan 2009 7:08 pm
*Eep* I'm glad it's not a dart that took John, but it leaves a lot of questions about who and what *did* take him and why? It's beginning to look like John might have been right to distrust Trin. I'm glad to see the rest of the team on the right track at last and I loved how Radek and Lorne played their own parts.

Laura.

Author's Response: :)
Chapter 2
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
06 Jan 2009 4:03 pm
That was a great story and touching. Especially the end. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! cep xxx
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
06 Jan 2009 2:47 pm
Great start. I liked the present mixed with flashbacks. Seeing John and Rodney taking the plunge and being happy made Rodney's loss all the more palpable. I'm glad to see he's got a new idea. Hopefully it will work.

Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you! cep xxx
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.