RSS
Reviews For Dumbstruck

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sheppard'sPie (Anonymous)
01 Mar 2009 2:55 am
What a wonderful, detail-rich fic....truly amazing writing. What I truly like in the story is the way you wrote John's thoughts, and reading them made me feel as if I were there, with him. Truly enjoyable story, with McKay and Sheppard. I love those two characters, and you have both their voices down pat. I'm in awe. Well done, Celophad and Madison. :-)
I have found two new writers and I look forward to reading all fics you both have written together and individually.

BRAVO to you both!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! We always enjoy writing together so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the story too. :) xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Reflex (Signed)
16 Feb 2009 1:52 am
I love it. All of it. But in particular I loved your character voices, especially Ronon's. The plot was wonderful as well, and the way you mixed the two different crises and had them escalate together was a joy to experience. It was well worth staying awake until three in the morning on a Sunday for. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - we hope we didn't make you too tired! :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sandy (Signed)
11 Feb 2009 8:09 pm
This was a great story. I finally tumbled to the fact that John had an ascension device stuck in his head shortly before the reveal, and I thought that was an amazing explanation for it. Those idiotic Ancients and their shortcuts - as Rodney rightly ranted. :-)

I really enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Hey, ancient devices are very handy things indeed plot-wise! :) We're so glad you enjoyed the story - thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
11 Feb 2009 2:34 pm
Hello again, I am leaving a second review because I don't think my first attempt was terribly coherent in trying to describe exactly which elements of the story affected me most.

I really enjoyed how you established and demonstrated John's self-reliance throughout this story, in particular during his time in the prison camp when he was able to use logic and his native intelligence to figure things out. You showed the capable nature that is at the core of his being and I found it fascinating and reassuring to see that being brought to the fore. It's not an aspect of John that got a lot of airtime in canon and that's a pity.

I adored the time you spent showing Rodney's devotion to John, and I was so glad that you emphasised that Rodney feels that protective of, and loyal to, John all the time and not just because he felt guilty for getting John in trouble on this planet. Rodney's guilt and horror at the thought that his John might be hurt, or gone forever, was palpable for me when I read your story. It showed that he loves John just as he is, in fact he loves him because of who he is. Rodney doesn't fall for the outward glamour, he falls for the man inside. I do love the many examples you included of the reasons for them loving each other and wanting to be together :)

I loved getting the chance to see John without his guard up - it was still essentially him but a softer him and that was nice to experience. It made me think that it was sad that John Sheppard is the way he is because of the less than great things that have happened in his life. The people he has known in his past have made him defensive and made him strive to fight his own nature. Having Rodney in his life is good for John and actually encourages him to be himself more than I think he has for a long time.

I enjoyed reading about a Rodney who actually knows John much better than he thinks he does. My heart was warmed by the fact that John had memory fragments of Rodney that brought him peace when he had no idea who, or where, he was. Their instant rapport, and John's feeling of trust for Rodney on first meeting him in this story, aptly illustrated their strong connection which then continued throughout the story and made me so happy to read on.

And finally, I loved your science and your story behind the Ancient implant and the ravening bacteria that infested the City. They both felt so plausible - in fact the entire story felt that way to me, it felt like I was watching a particularly good episode of SGA. I hope that you take that as the sincere compliment it's intended to be :D

I can't wait to read more stories from you both, either as a team or individually!

Author's Response: I can only echo Madison and say how much your detailed feedback means to us! I completely agree with you about the best SGA eps - the ones that are strong character-led pieces with the action fitting in nicely with the personal interactions - and I am so glad that our story worked for you in this way. I love collaborating with Madison and I think her John and my Rodney fit together well, so hearing that you found their relationship moving and real also makes me happy. Thank you so much for your kind words! cep xxx
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
11 Feb 2009 12:46 am
:>) I totally enjoyed this story. The creation of the device and the side crisis was clever and I enjoyed the build up of the story and how it forced John to take a much closer look at himself and Rodney. Great story, thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it - thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
10 Feb 2009 8:43 pm
Wonderful story. I really felt the frustration on both sides as John failed to respond to whatever was said to him. I liked that we got John's pov for some of the fic so that I knew he was still there, alert, if confused. As he said to Carson, not being able to talk really made him think hard about what he wanted to say and th eway he offered himself to Rodney takes on even more meaning in light of that comment. I'm glad he found a way to actually *say* it. I loved how Rodney was still able to carry on conversations and snark, fully understanding John's opinion through his body language.

As for his connection to the city; it was a little bittersweet that he lost that, because it was not only useful, but also seemed to be welcomed by John. Yet, it wasn't worth John being unable to speak forever more and all the consequences that would've gone with that.

Great characterisations; gripping plot, both action-wise and emotional; and a lovely way of changing the dynamics of John and Rodney's relationship. Hot too ;).

Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - we're pleased you enjoyed it! It was great fun to write this together - working with John's amnesia and speechlessness whilst still having him interacting with Rodney, Teyla, Ronon and Atlantis. The idea that John is actually a lot freer without the restraints of his memory & his language appealed to us both & to read that the characterisations, plot & relationships worked for you makes us both very happy! :) Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Pinkpetunia (Signed)
10 Feb 2009 5:00 pm
This was wonderful. Like Ciar, I too couldn't wait to reach the end, at the same time not wanting it to ever end. The characters felt spot on.

Author's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed the story! Hearing that our characterisation felt right to you probably the best feedback we could hope for; thank you so much.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ciar (Signed)
10 Feb 2009 3:58 pm
Oh God I LOVE this!! I think you are a great writing team. Not only do you have a supreme handle on the characters internal lives and motivations, you have a really lifelike way of describing them in your stories.

I absolutely love McShep amnesia-fic and this was a wonderful example. I just had to read it in one sitting and absolutely couldn't wait to get to the end, while simultaneously hoping that it would never end - that's a good sign :D

I felt it was so easy to empathise with both Rodney and John in this fic and it had just the right amounts of angst, tension, and danger in the plot. I loved the beginning in particular - it drops the reader straight into the story and gives a really good idea of how John feels with his memory loss because he doesn't know what's happening so neither does the reader. We learn what's happening at the same time as John does so it gives each thing he figures out strong importance for us too.

Thanks so much for writing and posting this, it's going on my favourites list and I'm going to enjoy re-reading it and taking in even more of the wealth of detail and sensation I felt while reading it this time around.

Author's Response: Hi Ciar, Madison and I are having trouble both being able to reply to reviews. It seems like only I have access to the respond function as I was the one who actually posted the story. Anyway, here's Madison's reply to your lovely comment, I'll do mine above! :) ----- Madison here - You have hit upon the two things that please me most as an author to hear: characterization and the ability to allow you to visualize the scene. Those are the things I care the most about when writing and look for in other fanfic, so you couldn't have said anything nicer here. Your FB here (and in even greater detail above) is lovely and fantastic--more of a critique and a review than simple feedback and it is what *every* writer of fanfic craves--specific details about the story that made you happy. :-) Thank you!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.