RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
04 Oct 2010 6:47 pm
Ok I'm starting to LOVE Rodney and Eric, so I'm enjoying this fic a lot. Great job!

Um, just one quibble, and I used to work for the military (not as a soldier but as a civilian) so I know this is super important- junior officers are NOT called inferiors. A lot of the time they're the nes goin into battle so that term is offensive. The correct term is junior or subordinate.
Stopping
Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
04 Oct 2010 6:21 pm
So instead of deserting it, because i really do like your writing, I decided to skip forward a bit and I like this a bit better now- it's nice to see Connor playing a bit of a stronger role, or at least admitting his problems. Hopefully being on a gate team will be good fr him- if you are responsible for other people's lives you can't not be in good health.
Beginnings
Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
04 Oct 2010 6:05 pm
Hi hon! Just poking in to say I'm sorry, but I've stopped reading this fic. You're a great writer, and I wish I could keep reading it (and your bb fic is one of my favorites from this year), but I'm not really into romantic pairings where one person has to be protected and all- not my thing! Anyway, I'm sure the rest was great, and thanks for posting!
Hiding
Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
04 Oct 2010 5:44 pm
So i just started reading this. I really loved your writing in your bb fic, so I'm interested in seeing where you go with this... but right now I'm not so fond of your Connor.

Lol, he's too perfect. He's an awesome fighter, a brilliant linguist, a great shot AND a good pilot. I guess the only thing that makes him bearable is his inability to look after himself so he has to have several people doing the job! But I'm hoping you develop him more and we see people outshine him a little. That would be interesting.

Please don't see this as criticism- I rarely read fics with major OCs because I generally always find it difficult to connect with OCs who outdo my favorites (Sheppard, etc.) Your writing is great and it's keeping me interested. And I love your John and Evan! And your wise Teyla.
Over-thinking
Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
04 Oct 2010 12:57 pm
Hi just came across this fic (again- I saw it some time ago but decided to wait til it was finished). Anyway, super excited. Also a little confused by the OMCs but I'm sure they'll make sense when i read it from the beginning ;) Just came here via your bb fic.
Never Think
Reviewer: hgbubble (Signed)
16 Aug 2010 12:12 am
In "Becoming Connor Davids" Ace has written an epic love story filled with raw emotion, suspense and humour. The characters are fully developed and their dialogue and behaviour is totally consistent with the series characters. It's easy to imagine John, Teyla or Ronan delivering their lines.

The original character that is Connor Davids is fully formed and totally believable. His slow and often painful journey of self discovery draws the reader in. It's impossible not to like this character. Much like the denizons of Atlantis we learn to appreciate his many endearing qualities while also empathising with his reticence. We feel his hesitation, his anxiety and his excitement.

The manner in which his relationship with John evolves is heart warming; although it's hard to imagine any gay couple exercising so much restraint, the long slow seduction and furtive steps towards complete union holds the reader in a mesmerising spell.

As with all good love stories there is drama, and while not departing from the tried and true formula of "boy finds boy, boy loses boy, boy gets boy in the end", the plot is highly original and caught this reviewer totally off guard.

Serious issues are also covered with a delicate hand. Child abuse, bigotry and religious conflict are also explored through the lives of our characters but never becomes sanctimonious. We learn more about the cast characters and also develop a fondness for several other original characters that add colour and texture to the story.

Dedicated SGA fans will appreciate the smooth integration of episodes throughout the timeline. Some have been modified to suit the changed circumstances, but this reviewer found their inclusion a welcome addition to the story as the episodes can be reflected upon and provide a "so that's what happened after the credits rolled" feeling.

Thanks Ace for a great read!

On a personal note; I have been suffering from depression for just over a year and I'm slowly on the mend. This story, which I read late into the night over several days until it was finished, really lifted my spirits. I found myself yearning to rekindle the romance in my own relationship which I have been doing over the last week as I read this story.

In many respects we are all Connor Davids looking to find those last pieces of the puzzle that make us complete.

Kind regards,
B

Author's Response: Hey B, Wow! Thank you so much. I'm completely humbled by your amazing review. Beyond humbled, actually. It's incredible, there just aren't enough words. I hope you're doing better in your battle with depression, and I'm so glad my story was able to help in some small way. And I definitely agree. We are all looking to become who we really are and what will make us complete. =) Again, thank you so much. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading. Cheers, Ace
Arrival
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
14 Aug 2010 2:25 am
Sigh. Well that is the end. It works, the way you ended it. Its a good point for a long pause where the reader thinks--this is just the end of the written story, the emotional story carries on.

I've been blessed to read more than a few extremely long stories/series in a variety of fandoms. At the end of each I'm always in a bit of awe at the work & talent that went into maintaining the character voices, growth & plots developments over such a long arc. I haven't gotten there with my own fiction, and I heartily applaud those who do it and succeed.

You crafted a wonderful story, an engaging & memorable OC that I would love to see again. I really loved your John. And appreciated how vividly you fleshed out Evan & Ronan. I sort of wish Daniel could have been more of a visible friend once on Atlantis (he's my guy) but understand why he wasn't & am happy there was a hint that he might find someone.

The story has a strong emotional & narrative throughline to believe in. I'll say again how happy I am that I found & started your story. I

There are a few little things that leave me with questions. (or i read too fast & missed the answer). Did the gay-bashing Marines get sent away? What exactly was Cam doing on Atlantis? Does this mean poor clone Carson Beckett never existed or was found? (stupid show killing our Scot). And was Connor responsible for keeping the butterscotch pudding companies in business? (grin)

Off to your LJ to read the notes and so forth. Thank you for sharing this story!

Author's Response: I'm glad the ending worked for you. It's short, but when I finished writing it, there wasn't really anything left for me to say. More adventures will be in the sequel, but I had hoped to tie up all the loose ends from BCD. --- (sorry i can't make paragraphs, it doesn't work =/ _)) --- This definitely did not start out to be so long, I thought that if I made it to 70,000 words, that would be something, but this story just kept going, and going, and going... but thank you. =) --- Connor will definitely be back (in fact he already is, there's the beginning of the sequel posted at my LJ. I think there will be more of Daniel later on, honestly he's hard to write since I'm not as avid a fan of SG1 as I am of SGA, but I'm writing him in another series, so it gets a bit easier over time --- Thanks again for reading my story! =) =) =) ---- Questions: Marines sent away, yes. =) Cam on Atlantis - just visiting, he's not there to stay (I think). Clone Beckett - I never quite figured out how to work the clone Beckett back into the story. I miss him though. I've written him into my other fics cause I can't live without him. Lol. Butterscotch pudding - You bet your ass he is! Lol. Cheers, and thanks again for reading. - Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
14 Aug 2010 2:03 am
[grin] like we didn't see that discovery coming. (the preferences for top/bottom). Wonderfully and sensitively done. I had begun to suspect that part of Connor's reluctance/fear was a reflection of his conflict regarding love and religion. And John's sudden reluctance made sense as well. It was a wonderful scene between the two of them.

If I haven't said, one of the aspects of this story that is made of win is Evan & Connor's friendship. I always liked Evan Lorne and wished we saw a bit more of him. He's a vital part of this story & you've really drawn him as a distinct person. Telling Connor the story about his wife was just what he needed to hear, and Evan needed to tell it.

I really like Pastor Dave, and I have a lot of respect for Connor's old priest for giving Connor someplace to go. Pastor Dave makes a lot of sense in his explanation--I might steal his explanation the next "discussion" I have with a few friends.

I'm so bummed that I'm almost done with this story.

Author's Response: Lol, the preference was written into the one-shot of BCD I had written about... six months before I finished the story, lol, so I was stuck with it whether I liked it or not. (But I liked it, I really, really did, I thought it fit better with their characters.) I'm really glad you've enjoyed the Connor/Evan friendship. I agree that Evan was totally underused in the show. I would have loved to see a "Day in the life of Lorne" sort of episode... although huh, now that I think about it, sounds like a good fic... Lol. ---- Yay for Pastor Dave. I have to tell you that I was so aprehensive when writing that chapter because of how it could be received. So it's been really comforting to see how well my readers have received him. =)
All I Need
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
12 Aug 2010 4:38 am
wonderfully warm, sappy in the right way, great chapter for their bonding ceremony. It made me sigh with a full heart. I also like the party scene, everyone is so relaxed and just having fun.

Have to admit, I'm getting cranky with your Rodney & the way he never calls Connor by his proper name. But he & Eric are working for me. And I do like how you've written Ronan, especially the sub-plot of Connor teaching him about the computer. The show never bothered going beyond the "mute warrior" roll which underestimated the character possibilities.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. =) I think it's just teasing, mostly now, for Rodney, and I thiiiiink later on he stops... you really do make me feel old just trying to remember my own story. *g* I'm glad you're enjoying the Rodney/Eric though, and the Ronon. I always thought he could do so much more. Sometimes little itty bitty character things would sneak out on the show and I loved them all! =) Cheers, Ace
'Til Kingdom Come
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
10 Aug 2010 7:01 pm
well then, after two chapters of trying to read while crying I'm relieved things are looking up.

In the meantime... I wonder if the presence of the N.Ireland Ranger we saw before the accident is going to come up again. Will John go back to get his picture from the little girl? Will anyone ever tell Rodney that it was Connor, then Eric who figured out something was wrong with him?

The thing with dr. grey (?) as the mole was a huge surprise. The poisoning then sudden brain surgery, then the showdown was riveting. When they were on Earth in debriefing was this kept a secret or what?

I laughed at your reply to my last review--don't worry no *cough*plot holes*cough* spotted here. So it must be a stealth one. The comment about unedited content was because in ch.28 when John first gives head to Connor there's a bracket note "edited content" & it skips to afterward; the actual sex is over on your journal. I think that's the only chapter it happened in thus far.

Author's Response: Whoops... I should fix that... sometime... *looks innocently to the left*... well, it might happen. *grin* Anyway, the Ranger doesn't come back, sorry. That is something that I wish I had worked in a little more... but hey! There's always the sequel. Lol. The picture I think is answered and I think... no?... to your last question there. The plot hole doesn't actually show up until about three maybe four chapters from the end. It's been so long, and I'm so old, that my memory is already fading. Sometimes I re-read the story and I'm like 'Did I really write this?'. Lol. Glad to see you're still reading. Cheers, Ace
Galileo
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
07 Aug 2010 6:42 am
huh, I thought that the version on this site was unedited (which is why i skipped here from ff.net). Ah well.

A lot of interesting new relationships evolving among the crew. Eric has a point when he talks to Rodney about how he refers to Connor--its excessive even for him, and rather passive-aggressive at times. The boy-toy references are demeaning & said in entirely too public of a manner at times. Then given Rodney's thing with Eric it's certainly a pot-kettle situation. :-D

Hoping that nightmare is not a portent of things to come. And its interesting how Atlantis seems to have a deeper tie with Connor than even John--or maybe she recognizes that he can fill a different roll leaving John free for physical security?

I've seen the expand the bed to fit a larger mattress thing a couple of times. Most notably in a story by james walkswithwind (zortified). Sure its fine you used it, it's only a common sense option after all.

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure everything on here *is* unedited. If the author's notes say otherwise it's because I *cough* forgot to remove the notice *cough*. But it should have all the NC17 parts. Sorry for the confusion. I have to admit that I can't remember *exactly* where you are in the fic... But you've actually *cough cough* found a bit of a plot hole from later on. Lol. You didn't hear it from me though. Cheers, Ace
Tasting
Reviewer: kaleecat (Signed)
03 Aug 2010 4:08 am
I started your story over on Fanfic.net, intrigued by a rec someone made on a yahoo group. I was a bit wary of a story centered around an OC, but willing to try because one of my all-time story series (in another fandom) features several OCs that I adore beyond reason. 17 chapters in and I'm so in love with your Connor, with the story--I had to come over here to read instead because I was afraid of missing anything good later on.

I appreciate so much the care you're taking in growing their relationship, and also the relationships with everyone around them. I sniffled just a bit when early on Connor's Irish accent reminded John a bit of Beckett's brogue.

The narrative is thoughtful, the character voices vivid and true to themselves, emotionally evocative such that I've smiled, laughed out loud and gotten teary-eyed at times. Its a wonderful story of adults, of navigating life changing moments both quietly profound and explosive and I'm only on chapter 20! You have no idea the self-control it takes to not skip to the last chapter to see how it all turns out. (I'm notorious that way).

I'm so looking forward to seeing how this story and these characters grow going forward. And I'm so happy someone led me to discover Connor and this story.

Author's Response: Hey Kalee, thanks for giving the story a try, despite your wariness about OCs. I do know what you mean, and I definitely appreciate everyone who clicked on it to read anyway. =) I decided when I started this that I wanted it to move slow, have them build something from nothing, so I'm really happy that that's come through and that that is an aspect you appreciate about the story. I'm definitely a skip to the end kind of person, myself, so I know how hard it is! I appreciate the self-control, nonetheless, if only because it will be better for you. =) Thanks for giving it a try. Cheers, Ace
Stepping
Reviewer: marlislash (Signed)
25 Jul 2010 5:32 am
I adored each word of your magistral fic, i'm an mcshep but i can see them with one another lover and Connor and Eric are perfect for them.
I love the cast and was pretty excited to see Cam and Daniel in Atlantis.
Like some other writers i prefer Rodney/Eric because Rodney is my fav forever.

I was very thrilled chapter after chapter and i really hope a sequel one day with a Rodney/Eric marriage or bonding.

Thanks so much to make me dream.

Author's Response: Hey Marli, Thanks a ton. I'm so glad you enjoyed my baby. =) I, too, love McShep, but it got to the point where I felt as though I had read it all and just wanted a break from it, so I started writing this and this is what happened. =) I didn't plan on Rodney being with an OMC from the start, but I'm glad it seems to have worked out well. =) I'm glad you enjoyed the addition of Cam and Daniel towards the end, they're fun to throw in. I'm happy to hear that you liked Eric, it's always nice to have an OC appreciated. There will definitely be a sequel, in fact, there's a small beginning of it on my LJ that I just haven't posted here yet. =) Thanks for reading. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: ellieangel1701 (Signed)
31 May 2010 2:18 pm
i have really loved this story it has made me laugh and chuckle and also made me cry, in a good way of course. you have covered so many issues and in such a sensitive and thoughtful way. again i just loved it and the ending was just right. i loved the rodney and eric chapters i think thats how rodney would react with a young and sexy lover ; )

thank youy again for the story and i look forward to reading more from you in teh future

ellie

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It means so much that I could get such an emotional response from a reader. (Especially if it's in a good way.) I'm glad you enjoyed the ending and the Rodney/Eric stuff. =) Thank you for reading. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: Robbie (Signed)
31 May 2010 7:24 am
After taking my time to read this over a week and a bit period; all I can say is wow.

After only discovering this site in the last few months; your story is a pure gem. It's very well written;the prose is fantastic and it left me hanging on word for word.

I feel like you really wrote for the characters; everything was in their persona which only just added to how "real" the story feels.

I loved everything about it- the ending (which I didn't want to come) truly did both the story and yourself justice.

I truly loved how you captured the romance (though a little disappointed about John loosing his memory- how could he forget such a grand person as Connor); but also the entire feeling of the Stargate universe.

Thanks for an amazing story; can't wait to read everything you write.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm quite glad you enjoyed the story. You're words are truly kind. Cheers, Ace
Arrival
Reviewer: Hasver (Signed)
17 May 2010 12:28 am
I get a happy grin each time I see an update for this story; I'm a little sad to see it end. It feels like a long journey taken with Conner, John, Rodney, Eric, Lorne, and so many others. A long way traveled with friends. You tackled some delicate issues with the care and thought they required. I'm gonna read this from the begining all over just so I can pretend the end hasn't come. I'll be watching for your name here and on LJ.

Author's Response: Thank you! It would probably sound really conceited to say that I get a happy grin every time I see a review for this story... so I won't say that. *grin* I'm also sad to see it end, but I think it was time. This would be the most appropriate usage of the word 'bittersweet' I think. And thank you, when I started I knew there would be some issues to tackle that would be more difficult than easy, but I was resolved and I'm really glad my readers like the way it turned out. Thanks for taking the journey with me. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: Q the Immortal (Signed)
10 May 2010 6:26 am
Now that the story has come to an end, I'm not disappointed. I would have perhaps liked more Eric/Rodney, but as this wasn't their story, I'm grateful for what we got.
I've genuinely enjoyed the slow character development, the build up to the sex and the fact that Connor had trouble accepting being in love with a man due to his religion.
I've also enjoyed Eric and Rodney's story (could you tell? :-)
I don't usually read anything other than McShep, and never WIPs if I can help it (i've been waiting for the next chapter of a Harry Potter fic to be posted for years - and I mean that literally), so I was so pleased to find a Sheppard story with a good pairing that has been updated regularly.
You've done an excellent job and I know what it means to put your heart and soul into your writing and post it, hoping people will like it, so I want you to know that I loved it and congratulations on a magnificent story. :-)

Author's Response: Hey Q, you know, I had no idea that Rodney/Eric was so popular until some peeps over at LJ told me they were. That's kinda why I included that Rodney/Eric chapter at the end, that definitely wasn't in the original plans. It's still a mystery to me that people like them, but I'm glad you do and so I apologize about the lack of them in the finale. You can trust that they will be in the sequel. =) I'm so glad you liked the slow character development. When I started that was all I really had in mind... I didn't want this to be another fic where (no offense to any other authors) they were in love by chapter two and in bed by chapter three. I wanted this to be slow, more real, more time for them to fall in love, be friends whatever. I'm also glad you enjoyed the religion aspect. I knew from very early on I wanted to include it, but I would have to tread carefully. So far I've only got positive responses (I'm kinda waiting for the other shoe to drop, lol). I started this because I'd read all the McSheps out there and I was honestly getting a little bit tired of them, but I know McShep readers love their McShep (who doesn't? =) so I've very grateful to anyone who gave this a chance at all, especially since it's an OMC. And thanks for taking a chance on a WIP. Dood, I'm still waiting on the Marriage Stone to be updated... I'm thinking that's just never going to happen, but hope springs eternal. =/ But thank you! Thank you for reading, for giving it a chance, and for leaving this wonderful note. =) Cheers, Ace
Arrival
Reviewer: FalconofLight (Signed)
09 May 2010 10:39 pm
I've reread this story a few times as i waited and each time i fell in love with Conner and all your characters. The last chapter made it just feel complete. an end that made me smile and felt like a comfy blanket. I'm glad you wrote this story.

Falcon

Author's Response: Hey Falcon, thank you! I'm so glad you've enjoyed it. If I can make someone smile, just one person, than my day is a success. I'm glad you enjoyed the last chapter. =) I did try and make it come around full circle, I'm a big fan of those. Thanks for reading. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: EmAnD (Signed)
09 May 2010 10:20 pm
ok so i gotta say i'm sad that BCSD has ended especially cause there are so many stories that you could totally write, which i'm hoping in the future you will. (puppy dog eyes)

But I can see how he has become who he is going to be and for Connor there really won't be drastic changes for him just the happy changes that we all go through because of time. Also I love how they came out to their team and Jim's reaction was great especially the "Please don't tell me you've been sleeping with Jackson this whole time." Hilarious!

Also I gotta say on your behalf, that guy who basically bashed you is such a du***. i hate ppl who do that; if they can't appreciate a fic or it didn't go they wanted, then don't comment especially b/c this is someone's hobby, and most ppl would have stopped ages ago and this would have just been another WIP. Sorry just had to say that cause there was like, no constructive anything and it irked the hell out of me and no author, especially you, deserves that kinda crap. (totally sound like I have a girl crush on you, ha ha, though if you didn't write such great fics I wouldn't be obsessing over them so much)

Just wanted to let you know that this is a great fic and, I know that others will agree with me, we are ecstatic that you finished, even if its not a nice pretty bow, which is not real life.

I like how you have left it open so you can revisit this when you would like or get nostalgic. (secretly hopes it will be soon)

Totally looking forward to your next fic whatever it may be. :-)

Author's Response: I've got to say that it's funny you called it BCSD because that's the name of the sequel. =) Although the B is a different word... =) And the many stories I could write will hopefully be in there. I've already kinda got one in mind, but unfortunately I'm just too busy to sit down and get it out. =/ -------------- And yay! You got it, the whole becoming thing. I had hoped at the end he would still be Connor, the Connor John fell in love with, still recognizable. So I'm glad you noticed that. Heh, and yay! for loving Jim's reaction. I had fun with that one. =) ----------------- And thank you, I appreciate your support. I can understand that he would have wanted more closure, I guess I just had nothing to offer. It's hard as a writer to have someone express disappointment or unfulfillment, but it comes with the territory I suppose. But thank you for supporting me and standing up for me. It is very appreciated. =) ---------- I'm ecstatic that I finished too, but I always knew I would. At the beginning, when I started, I promised myself that whatever happened, I would finish this fic. I hated all those author's who left things hanging. I understand that there's real life, but once you start something like this, there's also a commitment to the readers. ----- Lol. I'm already nostalgic and thinking things up for the sequel. Unfortunately I'm so dang busy right now I barely have time to reply to these reviews, something else I promised myself I would do. So I don't know when I'll get to it. ---- I'm working on getting Words out (the next in the Delicate series) and I'm WAY behind on my NCIS LA fic, lol, so I'm playing catch-up there for a while too. Other than that... who knows? The must kinda has a life of its own. Thank you so much for your support through this fic, it really means a lot. Thanks for reading. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
08 May 2010 1:52 am
Oh, wow. What a beautiful ending. :) I honestly loved reading this and I am so thankful that you had this idea and that you stuck with it!

I love how your wtote the charaters and their interactions with each other - it was all just so believeable and I thouroughly enjoied reading about all of the different adventures and drama between them all.

I think that this is just an amazing story, and will most definately be a favortie'd story on here, and it shall be bookmarked for the forseeable future on my browser.

Again, I really enjoied this and I just so thankful that you stuck with it and finished it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm am very glad you enjoyed it and loved it so much. It really does mean a lot. And I'm completely flattered to have something of mine bookmarked! Thank you for reading and leaving such amazing reviews. You've truly been encouraging through all of this. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
You must login (register) to review.