RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Huey36 (Signed)
07 May 2010 9:58 pm
Thank you for a wonderful story. I enjoyed every bit and look forward to reading it again & again.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad you liked it. =) Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: jdnokc (Signed)
07 May 2010 12:33 am
I have to admit that while I liked the story I am disappointed with the ending. There are so many places you could have gone with his deeper connection to Atlantis. And what about that hall we never got back to? And not catching the guys who were beating and trying to kill people? that is stupid. I find it hard to believe a city that advanced wouldn't have some kind of surveillance.

Author's Response: The ending was never meant to tie everything up. I know in a lot of fics that happens, but it was never going to happen with this one. Sorry you were disappointed with it. While I wish I could have addressed all the issues you brought up, this fic was getting ridiculously long and kind of time consuming. To address a couple of your points--not catching the bad guys: there were suspicions, but no hard evidence. People brought to Atlantis would have to be the best, the smartest, the most adaptable. I feel that extends even to the military members--they would be smart enough to evade surveillance equipment and John had his suspicions and shipped them home. This was an issue that I wanted to reflect real life. I know people who've been harassed and hurt because of personal beliefs or their sexuality. Their harassers weren't caught and often times they aren't. The hall: Something I was planning to address further in the sequel, and honestly yes, further in this story. But I began to lose interest and got a bit busy. Sorry if these all seem like excuses, but they're the only explanations I have. Again, I'm sorry you were disappointed in the ending. If I could offer you some kind of refund, I would, but all I can do is apologize. - Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: VickageDC (Signed)
06 May 2010 11:24 pm
I can't believe its over! What happens with the other couples? Does everyone get their happily ever after - Ronon/Keller and Lorne/Teyla? I know that it makes me an unrealistic sap, but I want everyone to get a good ending.

Thank you so much for sharing your vision with the rest of us. Writing can sometimes be a very thankless vocation - lots of people criticizing and nitpicking but all the while bugging you for the next chapter. Just know that there are a lot of us who appreciate the hard work it takes to complete a piece this well written and thoughtful. Bravo!

Author's Response: As far as I'm concerned, everyone gets their happily ever after. =) Thank you for reading. Thank you. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: scifigrl0 (Signed)
06 May 2010 9:42 pm
sorry I haven't reviewed before, but I love your story and have been reading it for awhile know.I would have liked to see how his telling Lorne's team about him and John went.But loved every thing else.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you've enjoyed it. I thought about including that but decided that it would go close to how it went with Connor telling his team so I ultimately axed it. Sorry. =/ Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: ozseaside (Signed)
06 May 2010 8:04 pm
I wait till the end of stories to review, hopefully to encourage authors to finish!! - mwa hahaha (evil laugh) and might I just say, that I have the UTMOST respect for your brain! or rather, the way your mind works. I don't hate them, but I have have an issue with stories that have gay character, purely for the sake of being gay. Becoming Connor Davids SO does not do that. I think your approach is perfect. It doesn't change who the characters are, from what we've seen on screen, and nor does it ignore the history we know as 'fact' - Kudos to you.... MASSIVE kudos to you!
I used to give a little yay in my head, when I started my machine, and saw that there had been an update for this story, and I think that's the best recommendation I can give - that I would wait with eager anticipation for the next installment.
I look forward to your next story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm pretty sure everyone who knows me think my mind works in very very odd ways, but I think odd works in fic. *grin* I'm glad you liked my approach to gay characters. I do try to keep things real. Thank you for your 'yays' and thank you for reading and dropping me a line, I definitely appreciate it. I'm not sure when the sequel will be out, but hopefully it won't be too long of a wait. Cheers, Ace
Never Think
Reviewer: EmAnD (Signed)
26 Apr 2010 11:38 pm
ok so i totally read this on ur LJ when you first posted but figured you'd have it go through a beta b4 you posted n e where else so i didnt comment, clearly i was wrong.

I like how their relationship has become, looking back you can totally see that this is where they were headed.

Also, it would be nice if in the future you would let me live in my delusions of psychic abilities. Though if you hadn't it would have been a while before I read this so I guess i'm kinda glad you did.

See you in the next chapter!

Author's Response: Lol, well there's only one chapter left of this story to test your psychic abilities on. Could still happen. ;) But I haven't been able to get a hold of my beta, and it was going on over a week, so I thought I would post anyways and then just repost. =/ And thank you, I do like that gift of hindsight, when you're able to see where things are headed. =) Cheers, Ace
All I Need
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
26 Apr 2010 2:38 pm
Awwww.... Now that's just the cutest! Yes, they really are perfect for each other. And I am so happy that Connor found the answers that he was looking for. And that he and John were able to share something so incredible. :)

Author's Response: =) I'm glad you liked it. I hope I can have something as incredible eventually. =) Cheers, Ace
All I Need
Reviewer: arms_plutonic (Anonymous)
24 Apr 2010 8:19 pm
Oh, and I forgot to add HOT HOT HOT!!!! Go Teyla and Evan, John and Connor!Definitely the best kind of sexiness - with love, understanding and care for your partner above all.
All I Need
Reviewer: arms_plutonic (Anonymous)
24 Apr 2010 8:15 pm
WOW - great chapter with a perfect mix of tenderness, angst and humor! Love the way you write all the characters and their relationships, from John & Connor's on down. Very sensitive handling of Connor's religion, so glad he made the time to talk to the 2nd pastor. Can't wait to re-read the earlier chapters when re-edited.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really blown away by the response to this chapter, it really eases some of the worry off my mind since it is such a sensitive subject. The earlier chapters up to chapter...30? have all been reedited and reposted. I'm not sure how many more will be, probably just a few. =) I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. And *blushes* it wasn't that hot? Was it. *blush* Cheers, Ace
All I Need
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
31 Mar 2010 7:31 pm
Ah, so cute. It took me awhile, but I got caught up on the new chapters. I'm sad to see that it'll be ending soon, but I know you can't very well carry it on forever. I do love all of the relationships and where they're going and how you're paying each of them proper attention. So lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you. =) I'm definitely sad to see it ending to, but it's pretty massive already. =) Actually, when I think about it, the word count seems so high because there's always so much more to say. Glad you liked it. Cheers, Ace
Good Enough
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
29 Mar 2010 2:18 pm
This is great!! You suck, though, because I found this on Friday, and read all waking (and supposed to be sleeping) hours until I finished!
Good Enough
Reviewer: DKVJ (Anonymous)
28 Mar 2010 1:05 am
This is such a win story. I do love Eric and Rodney, though I was skeptical at first. I love how neither are very confident, but both are so full of love. I like the way Eric works out the compromise of needs, and how Rodney expects their relationship to last.
I won't mind if you never finish this book--as long as you continue with regular updates:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't think anyone's called it a 'win story' before, so I feel especially flattered (especially because I like that phrase a lot). I think I was skeptical at first too, lol. Beyond not being sure of the pairing itself, I wasn't sure if others would like it and OCs are kinda risky.---- I'm glad you like their relationship. I think just because of who they are neither of them are going to come into the relationship with confidence but I definitely think both have a lot of love to give. =) Lol, unfortunately the end is almost here for this story. There will be follow ups in a way, so it's not over completely, but after 550,000 words its pretty much time, eh? Thanks for leaving a note. I'm glad you liked the chapter (and the story). Cheers, Ace
Good Enough
Reviewer: EmAnD (Signed)
27 Mar 2010 9:42 pm
Ok so I totally willed this post into existence cause when I came on here I was like BCD BCD! ha ha Perfect, though, now I want more Rodney and Eric. I'm hoping for a story with just Rodney and Eric instead of the interludes but its just wishful thinking. They are so cute together.

I guess I just want to know what it would be like for them once Eric finishes school and how things change for him since Rodney is so much older and its becoming more obvious. Also how it would be for him when Rodney died, cause I refuse to entertain a universe where John/Connor and Rodney/Eric die in any way other than natural. Yea I know, glass is half full, but if you can't have happy endings in fics than where can you have them? :-) Great as always.

Author's Response: You totally have psychic powers (except that this post has been on my LJ for six days...=/ Sorry.) Lol, and I just can't write anymore Rodney/Eric. Gah. They're so hard to write. Well, not Eric since he's mine and I can make him do whatever I want, but Rodney... it gets frustrating.......Well I'm totally planning on doing the snippets of life after BCD, so there's definitely a chance you'll get to see it all. I'm not sure I could go around killing off my babies, so we'll have to see where it ends, lol.....I think between men the age difference isn't as pronounced as it would be between a man and a woman (just my personal thoughts), but the age difference IS significant and it definitely plays a part in their relationship. John, Rodney and Eric (Connor to some extent) have some of the most dangerous jobs in the universe, haha, the chances of them not dying a natural death grow slimmer everyday. Lol. But hope does spring eternal...Glad you liked it. Cheers, Ace
Good Enough
Reviewer: EmAnD (Signed)
18 Mar 2010 7:59 pm
ok so I'm really sad about the 2.5 chaps left but I can totally see why this is starting to dwindle, the becoming part of the title is def getting close, i'm wondering how your gonna do it in the 2.5 chaps cause i think you might need one or two more but i'm pretty sure that just my short sightedness or wishful thinking. :-D

u know i was surprised that Rodney wasn't up waiting for Eric and back on his 'r u cheating on me?" rant and i really am hoping you address why he spends x-mas alone cause that one is nagging at me.

i'm hoping for and dreading more b/c its all coming to a close but plz let us know when everything has been edited to your liking b/c i really would like to go back and read it over.

Author's Response: I can say this... I like to leave a few things hanging. I don't like everything to wrap up nice and pretty with a shiny bow on top, because life doesn't work that way and with my stories I try to somewhat emulate life when possible. So there will be a little mystery here and there, I think. The last few chapters have already been outlined and I'm actually working on two of them right now. There's one major issue (that plays into another major issue) left and that will be tackled in the chapter after the interlude, I'm sure you could probably figure it out. The last chapter is an epilogue of sorts that will (hopefully) help give a little closure to those who need it. I can't make paragraphs, sorry so I do this ----- As for Rodney not waiting up for Eric... as confrontational as he is (and I think we can all agree he's very confrontational), I think sometimes there are things you don't want to wait up for, things you don't want confirmed. Things that scare us and make us want to sleep instead of facing them. ----- The reason Eric spends the holiday alone was inferred/intimated at. I tried to make it subtle but I never know what is subtle enough. There's no current plan to include it in another chapter so I can just tell you here, what I imagined for him. It's quite dark, as a warning, which is partly why I didn't come right out and say it. As a child he spent the day by himself, his father would not have celebrated the holiday and in fact probably beat him on it, so Eric learned to just lock himself away from the world. ---- I'm not sure when I'll be able to get to more chapters, my computer recently died and while all my files are backed up it is a bit of a pain to keep hooking up my external. So there's a good chance BCD will be finished before all of the re-edits are finished, so I'm not sure exactly how I would let you know, I can change the summary of BCD but I'm not sure if that would help since I'm not quite sure how this site works. Cheers, Ace
Concupiscent
Reviewer: Don M (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2010 8:17 pm
Nice follow up, love the interlude with Christmas. Loved the part where Eric slipped away and maybe was but was not having an affair. So about 2.5 more to go and i look forward to them all. Hope to see some future work after BCD. The characters are very endearing and have become a part of so many lives, you have done an excellent job with their development. J and C are the best, I was a bit interested that Connor is starting to tell John how he really feels about their relationship. Look forward to the ending. I love it and there are so few authors that can keep my attention. Thank you

Author's Response: Every time you leave a review I always feel like 'thank you, I'm so glad you like it' can't explain half of what i feel. I'm so grateful you review, it sorta soothes the nerves, ya know? There's always this tiny bit of tension with each post... sometimes I feel like I've gone off the deep end and no one will follow me, so when I read your reviews I feel less uneasy and more satisfied, so thank you for that. There will definitely be post BCD life. Right now I'm thinking like one story and each chapter would be a one-shot sorta thing, like it would be complete on its own. That way I'm not tied to the story like I sorta am now. I'm so glad you love all the character development. I had no idea what I was doing when I started, and honestly I just wing it a little better now, but I knew what I liked in fics and what I didn't like and BCD just became this conglomerate of things I did like and one of them is character development. I wasn't sure how i was going to play it out or even HOW TO develop a character, I just knew I wanted to. And then the words started coming and I stopped wondering about how to develop a character because Connor was growing right in front of my eyes. John was changing him. Evan was changing him. Atlantis was changing him. When I started with the title 'becoming connor davids' it was a reminder that I wanted this character to grow. It was ambitious of me, I think, because then I actually had to have a character become someone. It was scary and now that I'm at the tail end of it, I still have no idea how I did it. But it's there and I'm so grateful that it's recognized and that you like it, and honestly I'm still so grateful that you read it. Thank you for continuously giving me a try. And, I'm glad you like it. =) Cheers, Ace
Concupiscent
Reviewer: dkvj (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2010 10:02 am
Are you going to end this? Please don't end this! I love this story, the couples and the story and the sweet and all the couples and especially John and Connor. And Eric and Rodney. Lovely!

Author's Response: Yup, it's ending, and soon. But thanks! I'm glad you like it!
Concupiscent
Reviewer: Icefalcon (Anonymous)
14 Mar 2010 7:48 pm
Oh my gawd. I will have you know that I've been reading this story for the past week in all my spare time...and actually making time as much as I could. You are a god.

I love the development of your original character and the development of the relationship. I cannot wait to see more. I hope you keep it coming! There are tons of praises I can give and I just don't know where to begin...so I'll just sum it up this way...I love this story and hope it never ends!
Answers
Reviewer: EmAnD (Signed)
08 Mar 2010 7:31 pm
Saw this posted last night and I had to stay up to read it. Totally tired all day cause of it but toally worth it!

I'm so glad that no one was permanently injured cause I swear my heart was gonna stop if it had taken longer to find out that Eric was alive.

oh and the scene with Eric and Rodney so cute!! Can totally see how Rodney is so head over heels. Dunno if you have time but would love more of them if possible. Oh and how Rodney likes Connor but wont admit it, so like him.

And I love it when Connor takes control, John totally whipped and loving it. (Squishes them in a big giant hug)

I'm so gonna have to read all of this over again after the end comes. Though I hope its not too soon cause like I said this story is awsome and should go on forever!

Author's Response: Hey! Sorry to make you so tired. I'm glad it was worth it though. Actually, originally I was going to kill Eric off, but a ton of readers protested that idea, lol. So I let him live. Sorry to worry you. =) So right now, the plan for the rest of the story is -- Christmas interlude/chapter, Rodney/Eric interlude, chapter, epilogue. So there will be a bit more Rodney/Eric in the future. And I love Connor taking control too... all part of the 'becoming' process. (And, oh yeah, John is completely whipped.) I'm working on the reedits of the early chapters and hope to have them posted at the same time as the epilogue, I've already got 5 up on ffnet, but I'm waiting on my beta before posting more. I'm so glad you're enjoying this. Every review means a lot to me, and even after all this time, it's hard to believe that people would read my stuff, so thank you for reading. =) Cheers, Ace
Answers
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
08 Mar 2010 11:06 am
Okay, still not happy that he was attacked, but at least you did continue to write post haste. And just "aw" to how Connor handled John passing out. Such a little tyrant to get what he wants (in a completely nice way, of course).

Can't wait for more! And I they figure out who attacked Eric.

Author's Response: Sorry. =/ And i'm already working on the next chapter, promise! It has priority above all! Lol, Connor is definitely the nicest tyrant there is. *grin* Cheers, Ace
Answers
Reviewer: Bene Violent (Signed)
04 Feb 2010 11:12 pm
Found a little (non grammar/spelling) error: When Eric is looking for Connor after finishing his lab report, he says "Johns to Davids" twicwe and then "Davids to Control Room." Obviously it should be Johns and not Davids. I'll let you and your beta find any syntactical errors (unless you want help?) but I'll keep you informed of glaring errors like these :D.

As for rereading it: loving it just as much the second time around :).

Author's Response: Hey, thanks. We're being pretty thorough and should catch them, though. My beta is much better at it than I am (for a multitude of reasons) but I shall add this to the list. Cheers, Ace
Alterations
You must login (register) to review.