RSS
Reviews For Inukshuk

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Atlantis_Angel (Signed)
15 Apr 2011 5:27 pm
This story is so textured and evocative you get totally immersed and I found myself getting annoyed with people for interrupting my reading.
A must read.
Part I
Reviewer: lilimayhem (Signed)
10 Aug 2010 10:41 pm
I started this story and couldn't let go. Excellent read. Awesome work, I truly enjoyed your story. A moment, sticks out in my memory...I choked with Rodney that second time in the smoke. Nicely done.
Part VI
Reviewer: ancient_reader (Signed)
18 Jul 2010 8:56 pm
Thank you for this extraordinarily beautiful, suspenseful story. I was especially affected by how John's reservoir of shame and regret seemed to make him especially vulnerable to Adahi.
Part I
Reviewer: deliciouslyweird (Signed)
12 Oct 2009 3:39 pm
Thank you for this lovely angsty fic.
Part VI
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
24 Apr 2009 7:56 pm
I liked the team getting some quiet time to rest, recuperate and reconnect. I particularly liked the way the 'vacation' allowed John and Rodney to bond.

It was sad to see John so distant; caught up in his memories, even after he was safe. I'm glad Rodney was able to help with that, but I'm also glad that wasn't his reason for acting. They were sweet, in their own way.

Excellent story. The characters were well written, the OCs were interesting and the plot was a great mix of action, drama and emotional moments.

Laura.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful feedback! Reading your commentaries for each chapter really made my day. rnrnI was aiming for a bitter-sweet ending - showing that even though the experience would stay with him, John was on the mend. I'm glad it worked for you.
Part VI
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
24 Apr 2009 6:51 pm
Yay, success! It was very worrying when it looked like the rescue mission wouldn't even get started, and there's still the worry about what, exactly, Rodney agreed John would do. Still, he's out of that tower, at least, and the Ancients all got the ending they deserved. Now they just need to fix John and he and Rodney need to explore things between them.

Laura.
Part V
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
24 Apr 2009 3:36 pm
Well, it's a great thing that John's still alive and at least sometimes healed. Still, it's not a good situation for him to be in otherwise :(.

Adahi is an interesting character. She's scary, yet not really a 'baddie'; she's not hurting John for the sake of hurting him, but because she thinks it will help him. It makes it hard to hate her and wish her ill, unlike Jorun, who just seems to be mean for the sake of it and deserves whatever he gets. yet, if it's a case of incapacitating or killing Adahi to save John, I'm afraid she has to go!

Haruveld is another interesting character. She seemed on the up and up, genuinely helping John, giving him someone to talk to and explaining everything that had happened to get to this point. But all that just made it worse when she stopped Adahi, sorry or not :(.

I can only hope, going by John's tally and knowing that Rodney was incapacitated for three weeks, that rescue is coming soon, before Adahi does anymore damage.

Laura.

Author's Response: I like your description of Adahi! She's actually been the first of the OCs I created -- Jorun and Haruveld followed after. The Ancients have always creeped me out and I wanted to write about a character for whom the whole power/consequence scheme went bad. Haruveld had a whole backstory, too: Before she came to the outpost, she was a gardener and a herbalist. Hence her creating the drug. rnrn
Part IV
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
23 Apr 2009 12:52 pm
Glad to see Rodney back to himself, both for himself and to get rid of some of the heartache the others were feeling. I wasn't really surprised that Elizabeth called off the search after Lorne and his team limped back in such a state. I understand her position, even though that doesn't make it any nicer to hear.

There was more heartbreak to find out just how much time had passed before Carson had his brainwave. Great that he cured Rodney, but there's that part of me that wishes he'd figured it out sooner.

I'm glad there's a plan to look for John. Was I reading Lorne right by thinking he was in on that plan?

Laura.
Part III
Reviewer: Archaeologist1 (Anonymous)
23 Apr 2009 12:46 am
I kept reading until early into the morning and then overslept. I was late to work for the first time in 10 years, it was that good. Both John and Rodney's psychological journey were compelling, even more so than the physical adventure. Impressive doesn't even come close to the right accolade. Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope your boss didn't notice :)
Part I
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
22 Apr 2009 8:36 pm
*eep* Very tense chapter. John and Rodney's ordeal was not fun, and just as it seemed they might get a break with Jorun, he dashed it all *grrr*.

I loved that John and Rodney never gave up, even if they got close at times. I'm glad that Rodney is safe now, if far from well. I admire John's sneakiness with what he wrote on the note, yet I also want to smack him for being a self-sacrificing idiot, too. Hopefully Lorne and Ronon will find John soon, though thinking back to the prologue, they're going to be cutting it fine. At least I know that Ronon and Teyla are alive and mostly well, that's two less people to worry about.

Laura.
Part II
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
19 Apr 2009 8:48 pm
This is an intriguing story so far. Where are Ronon and Teyla? What condition are they in that's stopped them from rescuing John and Rodney? How does that tie into the prologue?

As for John and Rodney; what's got John so on edge? Is it purely down to stress and strain catching up to him, or is there more to it? What about Rodney, suddenly putting himself forward as the one to be sacrificed?

Like I said, very intriguing.

Laura.
Part I
Reviewer: encchick (Signed)
18 Apr 2009 9:13 pm
I've spent most of the day reading this. So much depth and character and feeling in it. I love the subtlety of Rodney and Jorun's conversation, and how Rodney knew without saying anything what Jorun was. Adahi was frightening. A truly horrifying creature in her own right, and in that moment when John gave in, asked her to take his memory of despondency...I cried. It hurt. So well done. and Rodney's illness, Carson' impotence in curing him, and the quietude of Carson's relationship with Laura. Well done, all of that.

I'm so glad I saved this into my favorites. I knew when I first saw it that I wanted to read it, but I had so much other stuff to do, I had to put it off. Luckily, I had a free day to indulge myself and was well rewarded for it. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: "in that moment when John gave in, asked her to take his memory of despondency...I cried. It hurt. So well done." rnThank you so much! This whole scene was very important to me while writing -- it was supposed to be a turning point and a key to John's character. I'm very glad you liked it.
Part VI
Reviewer: Sej (Signed)
10 Apr 2009 9:57 pm
I was too tired to write a nice review after I read this yesterday, but here I am now.

Once again, your pension for vivid description has amazed me. I'm so much of an indoor person that flies and ants gross me to tears, but your writing always lures me into a state where I think spending a sunny afternoon hiking through a forest sounds incredible.

And I feel like the quality of your work is always getting better. Like "Still" felt so much like an actual episode, "Inukshuk" is like a film. One of the best Sheppard character studies I've read.

The reason I think this story goes a step further than "Still" is the way John and Rodneys' feelings develop and progress into intimacy. "Inukshuk" offers a very natural evolution for a McShep relationship, and the light dynamic they share at the end feels very right.

God, what else...? Hmm, there were a few points while reading that I almost stopped and reviewed you early to tell you about how awesome you were being, but I can't remember it all. Well! I thought you did nicely with Lorne. You reminded me how he shoulders a lot of burden and responsibility when it comes to John's team, and a lot of his lines had me smiling.

:) And John surfing naked! Amazing. :D Lol, that would hurt SO badly if you wiped out in many ways.

Author's Response: "And John surfing naked! Amazing. :D Lol, that would hurt SO badly if you wiped out in many ways"rnIt would, wouldn't it :)?rnrnIt's funny you should say Inukshuk felt like a film because this story really started out with images, the northern landscape and especially the tower. When I wrote the first outline (three years ago, omg)it was a little like watching the whole setting from a bird's eye view.rnrnI was happy to include Lorne because I always liked him on the show. His little scenes like the one in "Sunday" or "Doppelgänger" were intriguing. Pity we didn't get to see more of that.rnrnThank you so much for your wonderful feedback!
Part I
Reviewer: kiku65 (Anonymous)
10 Apr 2009 7:27 am
Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you!rn
Part VI
Reviewer: barkeep (Anonymous)
09 Apr 2009 10:26 pm
Holy crap. I almost skipped this story because it had no reviews but I clicked anyway and boy am I glad I did. I've only read the first chapter and I'm undone. The scene is evocative, the characters are in character and I'm so distraught that I have to stop reading here and go to bed so I can be remotely functional for work in the morning. I don't review unless a story REALLY grabs me. It has to have good writing, good plot, good pacing and spot on characterization, not to mention good grammar. I'm pleased to say you have exceeded all requirements. Thank You!

Author's Response: I hope the rest of the chapters worked out for you as well :). Thank you for the kind feedback!
Part I
You must login (register) to review.