RSS
Reviews For Puddle Jumper Down

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Irina (Anonymous)
01 Apr 2010 3:19 pm
I read this story in 24 hours - it's wonderful. This is exactly what team should mean. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Wow Irina. I'm really glad you liked it that much. It's one of my favorites too. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave me your comments. I really appreciate you choosing my story to spend your time with. - John
Chapter 14 - Final!
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2010 6:02 am
Lovely ending.

I'm glad they're both on the mend, even if John is making life difficult for Carson and his staff :).

I'm glad that Steven has changed his opinion of John and I liked that John felt relaxed enough to share some of his childhood with Steven.

I liked seeing John's escape attempts from Steven's pov, how he found it by turns frustrating, fascinating, entertaining and 'train-wreck-like'.

Don't worry, John, you'll be out of there soon... and probably back again before long! ;)

Laura.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed that Laura. I had to let us all see how quickly he bounces back to being his rebellious and playful self. I always wished they had let us see more interaction between John and Caldwell in the show so I couldn't wait to see this story written when the muse hit me. Thanks for sticking with us through the entire adventure! Your support is appreciated. - John
Chapter 14 - Final!
Reviewer: kariesue (Signed)
29 Mar 2010 9:02 pm
Thanks for checking on that final chapter!! It was just as great as the rest. Although I think Sheppard needs to hang up his Kirking ways to settle down with Teyla. What a great character study of both Sheppard and Caldwell to a degree. I hope you will continue to write more. You really have an amazing talent with words. I'll put in my request for more Teyla/John stuff. And whump is always great with the other team members there to show their concern. Like Ronan kissing Sheppard on the forehead. And Lorne's response was priceless! Thanks so much for getting this last chapter fixed up just for me. Waiting for more.

Author's Response: Thanks again KarieSue. I'm glad you liked the finale. I too am a big John/Teyla fan but I know not everyone is and as I wanted this one to be a general adventure for everyone I decided to give him a love interest from another angle. I too like to see the team show concern and affection for one another; I hoped the part with Ronon kissing his forehead and Lorne's response would be a bit of light humor at the right time and I'm glad it worked. Thanks so much for using your time to read my story; I'm glad it wasn't wasted time for you :) I appreciate you taking the time to let me know your feelings on it too. Thanks! - John
Chapter 14 - Final!
Reviewer: kariesue (Anonymous)
28 Mar 2010 3:39 pm
This was an incredible story!! You have a fabulous writing style that is engaging and easy to read. The details are there but not too overwhelming. Your descriptions of thoughts and feelings are very thorough and realistic. This story was spot on for characters and voice. This would have made one hell of an episode, maybe even a two-parter. And I love how you involved just about everyone (except poor Jennifer never quite made it in). I really liked Caldwell even though he was a bit of a creep in a few episodes. I do think he started to have a grudging respect for Sheppard and his unorthodox methods. I'm just a bit miffed that's it's not finished. You really need to get this done because we need to see the whole wrap up between Sheppard and Caldwell after they are both out of the woods. And I want to know why the bunnies are blue!!??

Author's Response: Thank you very much, KarieSue for the fantastic review and commentary. I'm really glad you enjoyed PJD, but the story IS complete. Now I'm concerned, because you're the second person to ask for the finale after I posted it so now I'm wondering if the final chapter can be seen by the public. I'm going to check on that right now. - John
Chapter 13
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2009 8:10 am
Yay, they're on their way back to the Daedalus at last. Will Zoser play nicely for once and let them get out of the atmosphere without too much turbulence? Fingers crossed.

Laura.

Author's Response: Wow, I never got a notice that you had left reviews. Thank you very much Laura for taking the time to leave your thoughts on each chapter. I'll hopefully have the final chapter posted up for you real soon. I'm glad you enjoyed this story. - John
Chapter 13
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2009 7:51 am
Fingers crossed that was the worst of it over for John. They've still got a long way to travel and that river isn't going to be there for much longer.

Laura.

Author's Response: Hopefully the final chapter will be a satisfying conclusion to this long suspenseful journey. Thanks for sticking with me on this one, Laura. I really appreciate it. - John
Chapter 12
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2009 5:29 am
They're still not out of the woods (quite literally!), but John's chances are much improved now Carson and Maddie are there to do what they can for him. Hang in there John.

Laura.

Author's Response: John's hanging in there for sure, so is Steven. I've enjoyed writing for Caldwell too and hope to get him into other fics in the future. Thanks for the feedback, Laura - John
Chapter 11
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2009 5:06 am
Well, it was certainly fraught, what with rogue drones, Ronon dropping off the legde, Caldwell shooting at him! But overall, it's a big yay. They've found their missing comrades and they can now get the much needed medical help.

Laura.

Author's Response: It certainly has been an adventure for both the missing and the rescue teams. Thanks for the comments. - John
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2009 4:34 am
Caldwell's slowly learning more about John, even if it is fever induced rambling. Why *are* the bunnies blue? ;)

I'm so glad the team has finally overcome all the undergrowth, boar-like things and panicked renthans to find the drone, which is so near to John and Steven. John just needs to hang on for a few moments more.

Laura.

Author's Response: We'll find out why the bunnies are blue in the final chapter. lol
Chapter 9
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 7:31 pm
So frustrating- the rescue team is so close, but they can't go any further. A safe and sensible decision, but so frustrating for them all (and me). Especially as I know what bad shape John's in and what little Steven is able to do about it. Is it an infection, or do those cats have poisonous bites?

Laura.

Author's Response: Very good questions, Laura. I'm glad you're enjoying the story so much. I'm having fun just reading your reactions and questions about each chapter. Thanks for making the reviews section so entertaining. :) John
Chapter 8
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 5:57 pm
*Gah*!!!!! I should've known that things were going far too well, considering. Double whammy this chapter, what with Sam and Lorne nearly vanishing off that mountain and now John getting so badly wounded.

Can Steven do enough to stabilise John? Even if he does, will the scent of blood attract more predators? What about food and water? John's certainly not going to be able to get it anymore and Steven's not in any shape either. Can the rescue team get there in time? *eep*

Laura.

Author's Response: *grins* Yep, should've known. lolrnrnSteven's going to do his best I'm sure. - John
Chapter 7
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 3:38 pm
So, John was right; there *is* something in the cave with them. Luckily it's only an inexperienced baby, but will it get up the courage to make an attempt on our guys?

Nice to see the search team isn't letting the fear weigh them down too much. They need these little moments of laughter, quietness and even ogling to stop their thoughts and worries getting on top of them and to keep the optimism alive.

More bonding inroads with John and Steven, too. John's opening up about his past and it's giving Caldwell more and more to think about.

Laura.

Author's Response: There definitely IS something in there with them. :) And I'm glad you understand the reason for a bit of levity for our gang. It doesn't mean they no longer worry, just that the little bit of time ogling and laughing is a necessity to keep overload from dragging them down. I'm glad you seem to be enjoying the story so far, Laura. Thanks very much for all the feedback, I'm really enjoying reading your comments. -John
Chapter 6
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 2:28 pm
While John and Steven are, by necessity, not doing much in the way of exciting action, it's giving them a lot of time to get to know each other and learn how to get along.

John opened up about his problems with authority a little, which is a start, but it's obviously going to take a bit longer before he can relax enough to call Caldwell Steven without feeling weird.

Some nice quiet moments with Teyla, Ronon, Sam and Dr Garman, too, dealing with their own fears for what they'll find.

Laura.

Author's Response: Yeah, their time in isolation is to focus on them learning to get along. Action will come though. Hang in there. :)
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 12:16 pm
So, has John found a viable way out, or are the boulders going to be too much to shift? Can Caldwell's morse code plan work? Will John battle his way out of his morose and guilt-laden thoughts?

Laura.

Author's Response: He did yes. He was able to fit his skinny self between two boulders and slip outside. and yes he will. :) -John
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 11:33 am
That's given Steven something to think about. Maybe he's starting to realise that he judged John on what others told him, rather on what his own eyes and ears did.

The rescue mission is almost ready to start, but will they find John and Caldwell within that four day window Carson estimated?

Laura.

Author's Response: I do believe that's exactly what Steven realized. He'd taken into account only what his peers had commented on previously, trusting in them and their judgments.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Aug 2009 5:08 am
So, does John know anything about those medicinal plants? Sounds like they could come in useful if he does. Good job with everyones' increasing worry- They assume John's late and imagine the ribbing they'll give him, then they start to *hope* he's only delayed, then they start to fear he's not, but he could still be, but then Lorne and co. arrive and everyone knows John and Caldwell are missing, but they have to work through the fear and stay optimistic. It's not going to be easy searching in the terrain they've got to face and the lack of instrumentation :(.

Laura.

Author's Response: Nope, John doesn't usually pay too much attention to stuff like that but even if he had they have no access to such plants. I'm glad you liked the build up of worry to fear. Thanks for the feedback, Laura. I really appreciate it. John
Chapter 2
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2009 8:13 pm
Of all the people for John to get stranded with... I think it could only have been worse if it was Kolya! ;)

Laura.

Author's Response: Oooo Kolya, my favorite bad guy. I could come up with something to include hi. :) John
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ladybug (Anonymous)
10 Aug 2009 7:33 pm
I'm torn. I like the background information, but the format is tough to get into. Show is always better than tell, but I really can't think of how you could with this much. I might read more, but its not pulling me in.

Author's Response: The format? I'm not sure I know what you're referring to. Show is definitely always better than tell, I agree. And much is shown as we go along. I hope you'll give the story another chapter or two and see how you feel then. I do understand though that not every story or author will appeal to everyone. Thank you for your candid feedback. I appreciate your time and thank you for giving my story a chance. - John
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Sabre (Anonymous)
24 Jul 2009 8:11 am
This was an amazing read! Loved the interactions between Sheppard and Caldwell. Look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Sabre. I'm really glad you liked my story. Thank you for choosing to read it and I appreciate the feedback. Thank you. - John
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Twinfetish (Signed)
23 Jul 2009 12:58 pm
Good update. I like that everyone is helping out in keeping them alive, and healthy, not just one set person.

My heart jumped in my chest when John started convulsing again, the river was a neat idea, I cringed when he tried to break free too, since he thought they were killing him.

I love how you portray Ronon's softer side in this. Most people only make him shoot things and grunt. It is a very nice change of pace.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback, Twiny. I do try to break out of the norm now and again from what others might focus on. I see Ronon as a very profound and caring man, especially with those he cares deeply for. He's extremely confident in himself and I think that would show clearly at times like this. It takes a strong soul to show compassion. I'm glad you liked this part, Twiny. Thanks! - John
Chapter 12
You must login (register) to review.