RSS
Reviews For Second Verse

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: ttt (Signed)
16 Jun 2010 6:25 pm
Great fic, loved the plot. The pathos of Rodney and his situation really made the happy ending satisfying.

I usually get really put off stories that feature Sheppard as being better mathematically than McKay, even if it is just a throwaway comment like in this fic. It is not only contrary to what we know about the characters from canon but also not something I am interested in reading about in an AU either. Sheppard's ability to do (fairly basic in the scheme of these things) mental arithmatic (he obviously has a head for numbers and puzzles, but that is not evidence of higher ability) is so far below McKay's intuitve genius that I can't quite get how the trope is so widely believed. Ditto with joining Mensa - a Mensa test means nothing when you are dealing with intelligence as high as McKays. Also, to qualify for Mensa is actually pretty easy - if you can qualify to fly combat helicoptors in the air force you can qualify for Mensa! O'Neill and Mitchell would qualify as well. The website the math genius trope came from has been confirmed as non-canon by the writers and in interviews they have said that John is catagorically not a math genius, yet still it persists. But if people like it then why the hell not? It will never be canon fact but that is what fic is for after all. I would normally have stopped reading when Rodney claimed he could not compete with John in number games ( I think I have actually stopped reading a couple of your other fics for this very reason - I think), but the rest of the story pulled me along and I'm really glad I finished it.

Author's Response: Um, thank you?
Chapter 1
Reviewer: CrimsonQuills (Anonymous)
02 May 2010 2:34 pm
John and Rodney are both so very broken in this story, but as much as I hurt for what they've been through, I still found this a very positive story. It was all about broken people healing and finding places where they fit and making life better for themselves and everyone around them.

Author's Response: Yes! That is exactly what I wanted to convey! Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ShatteredSig (Signed)
22 Dec 2009 11:49 pm
A wonderful fic, well worth the read. I laughed SO hard at the joke about Ronan being a stray cat. It just fits so well. Very nice job. A great AU.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I'm glad I could make you laugh too--it was a bit of a darker-than-usual story for me. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2009 11:17 pm
**spoilers?..kinda..**
Phew! Done! ...until you write more, muwah ha ha. Exxxxcelllent. Best yet. I'm really glad you went to the darker place with this one. Will this have a continuance? If nothing else a short bit about John's eye would be cool.. can he see thru clothes? T'would be useful on boring missions, Bwah ha ha.. When they met Teyla it felt like she was meeting the Three Stooges (with a more verbal representation of slapstick) Thank you for keeping them so in character! You're very good at that. Nothing kills it faster than unexcused/unexplained ooc behavior.
BTW, just in case you would find this useful, for all i know, you're perfectly aware of this, cuz hey, Athos *is* another planet so why would it be the same? plus if it was simply from Johns' point of view, it would be a totally valid interpretation that she's bowing to an invisible opponent, *but* in Karate, when they bow before stepping on or off the mat, the bow is respect towards the mat itself- I've always found that terribly interesting, so I thought I'd share. God, now I need to go watch either Princess Bride or Galaxy Quest for the umpteenth time. I bow before you, your nanites control my brain.

Author's Response: I kept telling myself I want to tell more of Teyla's story and follow up on things in this universe but sadly I am not very good at coming up with a plotline for sequels. :-( I appreciate the input about karate--I wanted a similar feel without duplicating the exact situation--hope that wasn't confusing! Heh-heh, that was the master plan--nanites! Thank you for letting me know that you enjoyed this story!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Kendal Jones (Anonymous)
02 Dec 2009 11:36 pm
I really like how you got the whole family together, even Miko. In every universe this group needs to be together. This was beautiful

Author's Response: I really wanted to explore some of the secondary characters that we didn't know so well! Thank you--I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Starry Diadem (Signed)
01 Dec 2009 12:58 am
This is my favourite Big Bang - and favourite of yours, so far. I love this imperfect, damaged pair who slowly come to find peace with each other. Beautiful.

And that exchange about revenge at the end? Still priceless!

Author's Response: Still have a big ol' fat grin plastered to my face here as well. Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sglab (Anonymous)
30 Nov 2009 11:56 am
This was a really good story. I loved how you made all the characters important and important to each other.

Author's Response: I really wanted to create a sense of connection with the other characters, something that I am not very good at in general, so I am very pleased to hear that you liked that--thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: CountErebus (Anonymous)
29 Nov 2009 11:42 pm
Lovely fic! I've always enjoyed your work, but this one has got to be among the best. Very moving and elegantly written. I love your depiction of Teyla - among the best I have seen. The premise of your story, also, is very imaginative. I feel like the sex scene didn't fit, though. The story would have been better without it. It seemed almost forced into the story.
Great job overall, though :)

Author's Response: I'm sorry you felt that way about that particular scene. My interpretation of this version of John was that physical intimacy (though difficult) was not as hard as emotional intimacy and that when you've closed yourself off to both for so long, the physical act has a way of feeling like a substitute for the emotional connection. Also, because there were physical issues with both characters, I thought it important to stress that physical attraction was not one of their many hang-ups. :-)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: jt (Anonymous)
29 Nov 2009 9:47 pm
I spent all day reading this wonderful story. I love all your work. Thanks

Author's Response: What a nice thing to say! Thank you!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sentarla (Anonymous)
29 Nov 2009 1:18 pm
wow oh wow oh wow. that was truly awesome! Thank you for such a fantastic heart wrenching fic

Author's Response: Your feedback made me grin when I read it--thanks!
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.