RSS
Reviews For The Mute Shepherd

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: iamMe (Signed)
12 Sep 2011 4:02 pm
I loved this story, I felt so bad for John and I love the fact that everything turned out ok in the end.

and what an ending.... Sigh
Chapter 1
Reviewer: deliciously weird (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2010 7:56 am
This was very enjoyable to read. Thanks for writing it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
16 Jan 2010 11:42 pm
A long road to get to the right destination. A good story, full of angst and happy endings. I enjoyed it very much, thank you for sharing.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: RamDragon (Anonymous)
15 Jan 2010 10:43 pm
WOW!!! This was amazing. I really enjoyed reading it. It was like I was watching a movie. If they ever do an Atlantis film, the script will not be as good as this story. I LOVED IT. Excellent writing. 10/10
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Jan 2010 8:36 pm
Wonderful story, as always! John really made a mess of things, but it was never malicious- except maybe towards himself, and he beat himself up more than anyone else could've. While it wasn't a nice thing to do, it's easy to see how it all just spiralled out of John's control...and he was hardly the only one in the wrong.

I liked how you wove all the plots together- the professional side of things and how John struggled with the drudge work and desk time, even if it was for the purpose of getting his promotion (which, yay, btw!), not to mention the whole aspect of getting ATlantis ready to leave and then getting her home and settled; and the personal side with all the imploding friendships, self-flagellation and well-meaning advice.

Rodney had every right to be hurt and angry and his reactions made sense. The mix of anger, hurt and insecurity that Rodney felt was heartbreaking to see and made me angry at John for even accidentally causing it. Yet I felt terrible for John, too, because he was ruining his own life just as much as anyone elses and didn't seem able to pull control back at any point, simply isolating himself because he thought that's all he deserved :(. If only he could've talked to someone, though I understand why he didn't.

Thank god for Jeannie and her mix of compassion and McKayness, literally knocking some sense into John, even though it wasn't enough to get him to accept Rodney's forgiveness and interest straight away. Good job Rodney can be persuasive when he wants to be and was far too stubborn to let a skittish John bolt once he'd made up his mind to move passed the hurt and anger into the happiness. They were very hot together, but it was just as good seeing them back to their normal teasing and bickering friendship.

Great stuff and I'm sure I've forgotten a lot of other things I wanted to say. Oh, oh... like: great characterisations for everyone! Obviously the focus was on John and Rodney, but everyone else, even if they only had a few lines, was spot on. I liked how Vala saw everything; how John never really knew what Teal'c thought of him; how Jack was as sharp as ever; how Ronon and Teyla talked to John with the benefit of knowing his likely reactions and when it was just best to back off and let him work it out; how poor Cam was a gentleman about checking with John before going after Jennifer and how he did his best to apologise to Rodney, even though he was just as hurt by the discovery as Rodney was. Then there was Jennifer- she was definitely in the wrong, no matter that John gave Cam the go ahead. Jennifer was perfectly capable of telling Cam about Rodney and I was angry at her for hurting him and Cam, yet you wrote her sympathetically and, like John- who was still friends with her even after it all blew up, it was hard to stay angry with her.

Right, I really have run out of things to say now... at least I think I have ;).

Laura.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Astralia441 (Anonymous)
13 Jan 2010 4:28 pm
Speechless for the moment - so well written. I'm really not a fan of McShep, but this was awesome. Love the way it incorporates canon into the story (SGU), and conveys all the emotional conflicts John is going through. Great story!!!

Two small nitpicks, if I may. It's the UCMJ (Uniform Code of Military Justice) that DADT falls under (not USMJ), and Caldwell would have been promoted to Brigadier General from Colonel. Lieutenant General is a three star general.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sgakaz (Signed)
13 Jan 2010 9:58 am
My brain fails me to describe how wonderful this story is, love the angst and the happy ending and Rodney would so kick Rush's a** :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: kate (Anonymous)
12 Jan 2010 6:50 pm
This was a damn good story. Compelling and complex. You gave Jennifer a good exit actually even though people got hurt. I loved the way you wrote Jeannie who was for once not one-dimensional as she has been in so many stories. And even if she didn't totally understand Rodney, she acted like a sister would while still clearly loving John. At times the story made me very emotional because it seemed so realistic. And of course, the ending was perfection. Thanks for this. It made a pretty lousy day turn out so much better for me.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.