RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
22 Jun 2012 7:10 pm
'Love' does not even begin to cover what I feel for this story. The way you write these two is so dead on the money. It's just...'true' is the best word I can come up with to describe it.

Thank you for sharing this story.

Author's Response: I was a little afraid when I came up with this concept that it would land firmly in the crack category and no amount of writing on my part could salvage it. But ultimately the humanity of these two saved the day. Thanks for the nice feedback. Much appreciated!
One shot
Reviewer: lilimayhem (Signed)
12 Jun 2010 12:25 am
Oh ofcourse it was! I didn't mean to imply yours was a ''humour'' story. I absoluetly loved your story. I felt like everyone was in caracter, your writing is, to my eyes, faultless. But I am currently reading another one of your story and what I am appreciating is the way you toy with the words. Deadly serious tone and yet...where the socks come to die...I couldn't help but bark out a laugh. This is talent. Toying with the words, the tone...and us. Great work. You can weave a great story with different tones, I like that.

Author's Response: Thank you! What a nice compliment. I call it angsty humor or humoress angst!
One shot
Reviewer: lilimayhem (Signed)
10 Jun 2010 1:26 pm
What a great story! Loved it very much and you made me laugh out loud a couple of times. The arrows on the shoes...priceless and the sequel's sequel's sequel... lol...Good work!

Author's Response: Thanks! It sort of skirted the boundaries of crack, but it's really quite a serious stories in many ways. Glad you enjoyed!
One shot
Reviewer: Alinea (Signed)
18 May 2010 5:33 pm
I just realised I havent actually reviewed this even though it's one of my all time favourite stories. There's something so perfect, so right about this; as if this is exactly how it was. Your John is so credible and you capture Rodney's need for normality so well. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks! I wasn't sure I could make the concept work (as obviously it could easily slide into the most crackiest of crack). I see Rodney that way as well. Sure, he's so happy being a genius, but the flip side of all those smarts is that he's somewhat on an island intellectually and emotionally. Anyway, glad you enjoyed!
One shot
Reviewer: christella (Anonymous)
22 Mar 2010 6:17 pm
i really enjoyed this,it is telling that rodney has a subconscience that is more clued up than he is!though i also liked the way john realised why he didnt mind the madness.
and who the hell wants to be normal?

Author's Response: Thanks! I have marched to a slightly different drummer, and while I wouldn't trade my different perspective for the world, sometimes it does get lonely. I think that's what Rodney feels. That for once he'd like not to be on the wrong side of the glass. However, his subconscious knows this is utter B.S. and saves him. YAY!
One shot
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
20 Mar 2010 1:00 am
What a wonderful story. Goes to show Rodney is even stubborn with himself. Great idea, thank you for sharing it with us.

Author's Response: Yes, although this does tend to delve into John's psychology quite a bit, Rodney's responses are "Heightmeyer" worthy. Thank you!
One shot
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Mar 2010 8:45 pm
Excellent story. Lots of lovely angst.

I liked how the John/Jennifer rivallry played out with them carefully maneouvring each other into being the bad guy in Rodney's eyes.

I felt bad for Rodney, wanting the normal life so much that he would've done what Jennifer asked even as it tore him up. I even managed to feel a little sorry for Jennifewr, because it's not like she intentionally set out to change Rodney into someone else, and, on the face of it, it's not unreasonable to think your fiance might value you more than a city (even if that city is Atlantis)! Yet she was also incredibly naive and willfully oblivious to the signs around her and, more to the point, why was she so desperate to change Rodney? Surely that would've meant he wasn't *Rodney* anymore and that's who she fell for!

And then there was John, torn between keeping Rodney for himself, knowing how much his friend wanted to stay on Atlantis, and wanting to support Rodney in whatever he chose to do, whatever the cost might be to him personally. It was sad to see him running himself ragged, getting into a state where *Ronon* refused to spar with him. Not to mention how he forced himself to talk to Jennifer and keep her in the loop, how he looked out for her when he leant her his t-shirt- ever the gentleman.

There were a lot of interesting insights as John thought about himself, his childhood and his feelings.

I'm glad it worked out for them in the end, after the yelling (and punching) was over with.

Laura.

Author's Response: I have a hard time getting a handle on John. Part of the "point' of this piece was for me to address what makes him tick for me. Glad you enjoyed! thank you!rnrnI'm glad it worked out for them in the end, after the yelling (and punching) was over with.rnrnWell, you know, guys.
One shot
Reviewer: Alwaysand (Anonymous)
18 Mar 2010 12:57 am
That was absolutely awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks!
One shot
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2010 10:30 pm
That's quite the way for Rodney to figure out that it is John and the city that he wants more than normal. :) Good story.

Author's Response: Thank you! Tis wonderful, tis marvelous...
One shot
Reviewer: gail (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2010 8:16 pm
Marines and ice cream. It works.

If the city is staying, why only marines and not more air force, etc?

Rogers and Hammerstein. Really cute and you made it so real it should be canon.

Author's Response: Cause you always send in the marines! Actually that was the funnest part. Coming up with titles that worked for the story. Thank you!
One shot
Reviewer: Astralia441 (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2010 1:06 pm
Holy Crap!!! LOVE your writing style, the way you capture them absolutely perfectly - *is speechless*! I haven't enjoyed a well written fic like this in a long time. Simply fabulous (I'm usually a bit more coherent than this, but THIS just blew me away - and I'm not even a McShep fan)!

I'm now off to find more of your work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. My other SGA stories are here as well. Hope you enjoy!
One shot
You must login (register) to review.