RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Lavonya (Signed)
14 Oct 2013 12:03 pm
I really /REALLY/ *like* this!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Is there any way possible you could make this into a series?! PLEASE?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: lilz54 (Signed)
14 Jul 2012 1:45 am
Well Done!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: atymer (Signed)
09 Dec 2010 9:53 pm
Well I wanted more story. Okay, adventures in Atlantis would have worked to. I got a tickle out of John walking around strawberry scented to his Sentinel.
It is against a bigot's civil rights to screen them for such beliefs. But think how many acts of violence and outright war could be avoided if preconceived ideas about a people did not promote acts of disrespect and humiliation.

Author's Response: =)Thank you! Glad you liked it that much. I think I re-wrote this story about half a dozen times until it had the right "feel" and impact. Goog to know itr worked the way I wanted =)
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Indus (Signed)
19 Sep 2010 8:00 pm
Oo really loved this, thanks for posting!

Author's Response: Thanks for the praise! Glad you liked it!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: ldarkphoenix (Signed)
19 Jul 2010 1:03 pm
I have to say, usually I don't like crossovers, but this was excellent. I really hope that sometime in the future you do write a sequel.

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks for the praise! I'm thrilled you liked it even though you usually don't like crossovers! I'll think about a sequel once RL isn't as hectic any more =)
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Korilian (Signed)
29 Jun 2010 2:20 pm
I've seen this prompt filled several times, but this was the best version by far! I love Sentinel fusions, but I must admit I never liked the whole sentinel bonding premise.

Your writing was good enough to get me past that here though. Your Rodney and John had enough awareness to have issues with the way their society works, which I think is pretty similar to real life where people don't just take injustices or limits lying down. I loved Rodney's unwillingness to hold control over someone's life even though it was his legal right and that John wasn't hunky dory with giving up his life.
I did wonder why they have those laws if chemical bondage fixes everything, but I'm guessing guides with less stable bonds might not have the same 'easy' transition John had.

My only niggle was that O'Neill seemed just a little too invested in his subordinates sex-lives... :)

Author's Response: Wow, that is a huge compliment, right there! Yes, I don't think a happy go lucky we're suddenly bonded to a stranger but don't care much about it fic would have been a really good idea. In fact, they have those laws because while you notice that John does feel "like coming home" or "content" to be with Rodney, he still has the ability to be very very angry with him - for example. the bond does work to a certain degree, but not further. And while it certainly ENCOURAGES the Guides to care for their mates and interact with them, let's face it till the moment they bond they are literally strangers. And usually, even if you are turned on by someone or feeling protective about someone, that doesn't mean you are inclined to give up your life as you know it for them. Not even for a bit of a chemical reaction the bond provides. John also makes it very clear the bond didn't make him gay or that he only has sex with Rodney because of the bond. And John's mother, who might have suspected John is a Guide, wouldn't have tried to protect him from having to lead such a life if not somewhere deep down she might have felt something amiss with her own life. So no, the bond is not the answer to everything and someone who just recently bonded and doesn't have a real emotional connection to the Sentinel he or she is bonded to might not want to follow up on the suggestions of the bond and might just walk away, leaving the Sentinel to die. That is why they had needed laws. It sucks, yes, but it is the way it is handled in this AU. *wink* Or at least the way it WAS until John and Rodney turned everything upside down. As for O'Neill ... if you were expecting more of an 'ewwwww' reaction I have to disappoint you. I'm very certain Jack's doing Daniel *innocent look* Thank you for your lovely review
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
22 Jun 2010 5:43 am
Excellent story!

Things didn't start off very auspiciously, first because they didn't realise the bond and then with the less than brilliant way John was handled- dragged off, shunted around and told very little about any of it.

I felt bad for John. His whole life seemed to be crumbling around him. He thougfht he was losing his rank, his life's dream of flying, his independence and freedom. I felt bad for Rodney, too- finally he gets what he's always wanted and needed, but he's struck with all consuming guilt about it, making himself ill to avoid pressuring John into anything he didn't want to do.

The morons at the SGCC certainly didn't help matters! I hope this will make them clean house and put better practices and training in place. I'm sure Rodney's friend, the Prsident, will sort it out as part of his revisions.

I loved the ending. John may have been unhappily in the dark for a lot of the time, but there's no denying that it was worth the uncertainty. He's got everything he could've ever hoped for- a Sentinel who fits him perfectly, his rank, the sky, his friends, the respect and acceptance of the men under his new command position and an adventure to end all adventures ahead of him. Not to mention regular, spectacular sex with Rodney ;).

And Rodney's getting everything he wants, too, so it's all good :D.

Laura.

Author's Response: Hi Laura, thank you so much for the review. Yes, I know that I put them through quite a lot, but I sure hope I made up for it in the end. The thing is, that for John really all depended on what kind of person he would end up with. It could have gone horribly horribly wrong as well. Because Rodney made all that possible, HE is the reason why John didn't lose everything and yes, that is - no matter how you twist and turn it - a pretty huge power imbalance. *wink* So yeah, the President better do something against it. *wink* Glad you enjoyed the story so much =)Thanks again!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Wapeci (Signed)
19 Jun 2010 12:20 pm
A-W-E-S-O-M-E story!!
I LOVE Sentinel&Guide fics! Theres not enough!!
I really loved this one, please sequel? :D

Author's Response: I'm very glad you're so enthusiastic about the story and that I managed to write something you like. I totally agree that there are never enough of those fics. *grin* I'm very sorry to say that at the moment I don't plan on writing a sequel though. I might at one point in the future come back to play a bit in this AU, but at this point, I've turned to other projects. I've changed quite a lot with replacing Sumner and making John and Rodney Sentinel and Guide and re-writing all 100 episodes would be a lifetime project. Not something I want to commit to right now, sorry. Thank you for your review!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
18 Jun 2010 9:14 pm
Great read. Wonder how things will change during the mission. Any chance of more? Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you! Well, yes, it would change a great deal about how things go on Atlantis. Which is one reason I have - for now - decided against a sequel. Re-writing the whole series would be a project of unprecedented proportions for me. I might come back to this AU at one point in the future, if my muses nag me badly enough, but for now I've turned to other projects. Thanks for your review!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Kougalover123 (Signed)
18 Jun 2010 1:12 am
I loved this I'm always looking for more Sentinel x-overs and fusions and this was great. Wonderful universe you made I would love to read more; do you plan on writing a sequel?
I particularly liked how you kept surprising John near the end that was hilarious.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. At this point, a sequel is not planned - I simply have too many other projects I am working on. If, however my muses will insist I write more, I'm not adverse to playing in this AU again. =) rnrnSurprising John is fun *wink*
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Kimber (Signed)
17 Jun 2010 10:24 pm
Sweet read....enjoyed it like having peanut butter on my apple....yummy.

Author's Response: *grin* That Really does sound yummy ... *wink* I'm glad you enjoyed the story! Thanks for the review!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: Alys5 (Signed)
17 Jun 2010 8:01 pm
Loved this!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!
Like strawberries in summer
Reviewer: codemonkey (Signed)
17 Jun 2010 5:38 pm
Saw this posted on another site and stayed up way too late reading it. This has to be my favorite of the Sentinel/guide stories I've read. It challenges the reader's preconceptions about the bond, and what it means to the guide in particular. I loved your Rodney and John.

Author's Response: Thank you, that was a very nice compliment. I'm glad you like the story so much and that you enjoyed it enough to lose sleep over it =)
Like strawberries in summer
You must login (register) to review.