RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Krycekov (Signed)
25 Jan 2011 6:41 pm
I'm really enjoying your take on Vegas!John. Looking foreword to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. rnTo be honest, I'm really looking forward to the next chapter. Real life sort of jumped up and attacked me over the last few months, but things are now settling down and that means I'll be able to focus on writing again very very soon. Hope you'll bear with me a bit longer.
Prologue
Reviewer: Syl (Signed)
04 Sep 2010 11:57 am
What an excellent, well-plotted, and suspenceful story. I love your characterization of Sheppard and am even liking your OC. I always thought the McKay of the Vegas AU was a real piece of work who cold-bloodedly used Sheppard as a means to an end. Heck, Mikey and Todd had more honor than the SGC reps in the AU. I think you caught the flavor overall, and I'm really looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! First off, I'm thrilled you like Casey. I was terribly afraid that the idea of an OC would go over like a lead balloon. So far she's been fairly well received (maybe cause there is sort of a 'canon' explanation for her being that I plucked her out of that first scene). As for Rodney, I sort of took a step back and considered, "what would McKay be like without having been 'tempered' by a friendship with Sheppard?" There are other factors to consider with his personality as well (an inclusion/exclusion of other people in his life). I sat down and really hammered out what I think could be a feasibly realistic timeline to the series when factoring in Sheppard NOT being present and this story is the result (using Vegas as the skelton as it were). I'm working on the next chapter but as it gets more indepth it gets a little trickier to just churn them out. I don't want to risk any contradictions or miss vital details. I'm very much approaching this as a blank slate and the Sheppard WE know, is not THIS Sheppard. He's a lot darker, a bit more paranoid and has had quite a few different experiences over the years. I'm just hoping to hold my readers attention as the ride continues. Thanks again for the kind words. :)
Prologue
Reviewer: Miscbills (Signed)
30 Aug 2010 5:24 pm
Now I am really sitting at the edge of my seat waiting for the next installment!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. Thanks very much for the review. I truly appreciate the kind words. :)
Chapter Six
Reviewer: ranlynn (Signed)
16 Aug 2010 11:17 pm
Curiouser and curiouser, we have mystery on our hands.

Author's Response: So glad you're enjoying the story (I've already submitted the next chapter; just waiting for it to post). I've been afraid that I'm either confusing everyone, or turning them off with the slight differences to the characters we "know" from the show. I just, thought about it and realized that different experiences would produce slightly different personalities. Ex: A Rodney McKay not tempered by John Sheppard's friendship and things like that. Hope you'll continue to enjoy things as it goes along. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.
Chapter Four
Reviewer: Miscbills (Signed)
16 Aug 2010 12:29 pm
This is so good that I am putting in my favorites. I'm hoping you finish and then I hoping you don't so it will go on and on. I am loving it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you're enjoying it. I'll definitely be finishing it; but I understand what you mean. Right now updates are gonna be pretty regular but that's cause I've got some major inspiration. Again, thanks for taking the time to read and review.
Prologue
Reviewer: lizlou (Signed)
14 Aug 2010 4:58 pm
Loved Vegas -so much to explore so I'm really interested to see where you are going to take this. Great start -hope you update soon

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words and for taking the time to read and review! I truly appreciate it. I agree, Vegas was amazing. It opened up so many opportunities and so many different sides to characters we already felt like we knew fairly well. Vegas-Sheppard especially intrigued me because it was very much a glimpse of how OUR Sheppard could have gone. We know that OUR Sheppard is capable of that kind of implied "dark" but he's got a much better control over that aspect of his personality. Again, thanks so much for reading. Hopefully you'll enjoy what else I have in store.
Chapter Three
Reviewer: Forahr (Signed)
14 Aug 2010 2:51 pm
I am so loving this! "Vegas" just needs so much exploring!..I really have a great need to delve deeply into 'Vegas Sheppard', his past, present, and where his future really lies. This story is shaping up to be the best Vegas fic yet!
I'm new to Wraithbait and hope to figure out how to 'favorite' this story and how to get notice when a new chapter comes out. I may just have to keep a tab open continuously on it....
Keep it coming, and I thank you

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far. Vegas is probably one of my top-five favorite Atlantis episodes and the potential they opened up there (even if they never went back to that specific universe) made me even sadder with the cancellation. Sheppard in general is one of my favorite TV characters because of the things that Joe Flanigan's acting alludes to lurking under the surface of our "happy-go-lucky accidentally saved the day flyboy". Sheppard is incredibly capable of doing some very questionable things (for the right reasons); but doesn't want to be seen that way (and those darker aspects of his personality were brought more to the forefront in Vegas and made me take real notice of what I could possibly do with an essentially blank canvas). rnI've been trying to be super careful as I form the relationship between John and Casey because I'm terrified of falling into the "romance-trap" that seems to automatically pop up when you have a male and a female character essentially spending all their time together. There has to be a careful balance of flirtatiousness and respect (for both each other and what they're going to try and accomplish). rnBut anyway, I digress, thanks so much for taking the time to read the story. I know some people don't like their fanfic with a big helping of "OC" on the side, but Vegas is such a different universe that it needed Casey. Vegas-Sheppard himself needs Casey as we'll see in future chapters; because McKay wasn't totally wrong about the Sheppard he met and Vegas-Sheppard sharing a lot of attributes. Including his propensity for throwing himself headfirst into trouble he probably shouldn't be going anywhere near. rnI hope to have a new chapter up in a day or two at the latest providing my "real life" schedule doesn't go all wacky.
Chapter Three
Reviewer: ranlynn (Signed)
14 Aug 2010 11:45 am
Nice, I'm alway on the look out for more 'Vegas storie & this one looks good. Hope for more soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review. I truly appreciate the kind words. I'm being super careful as I craft this little universe but I'm having fun doing so. Vegas presented a nicely, essentially, blank canvas to build off of. Enough things that we learned in the episode are different from "Our Atlantis" that a writer (like me) who is more used to fully original fic can have a bit of a field day. Glad to hear that you're enjoying what I put out so far and hope that you'll continue to do so as the story progresses.
Prologue
You must login (register) to review.