RSS
Reviews For Retirement

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Tomsmum1975 (Signed)
15 Jan 2011 4:30 am
Just read the whole story and totally loved it, have to say that O'Neill made it for me though. Your Matt Lorne is very nice too, hope he finds a nice girl.I love the John burnout theory as its so totally plausible and happens in these high stress situations. Am looking forward to the sequel and hoping that it ties up the Atlantis loose ends.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story and writing a review. I very much appreciate your kind words and I'm pleased that it was entertaining. This was fun to write since it seemed to almost write itself - I was just along for the ride.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 7:39 pm
It certainly does solve a lot of problems. I had been hoping that John would go back to Atlantis, but his feelings for Evan were only part of the problem and the rest of it is still there, so I get why he still needs to decompress from that. They're still going to be under the remit of the SGC though, so I'm sure Rodney, Ronon and Teyla will be able to visit... right? At the very least, I hope John gets the chance to clear the air with his friends.

Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your reviews of my story. I very much appreciate all feedback. This story was a fun one to write. Once the idea popped into my head the story told itself and I was waiting to see where it was going next. Thanks again for taking the time to read my writing and to send your reviews!
Chapter 40
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 7:28 pm
Yay! Hot and sweet o/.

Laura.
Chapter 38
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 7:21 pm
Heh! Go Jack! He may be blunt, but at least that means there's no room for misunderstanding. And he's made it perfectly clear that DADT isn't an issue, so hopefully that will allow John and Evan to relax. There;s still the issue of Evan being in Atlantis and John being on Earth though...

Laura.
Chapter 37
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 6:53 pm
This is a lot for Matt to take in, but I always enjoy seeing someone discovering all about the SGC and Atlantis for the first time. But Matt's a lot like Evan and takes things pretty much in stride. Will he have the gene? Do I sense a new recruit to Pegasus? Just how is Evan going to deal with John?

Laura.
Chapter 33
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 6:26 pm
Well that was unexpected! What now? Will John stay with Matt, or go his own way?

Laura.
Chapter 28
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 3:23 pm
Yay, Matt's got John to hang around for a bit. Hopefully talking to someone will help John get his head sorted ot and stop him needing to disappear.

Laura.
Chapter 25
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 4:37 am
So that's it. Whatever Ronon did may have been the last straw, but it looks like John's feelings for Evan are a significant part of the haystack! What next? Will Matt be able to get John to stay still long enough for Evan to get there? Is there any way for them to have a relationship together in Atlantis?

Laura.
Chapter 24
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 4:29 am
Gah! So close, yet so far! :(

I'm glad Matt contacted Evan and that they were able to get the emails quickly- testament to how important John is to them all.

Will Matt do as Evan asked and will it make any difference to John?

Laura.
Chapter 23
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 4:19 am
I'm glad Matt's there. He's someone John can talk to a little, without having to get too emotional about it. They know each other, but there's that crucial distance he couldn't get with Rodney and Ronon.

Also, if Matt knows Evan adores John and knows John enough to realise he's running away from something, maybe he'll be inclined to tell his brother where he took John and at least give them somewhere to start looking again.

Laura.
Chapter 22
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 4:06 am
Gah! Well that answers that question :(. Will they have to track John down again, or will this next flight leave some sort of trail?

Laura.
Chapter 20
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 3:59 am
That went well! Ronon's right that John's in his stubborn phase right now and is likely to dig his heels in just because. Will his idea work, at least enough to stop John from disappearing completely?

Laura.
Chapter 19
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 3:44 am
So John got scared. Understandable- it can't be easy to keep sending close friends- almost family- into situations that could get them killed. It also explains why Jack understood and accepted John's decision. Will Ronon and co. be able to talk him round?

Laura.
Chapter 16
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Jan 2011 3:36 am
Aha! So now John is in their sights. Will he listen to Ronon? Will it make any difference to his decision? At least now we know who made him so angry, if not why.

Laura.
Chapter 15
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 5:56 pm
Yay, John's been found. So, how long before Jen gets recruited by the SGC? *vbg*

Laura.
Chapter 13
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 5:24 pm
Go Jeannie! Will this find John where Rodney and Sam's channels got cut off?

Laura.
Chapter 8
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 4:41 pm
Hmmm. Curiouser and curiouser. Is Sam right? Is there more going on than Jack is saying? Or is it exactly what Jack is saying- burnout?

Laura.
Chapter 7
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 4:30 pm
Hmmm, so Jack and even Landry were shocked by John's out of the blue decision, but it sounds like Jack's had an indepth talk with John. I wonder what was the straw that broke the camel's back? Just what went on on that last mission that 'could've got us all killed?'

Laura.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 11:59 am
Well, that was an unexpected reaction. What has got into John? Whatever the problem was, John's response certainly seems to have shocked his teammates! Can Rodney find him and talk sense into him? Will he be allowed back to Atlantis now he's resigned? Or can he be reinstated?

Laura.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jan 2011 11:48 am
*eep* What was that all about? It's very unusual for John to lose his temper like that, even when he's livid about something. It's quite unusual for the focus of his anger to be his teammates and doubly unusual that they all just took it without either getting angry back, apologising, trying to excuse what happened, or defend one another.

Hmmm...
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.